Glossop Heritage Trust

Bulmer's Derbyshire Directory 1895
Entries for the area of the Ancient Parish of Glossop.



GLOSSOP.
Glossop is a municipal borough and parish at the north-western extremity of the county, adjoining Cheshire, 14 miles E. from Manchester, 24 N.W. from Sheffield, and 50 miles N.N.W. from Derby. The Manchester, Sheffield, and Lincolnshire railway passes through the parish, and has stations at Hadfield and Dinting. From the latter there is a branch line, about one mile in length, into the town of Glossop.
The old parish of Glossop was of vast extent, stretching lengthwise about 16 miles, and from five to eight miles crosswise. It included the townships and hamlets of Glossop, Chinley, Bugsworth and Brownside, Charlesworth, Chisworth, Chunall, Dinting, Hadfield, Hayfield, Ludworth, Mellor, New Mills, Padfield, Simmondley, and Whitfield, covering upwards of 50,000 acres. For the convenience of the few widely scattered inhabitants there were chapels at Charlesworth, Hayfield, and Mellor. These subsequently became parochial, and other parishes have been carved out of it in recent years. The area of the township of Glossop is returned at 18,430 acres, of which about 8,000 acres are moorland.
At the time of the Domesday Survey, Glossop was part of the lordship of Longdendale, which then belonged to the Crown. A few years later Henry I. granted it, with the rest of his extensive domain of the Peak, to William Peverel, but on the attainder of his grandson it reverted to the Crown. In 1157, Henry II. gave the manor and church of Glossop, with all its appurtenances in free and perpetual alms, to the Cistercian Abbey of Basingwerk, in Flintshire. Both manor and church remained in the possession of the abbey till the dissolution of monasteries, when they were bestowed by Henry VIII. upon Francis Talbot, fifth Earl of Shrewsbury. On the death of Gilbert, seventh earl, in 1616, one of his daughters and coheiresses conveyed Glossop in marriage to Thomas Howard, Earl of Arundel, from whom it has descended to the present owner, Lord Howard of Glossop. The noble family of Howard, of the ducal house of Norfolk, claims descent from Hereward, who lived in the reign of King Edgar, whose son, Hereward le Wake, held the Normans at bay when the rest of England had submitted to their rule. The late Lord Howard, second son of the 13th Duke of Norfolk, was deputy Earl Marshall from 1861 to 1868, and was created a peer in 1869. Glossop Hall is a handsome mansion, standing within extensive grounds a little N.E. of Old Glossop.
The town is seated in a valley on the sides of the lofty hills that environ it on all sides. The scenery around is wild and picturesque, and had not commerce seated itself here in later years, Glossop might have become a popular pleasure resort. It was incorporated in 1866, and within the borough boundary are included Dinting, Dinting Vale, Hadfield, Padfield, Simmondley, Waterside, and Whitfield. The borough is divided into three wards, which form a civil parish under the Parish and District Councils Act. Each ward returns six guardians. The rateable value of the borough is £58,884, and the population 22,414. The cotton trade is said to have been introduced here in 1784, but previous to this there were woollen factories and fulling mills. Some of the mills are on a gigantic scale. The Howardtown Mills, belonging to John Wood & Brothers, Ltd., cover 14 acres, and contain 221,000 spindles and 3,500 looms, giving employment to 5,000 or 6,000 persons when in full work. At the Wren Nest Mills, Francis Sumner & Co., Ltd., proprietors, there are 123,000 spindles and 2,541 looms. The Shipley Mill Cotton Manufacturing Co., Ltd., have 43,000 spindles. There are other mills of less magnitude. Another very important industry is the paper manufacture. The paper mills of Messrs. Olive & Partington (sole proprietor, Edward Partington, Esq., J.P.) at Turn Lee, cover several acres of ground and give employment to about 600 hands and a large staff of clerks besides. The machinery is all of the latest and most approved principle, and the machines used in several parts of the process, are the special patent of the firm. The paper is made from wood pulp. The timber is imported from Norway in six feet lengths, and after passing through various processes is reduced to pulp and converted into paper. Upwards of 120 tons of paper are turned out weekly. Another industry that gives employment to a large number of the inhabitants is calico printing ; and a considerable trade is also done in the manufacture of spring mattresses.
Old Glossop is a quaint looking village, picturesquely seated at some height on the hill side overlooking the valley below. Beyond it, stretch heath-clad hills abounding with grouse. New Glossop or Howard Town is situated in the valley, and is sometimes called Glossopdale. Here are located the cotton factories, the shops and business premises, and the great mass of the inhabitants. All the houses and mills are built of stone, and, though some of them date from the early part of this century, they still retain much of their original freshness of colour. A market was established under powers of an Act of Parliament obtained in 1844, and is held on Saturdays. The Town Hall is a handsome building of stone in the Italian style, with covered market behind, erected in 1838 at a cos; of £8,500, and opened as a market on the 19th July, 1845. It was enlarged in 1854. Gas Works were erected the same year by a company with a registered capital of £6,000 in £10 shares; and Water Works were constructed in 1854 by the Duke of Norfolk, at a cost of £4,000. The reservoir, about five acres in extent, is situated at Swineshaw, l½ miles from the town. Fairs for cattle, horses, etc., are held on May 6th, and the first Wednesday after October 10th.
The parish church of All Saints’, at Old Glossop, is a large edifice in the Gothic style, consisting of chancel, nave, side aisles, and tower containing eight bells. The old church, having become ruinous, the nave and aisles were rebuilt, and two galleries added in 1831, at a cost of £2,000. The chancel was rebuilt a little later by the Duke of Norfolk, the lay impropriator of the tithes ; and in 1855 his grace rebuilt the tower and spire. The Howard arms are carved in stone above the west doorway of the tower. The Hague monument, now in Hayfield church, was formerly in the chancel of All Saints, from which it was removed when the chancel was rebuilt, and never replaced. The east window, of three lights, is a memorial of the late Duke and Duchess of Norfolk, Robert Shipley, Esq., and John Wood, Esq. Two of the eight bells were added by the parishioners when the tower was rebuilt. Two tablets record feats of bell-ringing : one on the 13th March, 1858, when a peal of Kent Treble Bob Majors of 7,040 changes was rung in 4 hours and 5 minutes; another, on the 7th November, 1863, when a peal of Kent Treble Bob Majors of 5,280 changes was rung in 3 hours and 9 minutes to the memory of Alderman Cubit, chairman of the Cotton Famine Committee. The bells were re-hung in 1877, and a chiming apparatus added at a cost of £180. Old Glossop has also achieved some fame in hand-bell ringing, and three years in succession—1871, 1872, and 1873—the Glossop men carried off the first prize at Belle Vue, Manchester. The living is a vicarage, worth £231, with residence, in the gift of Lord Howard of Glossop, and held by the Rev. A. P. Hamilton Wilson.
Opposite the church gates is an ancient cross, about nine feet high, and still in good preservation.
On an eminence near the hall is the Catholic Church of All Saints, erected by the Duke of Norfolk in 1836, at a cost of £3,000. It is of the Classic style of architecture, with projecting roof and pediment supported on Tuscan pilasters. Above the altar is a painting of St. Jerome, a copy of one in the Vatican at Rome. The windows are filled with stained glass, executed in the highest style of art. St. Andrew, St. David, and St. Patrick are represented. On one window is depicted the Blessed Philip Howard, Earl of Arundel, who, for his adherence to the old faith and for sheltering priests, was fined £10,000, committed to the Tower, and finally sentenced to death, but died in 1595 whilst awaiting execution. On another is Father Nicholas Garlick, a native of Dinting, who suffered death in the reign of Elizabeth for exercising his priestly functions.
The Church of St. Mary occupies a commanding site off St. Mary’s Road, and is without doubt one of the finest Catholic churches in the north of England. It was built by the heirs of the late F. J. Sumner, Esq., J.P., D.L., of Park Hall, Hayfield, and Wren Nest Mills, Glossop. The deceased gentleman died suddenly, intestate, in 1884. Mr. Sumner had often expressed his intention of building a church for the convenience of his co-religionists, and his heirs very generously carried out his intentions. Out of the vast wealth which came unexpectedly into their possession, they set apart the sum of £17,000—£12,000 for the fabric and £5,000 for the endowment. The site was given by Lord Howard, and the plans were prepared by Mr. Dempster, architect, Birmingham. The church is in the Early English style, and consists of chancel, nave, and north and south aisles. The length is 123ft. 6in., and width 60 feet. The nave is separated from the aisles on each side by eight lofty arches with decorated borders. The sanctuary is a pentagonal apse, and on each side is a small chapel, divided by a handsome stone screen. The organ stands in one chapel, the other contains the Lady altar. The high altar is an exquisite piece of sculpture in alabaster, marble, and Caen stone ; and the Caen stone pulpit is of a very handsome design, rich in tabernacle work that harmonises with the altar. The aisles have two-light windows, with tracery heads ; the windows of the chancel and side chapels are of a different design. The west window is divided into six lights by moulded mullions, and the tracery is a combination of all the other windows in the church very ingeniously worked out. The fourteen stations of the Cross chat adorn the walls were executed by Meyer, of Munich. The figures stand out in high relief and are very realistic. Each station was a special gift, and on a brass plate beneath is inscribed the donor’s name. The baptistry is a unique feature in the church. It is a projection under the west window, similar to the apse at the east end, with vaulted ceiling, and lighted by three small cusped windows. The organ is a fine instrument, by Messrs. Gray and Davison, of London. The turret contains one bell, and is surmounted by a spire.
