Glossop Heritage Trust

Theo Walter Ellison's Glossop Dale Reminiscences.

County Councillors (published 29 March 1935).

With the good offices of Mr J. Walkden, C.A., I have obtained and here give a complete list of representatives on the Derbyshire County Council for the three electoral Divisions in Glossop Borough which correspond to the three wards. (First Elections in January, 1889, subsequent Elections annually in March).

1889: Edward Partington, Herbert Rhodes (resigned July 1890); James Sidebottom (elected Alderman 1892, died 1895)

1892: John Barnes. 1895: James Sargentson, Chas. W. Shepley

1898: W.H. Bowden, Jos Walkden, T.W. Ellison

1901: T.S. Bowden. 1904: Jos. Walkden. 1907: W.H. Bowden

1910: T.S. Bowden. 1913: R.B. Sidebottom, J Walkden

1915 (By-election): The Hon. Bernard Fitzalan Howard, R.B. Sidebottom, J. Walkden (elected Alderman 1922)

1922 S. Fletcher, J Malkin, T.P. Hunter

1925 S. Fletcher, T.P. Hunter, J Malkin

1928 S. Fletcher, T.P. Hunter, G.E. Russell

1931 (and re-elected 1934) S. Fletcher, T.P. Hunter and G.E. Russell

The late Lord Howard of Glossop was elected an Alderman on the 8th July 1890, but was not re-elected in 1892.

Return to the Local History Main Menu, Return to Ellison Reminiscences Contents, Return to the Home Page.

Page last updated: 25 September 2017.
Copyright 2017 Glossop Heritage Trust. All Rights Reserved.