In connection with the church are schools, taught by the Sisters of Charity of St. Paul.
The Wesleyan Chapel at Old Glossop was erected in 1813, and enlarged in 1830. It is a very plain building, capable of seating 500. A second chapel, situated in High Street, Howard Town, was built in 1844, at a cost of £600, and in 1860 it was considerably enlarged, at an expense of nearly £2,000. It contains an excellent organ, by Young, of Manchester. This chapel is the head of the circuit, and in connection with it are good day schools. The Wesleyan Reform Chapel, in Howard Street, was built in 1854, and will seat 700. The Methodist New Connexion Chapel, in Simmondley Lane, is a plain stone building, erected in 1860, at an expense of about £1,000. There is accommodation for 300. Adjoining the chapel are the schools, which cost about £1,300. There are two departments, mixed and infants, with a total accommodation for 100; average attendance, 125. The chapel is in the Staley Bridge circuit. The Congregational Church, Mount Pleasant, is an elegant structure, built in 1868, to seat 650. Schools and classrooms were added in 1875, at a total cost of £3,200. The Gospel Union Mission Hall, in Edison Street, is a substantial building, erected at a cost of £1,000. There is accommodation for 1,000 persons, and only total abstainers are admitted to membership. There are also chapels belonging to the United Methodist Free Church and the Unitarians.
The Grammar School (Old Glossop) was rebuilt by the Duke of Norfolk in 1852, at a cost of £2,000, and endowed by his Grace with £4,000 in the 3 per cent, consols, now £4,200 at 2¾ per cent. It is open to all denominations. There is an efficient staff of teachers; and, in addition to a commercial education, technical instruction, under the scheme of the County Council, is also given.
Few towns of the same magnitude possess such an extensive and beautiful Park as Glossop. The land, about 13 acres in extent, was given by Lord Howard, and Mrs. Wood generously bore the expense of laying out the grounds, &c., which cost about £6,000. The situation is delightful, affording a beautiful prospect of the amphitheatre of hills and moorlands that surround it. The grounds were laid out by Mr. Milner, the eminent landscape gardener, who has produced a very diversified and picturesque effect. A lake, with a miniature island and waterfall, lends additional charms. Facing the main entrance is a beautiful white marble monument, symbolising the principal industry of the town. It represents a factory girl, life-size, holding a shuttle in her hand, whilst beside her are bales of cotton. The granite base forms an ornamental fountain. The monument was erected in 1889, in memory of Daniel and Samuel Wood, Esquires.
At the north-western corner of the Park is the Hospital, erected by D. Wood, Esq., at a cost of £5,000, and endowed by the same benevolent gentleman with £20,000. The premises consist of three blocks, united by a corridor, the ground plan resembling the letter E, the upright line being the corridor. The centre limb contains the apartments and offices belonging to the administrative department, and the other two are the wards for men and women respectively. There is accommodation for sixteen patients. The domestic and sanitary arrangements of the hospital are on the latest and most approved principles. Detached from the hospital are the boiler-house, washhouse, porter's lodge, coachhouse, and stables.
A handsome suite of Baths stands at the southern extremity of the Park. These Baths were the gift of Samuel and Ann Kershaw Wood, who expended about £15,000 on their erection. Architecturally they are quite an ornament to the Park. The swimming bath is 80ft. long by 32ft. wide, and the semicircular roof, at its highest point, is 50ft. above the water. Two fine palm trees give a pleasing effect to the interior. Twenty-seven dressing-boxes are ranged along the side, and in an annexe a small bath is provided, in which each intending bather must wash his feet—a rule most rigorously enforced. There are nine slipper baths, a shower bath, vapour bath, a fully-equipped Turkish bath, and several of the appliances used in hydropathic treatment. The charges are moderate, but the baths do not receive that amount of patronage one would have expected in a manufacturing town.
The Public Hall and Free Library was the gift of H. Rhodes, Esq., of Thorncliffe Hall, Hollingworth, and Captain Partington, of Easton, Glossop, who each contributed £2,000 towards its erection. It is situated at the corner of Fauvel street and Talbot street, on a site presented by Lord Howard. The style of architecture is light and pleasing, resembling the late Gothic work erected
during the reign of James I. The front projection is octagonal, and from one side rises a tower, with pinnacles at each comer and a slated spire. The external walls are faced with parpoints, and the quoins, labels, and strings are surmounted by a very fine parapet in ashlar work. The library and reading room on the ground floor is a large apartment, measuring 72 feet by 36 feet, well lighted, and fitted throughout in pitchpine. Above is the Public Hall, capable of accommodating upwards of 1,000 persons. These several gifts of the Park, Hospital, Baths, and Public Hall were given to the town in commemoration of the jubilee of Queen Victoria, and the memorial stones were laid with great jubilation on the 30th of July, 1887.
Glossop Poor-Law Union comprises the three parishes of Glossop, Charlesworth, and Ludworth and Chisworth, containing 20,781 acres. The Workhouse, which is situated a little above Old Glossop, was erected in 1831, by the lord of the manor, at an expense of £1,500, and has recently been purchased, together with some adjacent land, from Lord Howard for £900. There is accommodation for 144, and there are usually about 85 paupers in the house.
Whitfield is a hamlet and village containing 1,500 acres of land, now included in the borough of Glossop. The land is chiefly freehold. The manor of Whitfield belonged to Thomas le Ragged, who, in 1330, conveyed it to John Foljambe; it has long been held with the manor of Glossop. The Garlicks possessed landed property here in the 15th and 16th centuries. Charlestown and Littlemoor are villages in Whitfield hamlet. A church dedicated to St. James was erected at Littlemoor in 1845 at a cost of £4,500, and a parochial district comprising 3,009 acres was allotted to it. The living is a vicarage worth £270, in the gift of John Wood, Esq., Mrs. S. Wood, and S. H. Wood, Esq., and held by the Rev. H. T. Dudley, M.A. In connection with it are mission rooms in Talbot street and George street. Mr. Joseph Hague, amongst other philanthropic deeds, built and endowed a Charity School at Whitfield in 1778. The Wesleyan Chapel dates from 1810. A commodious Sunday school was built in 1885 at a cost of £1,000, chiefly subscribed by the working men of the district.
Dinting is a hamlet comprising 584 acres of land lying about one mile west of Glossop, but now included in the borough. Here is a station on the Manchester, Sheffield, and Lincolnshire railway, from which there is a branch line to Glossop. At Dinting Vale are the calico printing works of Messrs. Potter & Co., Ltd. The business was commenced in 1825 by Mr. Potter, who was subsequently M.P. for Carlisle, and was largely instrumental in obtaining the removal of the duties on prints and materials used in their manufacture, thus putting the business of calico printing on a commercial footing. Favoured with water possessing remarkable bleaching qualities, and the employment of the very best skill, the business has steadily increased, the premises have been extended, and to-day the Dinting Vale print-works are the largest in the world. There are 52 printing machines, and about 1,000 workers are employed in the various departments. The distributing centre of the business is in Manchester, with branches in London, Paris, and New York. The firm was converted into a private limited liability company in 1892.
A handsome church, dedicated to the Holy Trinity, was erected in 1872, the whole cost of which, upwards of £12,000, was defrayed by the Messrs. John, Daniel, and Samuel Wood. The edifice is an elegant Gothic structure, comprising chancel, nave, side aisles, organ chamber, south porch, and a square embattled tower, surmounted by a hexagonal spire. The chancel has a groined roof of polished pitchpine, and is separated from the nave by a lofty pointed arch of granite, and massive pillars of the same material, six on one side and five on the other, divide the aisles from the nave.
The chancel is lighted by three two-light windows, in the eastern gable, the centre one being filled with stained glass in memory of John H. Wood, who died in 1869, and two circular ones in the north and south walls. The windows of the aisles are two lights, and those in the clerestory are in groups of three each. The pulpit is of granite, octagonal in shape and elaborately carved and rests on clustered columns of polished granite, supported by a base of the same material. A brass plate bears the following inscription:—“This pulpit has been erected by the parishioners and friends in loving memory of John Wood, J.P., Daniel Wood and Samuel Wood, J.P., Esqrs., patrons and founders of this church, November, 1888.” The organ is a fine instrument, presented by Mrs. Wood in 1882. The fount is a very handsome one of granite and marble, and elaborately carved. The living, a vicarage, worth £320, with residence, is in the gift of Mrs. S. Wood, S. H. Wood, Esq., and John Wood, Esq., J.P., D.L.
A school was built at the same time as the church for the accommodation of 430 children.
Hadfield is a considerable village and township containing 357 acres of land, lying on the south bank of the river Etherow, and now forming one of the wards of the borough of Glossop. The principal industry is cotton spinning and weaving, which is carried on to a considerable extent in the district. The church, dedicated to St. Andrew, is a handsome edifice of stone consisting of nave, chancel, transept, porch, and belfry containing one bell. On each side of the nave, three or four feet from the wall, is a row of iron pillars from which spring wooden arches that support the roof. The style of architecture is Gothic, and the total cost of the building was £4,174. The organ, which stands in the chancel, is a fine instrument, by Wadsworth Brothers, of Manchester, and cost £650. It was presented by James Sidebottom, Esq., J.P., in 1879, in memory of his wife. The font was presented by James Sherriff, stonemason, formerly sexton at Tintwistle Church, who emigrated to Australia, whence the font came. On one side is inscribed “ St. Paul writeth, according to His mercy God saved us by the washing of regeneration and renewing of the Holy Ghost.” On another is' “Jesus said, except a man be born again of water and of the Holy Spirit he cannot enter into the kingdom of God.” The living is a vicarage worth £260 with residence, in the gift of five trustees, and held by the Rev. J. Hadfield, who is Rural Dean of Glossop.
A school, in which church service was held previous to the erection of the church, was built in 1855 at a cost of £850.
The Catholics also have a church here, dedicated to St. Charles Borromeo, erected by the late Lord Howard. It is a handsome stone structure, consisting of nave, aisles, sanctuary, sacristy, and western tower containing one bell. Built on an eminence, this church has a picturesque appearance, seated amidst shrubberies which are graced here and there with statues, crosses, etc. The style of architecture is Gothic, and the church contains a handsome pulpit, presented by public subscription about a year - ago. The presbytery adjoins the church.
The Wesleyan Chapel, erected in 1878, is a large edifice of stone in the Norman style, seated on the crest of a hill, whence there is an extensive view of the surrounding landscape. It is well lighted by circular-headed windows, and comfortably furnished to seat 900. In connection with the chapel is a Sunday school. The total cost was about £5,000. A day-school was established by the society in 1808, and rebuilt in 1854. There is accommodation for 300 and an average attendance of 180. The United Methodist Free Church is a plain oblong building, lighted by windows of the Gothic type. It was erected in 1876, at a cost of £600, raised by voluntary subscriptions. The Primitive Methodists built their present chapel in 1876. Attached is a burial ground.
The Congregational Church, situated at Brookfield, is a substantial structure of stone, in the Gothic style, erected in 1883,, at a cost of £4,000, part of which was raised by public subscription, and the remainder was a donation from W. Shepley, Esq., J.P.; and the organ, built by J. J. Binns, of Leeds, cost £250, was presented by Mrs. Shepley. All the woodwork is pitchpine, and the windows are filled with stained glass of various designs, geometric, floral, and conventional. There is sitting accommodation for 350 in the body of the church, and a gallery above the entrance will seat 100 more. Adjoining the church is the day school, comprising one large room and seven classrooms, erected in 1888, at a cost of £1,200, defrayed by Mr. Shepley. There is an average attendance of 160.
The Liberal Club is a commodious structure, erected in 1877. The premises Comprise two billiard rooms, a bar, a well stocked library, and a hall measuring about 80 feet by 34 feet, in which lectures, concerts, entertainments, &c., are given. The Conservatives also have their club, erected in 1876.
Building stone of excellent quality is abundant and is extensively quarried at Mouselow, a little east of the village, and an old planting near by is the traditionary site of Mouselow Castle, but not a vestige remains to prove that it ever existed.
Waterside is a manufacturing village on a small brook near the Etherow. Here are the extensive mills of Messrs. T. H. Sidebottom & Co., Ltd., containing 297,000 spindles and 4,800 looms. Mersey Mills, near Etherow, the property of Thomas Rhodes & Co., Ltd., contains 81,000 spindles, and 1,647 looms. The Hadfield Mills, owned by Thomas Rhodes & Son, contain 75,126 spindles and 1,345 looms, and employ about 950 hands in the various departments.
Woolley Bridge is a village that takes its name from the bridge that here crosses the Etherow.
Padfield is a large village and hamlet containing 650 acres of land lying near the Etherow, and included in Hadfield Ward of the Borough of Glossop. The inhabitants are chiefly employed in the cotton mills of Messrs. Edwd. Platt & Son. The Wesleyans have a chapel here, a neat stone structure, built in 1880, at a cost of £2,000, in lieu of one erected in 1828, and the Independents have also a small chapel. A day school was erected in 1887, by Messrs. Rhodes, owners of Hadfield Mill, for the accommodation of the children of their employees. There is an average attendance of 200.

LOCAL INFORMATION.
CORPORATION.
Mayor—Edward Woolley, Esq.
Aldermen: Edward Woolley, Samuel Rowbottom, W. Shepley Rhodes, Thomas Rawstorne, Luke Darwent
Councillors.
All Saints’ Ward: James Langley, John Barnes, Benjamin Platt, Albert Andrew, Charles Davis
St. James’s Ward: William McMellon, Edward Partington, J.P., Thomas P. Hunter, J.P., Robert Bennett, Thomas Anderson, Walter Oliver
Hadfield Ward: William Dawson, J.P., James Sargentson, William Sargentson, Herbert Rhodes, J.P., Fletcher Rigge, Joseph Bennett
Town Clerk—T. M. Ellison, Esq.
Borough Magistrates: W. Dawson, Esq., E. Partington, Esq., T. P. Hunter, Esq., W. Pilkington, Esq., H. Rhodes, Esq., James Rhodes, Esq., J. A. Weetman, Esq., S. Rowbottom, Esq., Wm. Sidebottom, Esq., M.P., Thomas Barlow, Esq., C. W. Shepley, Esq.
Petty Sessions for the Borough are held in the Town Hall at 2-30 p.m., every alternate Monday. Clerk to the Magistrates—T. M. Ellison, Esq.
Borough Surveyor—Thomas Haynes
Borough Treasurer—W. H. Hollingbery
Assistant Treasurer—T. S. Bowden
Clerk to Glossop Reservoir Commissioners and Burial Board—T. M. Ellison
Chief Constable—William Henry Hodgson
Water Inspector—John Garner
Collector of Borough, Poor, Watch, and County Police Rates—James Bridge
Water Rate Collector—Thomas Nield
District Rate Collector—Samuel Fletcher
Inspector of Nuisances—Samuel Dane
Medical Officer of Health—James Rhodes
School Attendance Officer—T. Rhodes
County Magistrates
For Glossop Petty Sessional Division.
Lord Howard of Glossop, Edward Partington, Esq., J. Wainwright, Esq., H. Rhodes, Esq., W. S. Rhodes, Esq., W. Sidebottom, Esq., M.P., T. H. Sidebottom, Esq., M.P., F. J. Sumner, Esq.
Clerk to the Magistrates—T. M. Ellison, Esq.
County Court.
Judge—His Honour W. C. Smyly, Q.O.
Registrar and High Bailiff—T. M. Ellison, Esq.
The District comprises the following places :—Arnfield, Brownside, Charlesworth, Chisworth, Chinley, Chunal, Dinting, Gamesley, Glossop, Hadfield, Hollingworth, Hayfield, Kinder, Padfield, Phoside, Rowarth, Saltersbrook, Simmondley, Thornsett, Tintwistle, Torside, Woodhead, Waterside, Whitfield, and Woolley Bridge.
Guardians.
All Saints’ Ward—Richard Howton, Charles Fielding, Brook Furniss, Mrs. Jane Leech, Henry Hadfield, Rev. Adam P. Hamilton-Wilson.
St James’ Ward—William Holdgate, Robert Proctor, Henry Edward Evason, Mrs. Mary Cooper, Mrs. Elinor Parker, James Langley.
Hadfield Ward—William Dawson, Right Rev. Monsignor Sabela, T. Braddock, T. Barlow, J. Bennett, Dr. Whelan.
Glossop Union.
Meetings every alternate Wednesday, in the Board Room, Workhouse, at 3-0 p.m.
Guardians— Thomas Barlow, Joseph Bennett, Thomas Braddock, William Dawson, Henry Ed. Evason, Chas. Fielding, Brook Furniss, Henry Hadfield, William Holdgate, Richard Howton, James Langley, Robert Proctor, John J. Whelan, A. P. Hamilton-Wilson, H. J. Sabela, Mrs. Elinor Parker, Mrs. M. Cooper, and Mrs. Jane Leech.
Glossop Dale Rural District Council—G. Rowbottom, J.P., Ralph R. Wood, William Drinkwater, Saml. H. Wood, J. Wainwright, J.P., James Platt, and Caleb Cooper.
Clerk—Thomas S. Bowden.
Medical Officer of Health—James Rhodes.
Inspector of Nuisances and Surveyor—William McMath.
Medical Officer—Albert Andrew, L.R.C.P., &c.
Relieving Officer—J. W. Bowden.
Burial Board—Alderman S. Rowbottom, Councillors B. Platt, T. P. Hunter, T. Anderson, W. Dawson, and J. Bennett
Cemetery Superintendent—James J. Hadfield.
Coroner for High Peak Division—Charles Davis, Esq.
Devonshire Lodge of Freemasons (625)—Alfred Walker, secretary.
Loyal Prince Regent Lodge of Independent Order of Oddfellows—Frank Darwent, sec.
Glossop Dale Burial Society—David Swann, sec.
Conservative Club, Norfolk street—William Henry Darwent, secretary.
Conservative Registration Agent for High Peak Division—Charles Davis, solicitor.
Glossop Dale Working Men’s Club, St. Mary’s road—William Henry Booth, secretary.
Glossop Free Library—Miss M. H. Warhurst, librarian.
Inland Revenue Officer—Thomas Kamester, Slateland road.
General Post Office, Norfolk square ; Mrs. S. E. Rodley, Postmistress. Postal address, Glossop, Manchester. Deliveries 7-30 a.m., 12-15 noon, 3-0 p.m., and 5-0 p.m. Despatches 8-35 a.m., all parts ; 10-20 a.m., all parts; 10-25 a.m., Dinting ; 1-30 p.m., all parts; 4-10p.m., Dinting; 5-0 p.m., all parts ; 7-20 p.m., London; 9-30 p.m., all parts. Sunday : Delivery at 8-0 a.m., despatch at 7-25 p.m. Telegraph Office open from 8-0 a.m. to 8-0 p.m.

ALPHABETICAL DIRECTORY.
Marked 1 are in Old Glossop.
Adshead Joseph, painter & paperhanger, 40 High street e
Alcock Miss Phoebe, fancy draper and baby linen dealer, 7 High street e
Allen Edward, general manager, Turn Lee Mills
Allen Edward Wagstaffe, manager, Dover Mills
Andrew Albert, L.R.C.P., L.M., L.F.P.S., Glasgow, medical officer Glossop Union ; h 16 High street w
Armitage Charles Henry, grocer, 93 High st w
Armitage Mrs. Hannah, 77 Norfolk street
Armitage John, wholesale fruiterer, Victoria street; warehouse, Hare Hills road
Armitage Mr. Thomas, 77 Norfolk street
Arrowsmith James, clogger, 132 High street w
Ashton Ben, head gardener, Glossop hall
Ashton Matthew, umbrella mkr., 46 High st w
Atkinson William, grocer, 117 High street w
Bagshaw Henry, vict., Station Hotel ; good accommodation for visitors & tourists ; wines, ales, and spirits of the best quality ; head quarters of Glossop Football Club
Baigent Rev. Wm. Jph. (Catholic), All Saints’
Bailey George, assistant supt. (Prudential), 22 Slateland road
Bamforth Misses Carrie & Alice, confectioners, 136 Victoria street
Barber Miss Alice, confectioner, 92 High st w
Barber Thos., newsagt. & statnr., 60 High st w
Barber Win. Cornelius, spring mattress manufacturer, Edward street
Barnes Jas. & Sons, drapers, 31 High street w
Barnes William, grocer, 65 High street w
Barton Robert, 76 Edward street
Bates Herbert, auc. & valuer, 13 Hadfield pl
Batty George, cabinet maker, 45 Chapel street
Beard John, draper & milliner, 3 High street w
Beaumont Jas., grocer, 125 Brookfield, Hadfield
Beeley James & Ellen, ironmongers & general dealers, 26 Gladstone street
Beeley Samuel, 22 High street w
Bennett Rbt., pork butcher and beer retailer, 96 Victoria street
Bennett Thomas, coal mrcht., 126 Victoria st
Bennett William, butcher, Rose Green
Bentley Joseph, farmer, Allman’s Head
Berry Saml. Lees, agent for Bradbury’s sewing machines, 83 Hall street
Bethell Mrs. Sarah Ann, 77 Charlestown
Blackwell William, George Street Ironworks ; h 50 Arundel street
Boardman William Hyde, blacksmith & wheelwright, Manor street ; h 79 High street e
Booth Eli, grocer, Hall street
Bottomley William Henry, grocer and corn dealer, 11 High street e
Bowden Benjamin, Sheffield road
Bowden James Wm., watchmaker & jeweller, 32 High street e
Bowden Mr. John, 59 Norfolk street
Bowden John, gen. dlr. & tripe drsr., 1 Collier st
Bowden John W., relieving officer, Norfolk st
Bowden Mr. William, 102 St. Mary’s road
Bowden William, ironmonger, tinplate worker, & leather merchant, 1 High street e
Bowden, Wm. Hy., timber and builders’ merchant, and saw, planing, and moulding mills proprietor, Howard street
Bradbury Mrs. Elizabeth, draper, 131 Hall st
Bradbury Geo., insurance agent (Prudential), 133 Hall street
Bradbury Geo. William, painter & decorator, 133 High street e
Bradbury Thomas, 1 High street w
Braddock Eli & Son, insurance and estate agents, 73 High street e
Braddock W., cycle agt. & repairer, 74 High st e
Bradley John Rt., beerseller, 38 High street w
Bramhall Thomas, confectioner, High street w
Bramwell Luke, confectioner, 98 High street w
Bridge James, rate collector, 11 Hadfield place
Bridge Samuel, assistant manager at printworks, 101 Shaw lane
Bridge Thos., vict., Globe Inn, High street w
Briggs & Jowett Misses, 46 High street w
Briggs John Wm., clothier, 22 High street e
Broadhurst Harry, accountant and borough auditor, 51 Pikes lane
Brocklehurst Miss A., dining rooms, 45 High st w
Brook George, greengrocer, 96 High street w
Brooks William H., fish dealer, Victoria street
Brown David M., vict., Crown Inn, Victoria st
Brown John, bootmaker, 112 High street w and 5 Victoria street
Brownson Geo., tailor & outfitter, 2 High st e
Buckley J., pawnbroker & clothier, 13 High st w
Buckley Joseph E., grocer, 123 High street w
Bunn Herbert, confectioner, 75 High street w
Bunting Joseph, hairdresser, 13 Victoria street
Bunting Jph. H., photographer, 103 Victoria st
Burkhard Charles, pork butcher, 87 High st w
Chadwick John, pawnbroker and outfitter, 41 and 43 High street w and 2 Cross street
Chappell Raphael, grocer, 118 Victoria street
Charlesworth Alfred, clerk, Howard street
Charlesworth E., vict., Junction Inn, High st w
Charlesworth William, butcher, 244 High st w
Clegg Louis, salesman, 99 Pikes lane
Cluskey Mrs. E., furniture dealer, 21 High st e
Codd Rev. John (Wes.), Alexandra vl, Talbot rd
Cokayne Samuel, wheelwright, Surrey street
Collier Joseph, vict., Norfolk Arms Hotel
Collier Mrs. M., vict., Rose & Crown, High st w
Collings H.,butler to Lord Howard ; h Norfolk st
Conner Patrick, ale & porter dealer, Arundel st
Cooke Joe, solicitor, Norfolk street
Cooke John, hatter, 59 High street w
Cooper Cephas, bootmaker, 11 Victoria street
Cooper John, beerseller, 78 High street w
Cooper Moses & Sons, tailors, 28 High street w
Cooper W., vict;, Commercial Inn, Charlestown
Corker Wm., vict., Commercial Inn, Bankbottom
Cox Geo. Ed., schoolmaster, Hollincross lane
Cox Mrs. Martha, tobacconist, 121 High st w
Cranage Alfred, watchmaker, 6a High street w
Crompton Mrs. E., furniture dlr., 26 High st w
Cunnington William, baker and confectioner, 17 Charlestown road
Cuthbert Mrs. M. E., tobacconist, 80 High st w
Dale Geo., statnr. & newsagent, 90 Victoria st
Darwent Luke, farmer, Bettin Hill
Darwent Moses, butcher, 19 High street e
Darwent Wm. Hy., ironmonger, plumber, and tinplate worker, 7 Victoria st; h 21 Lord st
Davis Chas., solicitor, commissioner for oaths, and coroner for High Peak division, 6 Market street; h The Hurst
Dearnaley Abel, cotton mill manager, Lord st
Dearnaley David, beerseller, Spring Tavern, 8 Brookfield
Dearnaley Mr. Joseph, Parkfield house, North rd
Dearnaley Thomas, ironmonger & blacksmith, 125 High street w
Deeley James & Ellen, ironmongers and general dealers, 26 Gladstone street
Dickinson Ralph H., master, Wesley school, High street w
Dixon Geo. Hy., coal merchant, 183 High st e
Dixon John, Pikes farm
Dixon Wm., coal and coke merchant, 9 Corn st
Doodson George, draper, 76 High street w
Downing William, tea merchant, 8 Norfolk street, and at Hadfield
Downs David, park supt., Top lodge, North rd
Dowson, Edgar E., assistant manager, printworks, 105 Shaw lane
Drinkwater James, farmer, 3 Hague street
Dunkerley Fred., hairdresser, 70 High street w
1 Dutton James, vict., Talbot Inn, Old Glossop
Dutton Tom, painter, Shrewsbury street
Edwards Wm., vict., Spread Eagle, Brookfield
Ellison Francis Bede, actuary and secretary Savings Bank, Howard street
Ellison Thomas M., town clerk, clerk to borough justices & registrar & high bailiff, Glossop County Court, 4 Ellison street
Ernill Cephas, engineer, 53 Pikes lane
Evason Henry Ed., draper & mlnr., Norfolk sq
Eversden Geo., hatter & tbcnst., Town Hall bldgs
Eversden Wm., baker & corn dlr., 16 High st e
Pairclough W. P., Mus.Bac., F.R.C.O., 3 Shaw st
Fernaly John, insurance agent, Royal London F. S., 23 Derby street
Fielding Enoch & Son (Henry), watchmakers and jewellers, 24 High street w
Fielding Mr. Christopher, 69 Norfolk street
Fielding John William, grocer, 128 Pikes lane
Fielding Samuel, coal mrcht., 13 Gladstone st
Firth Mrs. Elizabeth, shopkpr., 58 Brookfield
Fletcher Samuel, rate collector, Town hall; h Hadfield street
Ford Mrs. Eliza, vict., Surrey Arms, Victoria st
Ford John France, auctioneer & estate agent, High street w
France James, butcher, 139 High street w
Furniss Brook, vict., Albion Inn, Victoria st
Garner John, water inspector, 46 Church street
Garside Cyrus & Sons, Ltd., timber & builders’ merchants, Surrey street
Garside John & Co., hop bitters brewers, & mineral water manufacturers, Princess st
Garside John, herbalist, 26 Princess street
Glossop Advertiser Printing & Publishing Co., Ltd., newspaper proptrs. & printers, Howard st; Wm. Widdup, mngr. ; A. Thorniley, sec.
Glossop Bill Posting Co., Ltd., Howard street; J. K. Hollingbery, secretary
Glossop Carriage Co., Ltd., Howard street; J. K. Hollingbery, secretary
Glossop (The) New Industrial Co-operative Society, Ltd., Norfolk sq, High st w, Hall st, & Charlestown rd; W. Walton, sec. & mngr.
Glossop Gas Co., Arundel street; William Taylor, manager ; Joshua Sidebottom, sec.
Glossop Iron Co., Ltd., iron & brass founders & finshrs., & engnrs., Surrey st; W. Greaves, sec.
Goddard Joseph, fruiterer & fish & poultry salesman, 114 High street w
Goddard John T., estate agent, 28 Slateland rd
Goddard Miss Mary, newsagent & tobacconist, 242 High street w
Golden Alfred Percival, chemist, 48 High st w
Goldthorpe Mrs. Eliz., beer retlr., 33 Charles st
Greaves Mr. William, 37 Norfolk street
Green John Thomas, beer retlr., 40 Pikes lane
Greenwood & Co., photographers, High street w
Greenwood Edwin, newsagent, 57 High st e
1 Greenwood John, stone mrcht., Law quarries
Gregory Samuel, farmer, Sheffield road
Grey Thomas, grocer, 84 Princess street
Gubbin Ernest Sargent, F.R.C.V.S., vet. surgn., Fauvel road
Hadfield Christopher, Wesley street
Hadfield Jas., vict., Arundel Arms, Cemetery rd
Hadfield James Johnson, supt., Cemetery lodge
Hadfield John, cotton spinner, Cowbrook mill
Hadfield John, spring mattress manufacturer, Hadfield street; h 17 John street
Hadfield Joseph, bootmaker, 97 High st e
Hadfield Mrs. Maria, 49 Pikes lane
Hadfield Thomas, Willow grove
Hadfield T. & Son, drapers and outfitters, 29 High street w ; and at Hadfield
Hadfield Sami., weaving mngr., 98 St. Mary’s rd
Hall & Sons, tailors, 21 High street w
Hall Charles, tailor, 99 High street w
Hall James, grocer, 146 St. Mary’s road
Hall Jph., shoemaker & clogger, 201 High st e
Hall Robert, cabinet maker and furniture dealer, 1 Gladstone street
Hall Thomas, blacksmith, Howard street
Hall Mr. William, Sunny bank, North road
Hamnett James, watchmaker and jeweller, 14a High street e
Hampson Thomas, tripe seller, 110 Brookfield
Handford William, vict., Hare and Hounds (Royal Prince Regent lodge, I.O.F., M.U.), Hall street
Handforth Miss My. M., drsmkr., 31 Princess st
Hardman John, L.D.S., dent, surg., Norfolk sq
Hargreaves Miss Eliza, baby linen dealer, 110 High street w
Harris James, Wellgate
Harrison Abel, coal merchant and mineral water manufacturer, Railway street, Hadfield
Harrison Charles Smith, grocer, 122 High st w
Harrop James, farmer, Hill Top
Harrop Matthew Henry, farmer, Hill Top
Hatfield Joseph, greengrocer, 16 Norfolk street
Hawke Robert George, architect and surveyor, 40 Norfolk street
Haynes Thomas, highway surveyor, High st w
Helm Brian, grocer & corn mcht., 36 High st e
Hewitt William, bootmaker, 8 Collier street
Heywood E. W., musical instrument dealer, Victoria street
Higginbottom Hugh, mineral water manufacturer and ale and porter bottler, 20 King st Higginbottom Jas., emigration and commission agent, Liberal buildings ; h 72 Victoria st
Higginbottom John S., draper and milliner, 17 High street w
Higginbottom William, baths manager, The Lodge, Dinting road
Higginbottom William, draper, 2 Victoria st
Hill William, draper, 94 High street w
Hindle Geo., spinning master, 47 St. Mary’s rd
Hodgson Wm. Hy., chief constable, Ellison st
Holgate Jas., painter and decorator, 149 High street w
Hollingbery Jno. Kidd, chart, acct., Howard st
Hollingbery Wm. H., bank mangr., Norfolk sq
Hollinworth Samuel, bookseller, stationer, and newsagent, la Victoria street
Houseman Walt., schoolmaster, 28 Sheffield rd
Howard of Glossop Lord (Francis Edward Fitzalan Howard), Glossop hall
Howard Fred, hairdresser, 4 Market street
Howard George Frost, beerseller, Bush Inn, Bernard street
Howard Mrs. Sarah, farmer, The Ashes
Howard William, joiner, builder, and contractor, 27 Hadfield street
Howbrook James, newsagent, 127 High st w
Howton Richard, evangelist, 4 Cross street
Hunter Thos. Pearson, J.P., linen and woollen draper, High st w; h The Poplars, Talbot rd
Hurst Aaron, grocer, Charlestown
Hurst Robert, parish clerk, Old Glossop
Hurst William, clothier, 18 High street e
Hyde George, draper, milliner, and dressmaker, 12 High street w; h 3 Sumner street
Hyde Walter, hatter and tobacconist, 34 High street w ; h 15 Sumner st
Ingham Mrs. Hannah, draper, 73 High st w
Irlam William Henry, printer and stationer, 55 High street w
Jackson Charles, tailor and draper, 106 Pikes Ln
Jackson Isaac, belt and belt fastener manufacturer, Norfolk street; h Holly mount
Jackson Joseph, joiner and builder, Victoria street; h 88 Freetown
Jackson Levi, rope and twine manufacturer, Charlestown road
Jackson Rowland, tobacconist, 4 High street e
Jacobs Wm., grocer & beer retlr., 28 Freetown
James Francis, Ashgrove, 46 Sheffield road
Jefferson Hy., wire mattress mnfr., Howard st
Jones William, greengrocer, 32 High street w
Kamester Thomas, inland revenue officer, 16 Slateland road
Keighley John Charles, draper, Nottingham House, Victoria street
Kenny Mrs Margaret, confectioner, 6 High st e
Kenyon Walter, clogger, 68 High street w
Kershaw John, clogger, 138 Victoria street
Kershaw Jonathan, greengrocer, 377 High st w
Kidd Mrs. Elizabeth, confectioner, 12 High st e
Kinder George, grocer, 198 High street w
Kinder Hy., chemist & seedsman, 85 High st w
Kinder Walter, slater & plasterer, 35 Sumner st
Kirby Rev. Jas. Kendall (Cong,), 27 Norfolk st
Knowles Mr. Chas. Edwd., Holmdale, North rd
Knowles Charles, secretary, North road
Knowles Francis Gordon (Moran & Knowles), Beechwood, North road
Lake Geo., jun., analyt. chemist, Primrose ter
Lancaster Mrs. Elizabeth, 16 Wellgate
Lawton & Co. (Mrs. Hnh.), hosiers, 27 High st w
Lawton Jno., tinplate worker and plumber, 17 Wellgate
Leach Frederick, baker, 10 High st w
Leach Jno. Thos., cabinet maker, Brookmills
Lee Misses H. & C., confectioners, 104 High st w
Leech Mr. Alfd., Cowbrook cottage, Sheffield rd
Lester James, greengrocer, 63 High street e
Lewis Miss Esther, baby linen & ladies’ underclothing dealer, 24 High street e
Longden Alf., monumental mason, Cemetery rd
Lowe Moses, boot repairer, 91 High street w
Mackenzie Duncan John, M.D., M.B., C.M., 64 High street w
McKnight Mr. Thomas, 61 Norfolk street
McMellon Wm., tailor & draper, 18 High st w
Malkin Samuel, Exors. of, corn millers, Glossop corn mills, High street e
Malkin Jas., corn miller, 7 Corn st, High st e
Manchester & County Bank, Ltd., High st w ; James P. Boote, manager
Manchester & Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd., Norfolk square, and at Hadfield ; Wm. Henry Hollingbery, manager
Mangles Rev. John Martin (Wesleyan), Alexandra villa, Talbot road
Manson Thomas, saddler, Henry street
Marsden Alwyn, Lane Head farm
Marshall Thomas, hosier, 86 High st w
Mawson Thomas, saddle and harness maker, Norfolk street
May Amos, toy dlr. & basket mkr., 59 High st e
May Thos. & Son, skip and basket makers, 53 Victoria street
Melia Daniel & Co., grcrs. & tea dlrs., 11 High st w
Mellor Josiah, auctioneer, house & emigration agent, 74 High street w
Merry James, ironmonger, plumber, and tinsmith, 34 High street e
Metcalfe Mrs. Sarah, shopkeeper, 218 High st w
Middleton Thos., bootmaker, 114 Victoria st
Miller Thos. & Co., grocers, 50 High street w
Mitchell Julien, surgeon dentist, 35 Norfolk st
Moore Robert, fish dealer, 140 Victoria street
Moran & Knowles, solicitors, Howard chambers, Howard street
Moran Fredk. Wm. Grace (Moran & Knowles), Oakleigh, North road
Morley Jph., grcr. & corn mrcht., 50 Church st
Mortis Charles, grocer, 18 Wellgate
Moss John, farmer, Cemetery road
Moss Joseph, newsagent & grocer, 44 Brookfield
National Telephone Co., Ltd.; Miss M. J. Kenny, operator ; call office, 6 High street e
Needham Joseph, saddle and harness maker, 56 Church street
Nelson Rbt., M.D., M.Ch., M.A.O., Norfolk st
Newton Mrs. Sarah, Arundel villas, North rd
Newton William, grocer, Bernard street
Nield Mrs. Annie, baby linen and ladies’ underclothing dealer, 11 Norfolk street
Nield Jas., boot & shoe dealer, 20 High street w
Nield Joseph, foreman, 55 Charlestown road
Nield Thomas, collector water rates and market inspector, 11 Norfolk street
Nuttall Geo., vict., Howard Arms, High street e
Olive & Partington, paper manufacturers, Turnlee Mills ; Edwd. Partington, proprietor; and at Dover Mills
Oliver Homer, grocer, 142 High street w
Oliver John, foreman joiner, 47 Pike’s lane
Oliver Walter, plumber and tinplate worker, 39 High street w
Ollerenshaw Abel, herbalist, 136 High street w
Page Solomon, hairdresser, 6 Norfolk street
Parker Rev. Wm. Latham (Congregational), The Manse, Littlemoor
Parkinson Malcolm, M.B., C.M.,Edin., 1 Arundel street
Patchett Mrs. Margaret, butcher, 36 High st w
Pickford Alfred, grocer and corn dealer, 106 Gladstone street
Pickford Fred., vict., Grapes Inn, 305 High st w
Platt Miss Alice, butcher, 49 High street w
Platt Benjamin, grocer and corn dealer, and draper and milliner, 119-123 High street e
Platt Edward, Esq., Talbot House
Platt Harriet S., farmer, Hill Top
Platt James, coal merchant, St. James’ Hall
Platt John, grocer and draper, 12-14 Wellgate
Pollitt Mr. James, 67 Norfolk street
Poole John, tailor, 85 High street e
Porter Thomas, gardener to J. Wood, Esq.; h Hague street
Potts Henry (J. & H. Potts), 75 St. Mary’s road
Potts J.& H., builders & contractors, Sheffield rd
Potts John, mill manager, Sheffield road
Potts Jph. (J. & H. Potts), 42 Sheffield road
Pratt James, 15 Lord street Pratt Mrs., 2 Wellgate
Pye Rd., general dealer and horse and carriage proprietor, 3 Duke street and 11 Hadfield st
Quass Chris., manager, paper mills, 12 Shaw st
Radford Mrs. Sarah, farmer, Cloud lane
Rathbone John, boot and shoe maker, 140 High street w
Rawson Thomas, mill manager, 28 High st e
Rawstorne Thos., mill mgr., Howard Town hs
Redfern Miss Ann, glass and china dealer, 58 High street w
Rhodes James, M.R.C.S., L.S.A., J.P., 25 Victoria street
Rhodes John Henry, insurance agent (Royal Liver), 14 Derby street
1 Roberts Arthur Hy., head master Grammar School
Roberts Bros., fuel economiser manufacturers, Woolley Bridge
Roberts Mrs. C., smallware dealer, 90 High st w
Roberts George, secretary, Hollin Cross lane
Roberts John M., White Lea cottage, Brookfield
Roberts Mrs. Lettice, 61 Charlestown road
Robinson & Co. (Jph. Platt Robinson), painters and paperhangers, 62 High street w
Robinson James, painter, paperhanger, and decorator, Norfolk street
Robinson Ralph Bernard, teacher of music, 17 Arundel street
Robinson Walt., tailor and draper, 12 Norfolk st
Rodley Mrs. S. E., postmistress, Norfolk square
Rolley Miss Alice, draper & milliner, 8 High st e
Ross James, grocer and draper, Woolley Bridge
Rowbottom A., beerslr., Royal Oak, 96 Brookfield
Rowbottom Jas., rope and twine mfr. & cotton spinner, Hurst Mills; h Charlesworth
Rowbottom Samuel, cotton spnr, Meadow Mills
Sale John Lambert, bootmaker, 23 High st e
Schofield Alf. E., printer & bookbndr., Surrey st
Schofield Jas., butcher & earthenware dealer, 83 High street e
Schofield Misses Mary Ellen & Anne, newsagents and stationers, 6 Norfolk street
Scholes Albert, butcher, 119 High street w
Scott Wm., detective officer, 2 Spire Hollin
Seddon Joseph, farm bailiff, Blackshaw farm
Seddon Wm. Hy., vict., Manor Inn, High st e
Sellars Jas., vict., Bull’s Head Inn, 72 Church st
Sellers Squire, draper, milliner, & dressmaker, 5 High street e
Sellers William Hy., baker, 46 Pike’s lane
Sharp Thomas Walter, engineer, 1 Pike’s lane
Shaw Edwd. & Co., musical instrument dealer, 8 High street e
Shaw Geo., newsagt. & tobacnst., 128 High st e
Shaw Wm., shopkpr., 1 Lees st, Woolley Bridge
Shepherd & Son, mineral water mnfr., King st
Shepherd (Mrs. M. A.), & Willis (Mrs. Mary), milliners and drapers, 108 Brookfield
Shepherd Wm., min. water mnfr., Shrewsbury st
Sheppard Chas., provision dealer, 130 High st e
Sheppard James, farmer, The Ashes
Sheppard Wm., newspaper proprietor, printer, 5 bookbndr., Norfolk st; h 3 Simmondley Ln
Sidebottom Ralph Bennett, M.R.C.S., L.R.C.P., Hollin Cross lane
Simpson Wright, bootmaker, 14 Slateland road
Slack Mr. Chas., Holly Wood house, Sheffield rd
Slack Rev. Jas. (Un. Free Meth.), 45 Sheffield rd
Slater Charles, hairdresser, 138 High street w
Smith Chas. Lewis, cabinet mkr. & upholsterer, 55 High street e
Smith Edward, boot and shoe maker, 47 High street w; V. Woodcock, manager
Smith James, draper, 38 High street e
Smith Wm., boot & shoe dlr., 35 & 37 High st w
Stagg & Son, wine, spirit, & ale mcht., Norfolk sq
Steele Elijah, greengrocer, 76 Victoria street
Sumner Fras. & Co., Ltd., cotton spinners and mnfrs., Wren Nest Mills; Wm. Thorpe, mngr.
Sutcliffe Jph., station master; h la Princess st
Swann Geo., watchmkr. & jewlr., 238 High st w
Swire Henry, clogger, 21 Victoria street
Swire John & Sons, boot & shoe dlrs., High st w
Swire John, clogger & bootmkr., 38 Brookfield
Swire Thomas, Spire Hollin
Sykes Jno. J., vict., Surrey Arms Hotel, High st w
Sykes Robt. W., auctionr. & valr, Liberal bldgs
Sykes Mrs. Sarah, vict., Royal Oak, Sheffield rd
Tasker Very Rev. Charles Wm., Canon (Cath.), The Rectory
Tattersall Miss Jane, schoolmistress, Charles st Taylor & Beverley, paintrs. & dcrtrs., 118 Pikes Ln
Taylor Charles, vict., Queen’s Arms
Taylor David, secretary, 55 Norfolk street
Taylor John, farmer, The Ashes
Taylor Wm., engineer & manager, gas works; h Hollin Cross lane
Thornley Noah, butcher, 74 Victoria street
Thorp Walter, coal merchant, Norfolk street; h The Firs, Talbot road
Thorpe William, farmer, Hawkshead farm
Torkington William, corn and flour dealer, 14 High street; Joel Wood, manager
Townend Herbert, bootmaker, 58 Victoria st
Turner Ephraim, greengrocer, 72 High street e
Turner Isaiah, greengrocer, 53 High street e
Turner Manasseh, grngrcr. & florist, 26 High st e
Turner William, farrier, 2 Hadfield place
Tweedale John Wm., solicitor, com. for oaths, Norfolk square
Tyler Josiah, boot & shoe factor, 15 High st w; Richard Brown, manager
Vaughan Rev. Thos. (Prim. Meth.), Temple mt
Wain Joseph, hosier, 14 High street e
Walkden Jph., master, Cong, schl., Littlemoor
Walker Wm., com. trvlr., Hillside, North road
Walton Mrs. Eliza, draper, 52 High street w
Walton John, bleacher & dyer, Charlestown
Walton Joseph, 5 Hollin Cross lane
Walton Mrs. Lydia, vict., Bridge Inn, Market st
Ward James, 12 Hollin Cross road
Warhurst Samuel, confectioner, 20 High st e
Warrington Jacob, beerseller, Arundel street
Waterhouse Jonah, newsagent, 130 High st w
Waterhouse Thomas, grocer, 25 Norfolk street
Watkinson Samuel, confectioner, 54 High st w
Weetman John A., Esq., J.P., Wren Nest hs
Wharmby Geo., gen. dlr. & hawker, 127 Hall st
Whiteley James Wm., hawker, 112 High st e
Whittingham Francis & Son, brush manufrs. and general dealers, 10 High street e
Wibberley Denman, butcher, 100 Gladstone street, and Hadfield
Wild Samuel, general dealer, 9 Victoria street
Wild Wm., loom manager, 104 St. Mary’s road
Wilde Anthony, beerseller, 277 High street w
Wilkerson Wm. Nichols, vict., Market Hotel
Willey Jno. Wm. C., cabinet mkr, 17 Norfolk st
Williamson Mrs., gls. & china dlr., 100 High st w
Willis Geo. Hy., fancy draper, 185 High st w
Willis Mrs. Harriet, grocer, Charlestown
Wilson Robert, baker, High street
Wood Hinchcliffe H., jonr. & bldr., 23 Hadfield st
Wood John, grocer, 25 High street w
Wood Jno. &Bros., Ltd., ctn. mfrs., Howard Town mills; D Taylor, sec.; T. Rawstorne, mngr.
Wood Jph., butcher & grcr., 27-29 Gladstone st
Wood Mrs. Lydia, 100 St. Mary’s road
Wood Peter, draper and milliner, 53 High st w
Wood Samuel, grocer, 15 Charles street
Wood Thomas, marine store dealer, 6 Derby st
Woodcock Geo., fancy repository, 51 High st w
Woodcock Matthew, boot & shoe dealer, 57 High street w and Hadfield
Woodhead John, stone merchant and quarry owner, Hall street
Woolley Edward, butcher, High street w
Woolley Thomas, grocer, 61 High street w
Wright John, tbcnst. & tea dir., 72 High st w
Wright Miss Nellie, dress & mntl. mkr., North rd

CHUNAL.
Goddard William, vict., Grouse Inn, and bone crusher, Stoney Ford
Farmers.
Bann George, Plainsteads
Fielding Thomas
Hadfield John
Nield Edwin (and carter)
Shadwell James
Shipley William
Wood John, Gnat Hole

DINTING AND DINTING YALE.
Marked 1 are at Dinting Vale
Aldous Joshua, shopkeeper, 2 Brookfield
Barr John, Esq., Dinting lodge
1 Bradbury Geo., grocer & corn dealer, 3 and 5
1 Bridge Mr. Samuel, 2 Adderley place
Collier Rev. G. G., M.A., The Vicarage
Cooper Fred., farmer, Lower Dinting
1 Fielding Geo. R., sub-postmstr. & btchr., 101
1 Fish William, grocer’s manager, 18
Ford Samuel, farmer, Higher Dinting
1 Garlick Joseph, sausage maker, 16
1 Hadfield Charles, cashier, Viaduct house
1 Higginbottom Mrs. Sarah, shopkeeper, 79
Newton William, goods agent, Dinting station
Pickford Fredk., vict., Plough Inn, 107
1 Potter Edmund & Co., Ltd., calico printers ; Jno. Barr, mngng. direc. ; G. McConnell, sec.
1 Roberts Mrs. Annie, shopkeeper, 2
1 Smith Samuel, vict., Viaduct Inn, 19
Vernon William, stationmaster, M. S. & L. Ry.
Waterhouse Mrs. Sarah, farmer, Higher Dinting
1 Wood James, clogger, 17
1 Wyatt Thomas, machine printer, 83

HADFIELD.
Aldous Mrs. Alice, 372 Hadfield road
Aldous Thomas Venetian blind manufr., joiner and undertaker, Marlow street e
Aldous William, shopkeeper, Hadfield road
Atkinson William, grocer, 31 Church street
Bailey Mrs. Mary Ann, shopkeeper, 86 Platt st
Bamford Jas., vict., Victoria Inn, 88 Bross Croft
Barker William, shopkeeper, 77 Hadfield road
Batty Daniel, draper, 90 Station road
Beaumont James, grocer, 125 Brookfield
Belfield Edwd., vict., Anchor Inn, Hadfield rd
Bell Miss Mary, boot & shoe dir., 31 Station rd
Bell Mrs. Sarah, draper and furniture dealer, 98 and 102 Station road
Bantham Mrs. Jane, bookseller and stationer, Station road
Bentley Jph., tripe dresser, Wooley Bridge rd
Berry John, hairdresser, Hadfield road
Booth Albert, farmer, Windy Arbour
Booth Henry, pork butcher & grocer, 117 & 119 Station road
Booth Mr. Joe, Kent villa, Hadfield road
Bowden Mrs. Annie, dressmaker, 19 Wesley st
Braddock & Co., grocers, 111 Station road
Bradley Mrs. Margaret, 55 Church street
Bramald Ellis, hosier, 376 Hadfield road
Bramhall Bold, The Avenue
Bretherton R., stationmaster; h 156 Platt st
Briggs Mrs. Susan, confectioner, 7 Station rd
Broadbent Miss Eliz. A., cnfctnr., 97 Station rd
Broadbent Mrs. Ellen, gen. dir., 52 Bross croft
Broadbent Miss Zelpha, gen. dlr., 72 Bross croft
Brook Edwin, hairdrsr., 225 Woolley Bridge rd
Brooks Albert, greengrocer, 113 Station road
Butterfield Edwin, dentist, 146 Hadfield road
Butterworth Mrs. Jane, stationer, 22 Bank st
Calvert William David, chemist, 87 Station rd
Carrington Samuel, South Marlow street
Chadwick William Thomas, draper and pawnbroker, 81-83 Station road
Chalioner Saml., glass and earthenware dealer, 120-122 Station road
Charlton Ernest, The Avenue
Clayton Edward, butcher, 86 Station road
Collier Mrs. Elizabeth, 14 Bank street
Cox John, hatter and photgrphr., 109 Station rd
Crannage Frdk., wtchmkr. & jwlr., 5 Station rd
Crawford David, vict., Palatine and Railway Hotel, Station road
Cromie Miss Rachel, dressmaker, 8 Station rd
Cuthbert William, beerseller, Masons’ Arms, Station road
Dane Chas., draper and milliner, 121 Station rd
Dawson William, J.P., plumber & glazier, 85 Station road
Derbyshire Alf. Edwd., decorator, 150 Station rd
Dewsnap William, butcher, Station road
Dickinson James, hairdresser, 33 station road
Downing William, tea merchant, 95 Station road, and at Glossop
Earnshaw Mrs. Mary, butcher, 43 Station road
Earnshaw ,J. C., cvl. engnr., The Thorns, Park rd
Etches Wm. Joshua, wtchmkr. & jwllr., Bank st
Eversden Arth., outfitter & hatter, 72 Station rd
Eversden Geo. Cooper, grocer and beer retailer, 102 Waterside
Eversden William, grocer and wine and spirit merchant, 8 and 10 Bank street
Farnsworth Thos., greengrocer, 40-42 Station rd
Fielding Miss Anne, confectioner, 52 Station rd
Fielding Harold, farmer, Mouselow
Fielding Herbert, grocer, 68 Station road
Firth Thos., insurance agent, 115 Hadfield rd
Foden Mrs. M., beer retlr. (off), 421 Hadfield rd
Garlick Charles, librarian, 15 Cross street
Garlick Hugh, greengrocer, 1 Station road
Garlick Squire, post office, 229 Woolley Bridge rd
Gee Mrs. Hannah, 160 Hadfield road
Gill Mrs. Elizabeth, grocer, 49 Station road
Goddard Mrs. Eliz., gen. dealer, 89 Station rd
Greaves James, shoemaker, 42 Hadfield road
Greaves William, confectioner, 103 Station rd
Grice Robert, mason, The Avenue
Hadfield & District Economic Building Society, Station road; J. W. Pogson, secretary; F. G. Knowles, solicitor
Hadfield Equitable Co-operative Society, Ltd., grocers, drapers, boot dealers, &c., Station road, and at Padfield; Chas. Loxley, mngr.
Haigh Mr. Alfred, 384 Hadfield road
Haigh Thomas, Prudential assurance agent, 5 Lambgates
Haigh William, bootmaker, 9 Station road
Hammonds John, baby linen dealer, Station rd
Hampshire Wm., tinplate worker, 51 Station rd
Handforth James, cashier, 31 Queen street
Hardy Mrs. Mary, Church street
Hardy William, greengrocer, 21 Station road
Harrison James, confectioner, 118 Station rd
Harrop Mrs. Hannah, 19 Railway street
Harrop Hugh, tailor, 25 Station road
Harrop James, farmer, Hill top
Harrop Matthew Henry, farmer, Hill top
Higginbottom John Sami., mllnr., Station rd
Hill Mrs. Harriet, shopkeeper, 153 Station rd
Hinchcliffe B., insur. agt. (Refuge), 10 Brosscroft
Hinchcliffe Thomas John, newsagent and tobacconist, la Railway street
Hirst Mrs. Mary Ann, draper, 96 Station rd
Hodges Albt.,fish and poultry dir., 76 Station rd
Hodgkinson Jas. H., assistant-manager, printworks, 105 Shaw lane
Horsefield Jno., market gardener, 14 Hadfield rd
Howarth George Frdk., draper and furniture dealer, 62 Station road
Howarth Moses, confectioner, 27 Station road
Hoyland Mrs. Miriam, ironmonger and general dealer, 146 Station road
Hudson J. G., saddler, 45 Station road
Huntzinger Alfred, assistant-manager, printworks, 105 Shaw lane
Jagger & Fernaly, printers, 112 Station road
Jakeman Albert, newsagent, 126 Station road
Johnson S., tripe dresser and fried fish dealer, 69 Station road
Jolly Keziah, vict., Spinners’ Arms, Marsden st
Kay Josiah, engraving manager, 103 Shaw lane
Kent Herbert, boot& shoemaker, 92 Station rd
Lee Miss Amanda, shopkpr., Woolley Bridge rd
Livesley Squire, general draper, 101 Station rd
Lofthouse John William, The Avenue
Lomas John, tripe dresser, 53 Station road
McMath John, grocer, 30 Brookfield
McDermott Patrick, grngrcr., 33 Bank Bottom
Martin Wm. Alfd., general draper, 11 Station rd
Mason Wm. J., boot & shoe dir., 115 Station rd
Maygowan John Alfred, grocer and beer retailer, 8 and 10 Waterside
Moran W. J. J., chemist, 15 Station road
Moss John, shopkeeper, 44 Brookfield
Murphy John, shopkeeper, 46 Station road
Nelson James, master Hadfield School; h Milford house, North road
Nelson Samuel, tailor and woollen draper, 74 Station road
Newton Mrs. Harriett, general dealer, 102 Station road
Ogden Squire, florist & mkt. grdnr., 61 Green Ln
Ollerenshaw & Co. (Consumers’ Tea Co.), 39 Station road
Patchett Henry, butcher and brick manufctr., 32 Station road
Phair Matthew, 32 Stanyforth street
Pilkington William, assistant manager, printworks, 107 Shaw lane
Platt Ernest, grocer’s manager, Marlow st e
Platt Joe, butcher, 19 Brook Croft
Platt John, farmer and stone mercht., Mouselowe
Poyner John, 57 Church street
Rhodes & Son, cotton mnfrs., Hadfield Mill
Rhodes Wm. (Rhodes & Son), Mersey bank
Richardson John, chemist, 9 Bank Bottom
Rigge Fletcher, secretary, 46 Bank street
Roberts George, cabinet maker, 54 Bank street
Robinson Alonzo, tobacconist, 41 Station road
Robinson John, shopkeeper, Hadfield road
Robinson Robt., confr., 93 Woolley Bridge road
Roe John, clerk of works, 14 Wesley street
Rogers Thomas, tailor, 35 Station road
Rose Thomas, overlooker, 40 Stanyforth street
Ross Edgar Albion, grocer, 55 Station road
Sansom Walter, M.D., C.M.Edin., Lambgate hs
Scholes James, butcher, 39 Railway street
Shaw John, Kent villa, Hadfield road
Shaw Miss Nanny, shopkeeper, 80 Hadfield rd
Shaw Samuel, 366 Hadfield road
Shepley J. & W., Ltd., cotton mnfrs., Brookfield
Sheppard Rt., hosier & habrdshr., 29 Station rd
Shufflebotham Joseph, shoemaker and clogger, la Station road
Sidebotham John, farmer, 84 Hadfield road
Sidebottam H., builder & cntrctr., 71 Station rd
Siddons John, farmer, Blackshaw farm
Skelton John, general dealer, 5 Bross croft
Smallpage & Co., grocers, 38 Waterside
Smith Samuel, 6 Park road
Swire William, fancy draper, 123 Station road
Taylor Abel, commercial dining rooms, 127-129 Station road
Taylor Mrs. Eliz., fish dealer, 17 Station road
Taylor Fred, hatter & tobacconist, 131 Station rd
Taylor Noah, farmer, Shaw farm
Thatcher Charles James, builder and contractor, 182 Hadfield road
Thompson Jas., newsagt. & statnr., 82 Station rd
Thornley Arthur, taxidermist, 5 Park road
Thornley Mrs. D., toy dealer, 79 Station road
Thornley Geo., mill manager, 305 Hadfield rd
Torkington Chas. H., shopkeeper, 19 Station rd
Torkington William, grocer, 23 Station road
Toulson William, draper, 77 Station road
Turner William, wheelwright, Platt street
Wadsworth Timothy, hay and straw dealer, 1 Railway street
Walker Alfred, schoolmaster, 11 Walker street
Walker Miss Mary A., governess, 5 Walker st
Walker Elliott M., draper and boot and shoe dealer, 105-107 Station road
Walsh William, grocer, 154 Station road
Warburton Edward, insurance agent (Pearl), 25 Hadfield street
Wardle Alfred, butcher, 94 Station road
Warhurst Mrs. Martha Ann, 10 Church street
Warhurst Seth, joiner, builder, and contractor, 39 Station road
Warhurst Seth, drpr. & milliner, 37 Station rd
Warrington Israel, grocer, corn dealer, beer retailer, and farmer, 1 Green lane
White William, M.D., 124 Hadfield road
Wilde John, blacksmith and wheelwright, 73-75 Station road
Williams Ernest, painter & glazier, 50 Station rd
Williams Thomas, draper, 117 Brookfield
Willis Charles, shoemaker and clogger, 125 Station road
Willerton Mrs. E., draper, 72 Woolley Bridge
Winterbottom David, butcher, 108 Station rd
Wishart Miss Jessie, draper, 148 Station road
Wood Samuel, 119 Hadfield road
Wood Thomas, restauranteur, 152 Station road
Wood William, tripe dresser, 142 Station road
Woollescroft Thomas, 13 Green lane
Woolley Thomas, pork butcher, Woolley Bridge
Worsley Arthur, joiner &gen. dir., 42 Bross croft
Worth Henry, draper, 124 Station road
Wyatt Cephas, farmer
Wyatt Henry, size manufacturer, Bross croft
Youles Robert, shopkeeper, 114 Woolley Bridge

PADFIELD.
Bamford George, 136 Main road
Bamford Samuel, 134 Main road
Bennett Joseph, farmer, Padfield
Brook Bennett Thomas, farmer, Main road
Booth Miss P., stationer & newsagt., 16 Platt st
Bowden Henry, fried fish dealer, 13 Temple st
Broadbent S., farmer and shopkeeper, 124 Main road
Brookes Willis, shopkeeper, 36 Post street
Chadwick Mrs. Ann, shopkeeper, 12 Platt st
Clarke Miss Mary, greengrocer, 49 Platt street
Daykin James, shopkeeper, 1 Lees row
Depledge Mrs. Ann, shopkeeper, 13 Platt st
Ellis Samuel, greengrocer, 111 Main road
Fielding Misses Mary & Ellen, drapers and confectioners, 14 Platt street
Goddard Jabez, farmer, Little Padfield
Greenwood Henry, farmer, 1 Main road
Groves Mrs. Eliza, 146 Main road
Holland Joseph, tailor & outfitter, Main road
Horrocks John, 135 Platt street
Hoyle Joseph, farmer, 141 Main road
Hyde John, 61 Temple street
Jacobs Charles, beerseller, Prince of Wales, Main road
Liberal Club, Main road ; secretary, Samuel Gilbert, Hadfield
Ollerenshaw Samuel, 157 Main road
Phair Betty, vict., Peel’s Arms, 6 Temple st
Platt William, cashier, Padfield Brook
Purkis Mrs. Sarah, shopkeeper, 48 Post street
Sargentson Jas., farmer & cotton waste dealer, Temple street
Sargentson William, farmer & cotton waste dealer, Temple street
Smith Arthur, 57 Temple street
Warhurst Reuben, 135 Platt street
Wild Charles, shopkeeper, 20 Post street
Wild Walter, grocer, 61 Platt street
Williams John, shopkeeper, 135 Main road

SIMMONDLEY.
Bowden John, calico printer, White Cross
Dewsnap Samuel, beerseller, Hare & Hounds
Dixon Peter, lodge keeper & farmer, Alma house
Jackson Levi (Exors. of), rope, twine, & cotton band manufacturers and farmers, Hobroyd
Jackson Walter, Hobroyd
Hadfield The Misses, Lees hall
Lyne George (W. Lyne & Sons)
Lyne William & Sons, rope makers
Newton Robert, slater and plasterer
Penney Ernest Massey, schoolmaster
Shaw John James, cattle dealer
Smith Mr. Alfred
Smith Thomas, com. traveller, Turnlee house
Tomlinson Miss Mary, Turnlee house
Wood Thos., joiner & farmer, Hobroyd
Farmers.
Bennett Edwin, Sitch farm
Bennett Jas., Simmondley and Cross farm
Bennett John, Cown Edge
Bennett John, Plainsteads
Beverley James, Knarr’s Nook
Booth Mrs. Nancy, Hobroyd
Brindley Thomas S., Hall farm
Garside Joseph, Lees Hall farm
Hadfield Charles, Cown Edge
Handforth Mrs. Ellen
Higginbottom Mrs. Ann, Rose farm
Hill Miss Jane Hurst Wm., Storth farm
Jackson Albert, Storth Brook farm
Kershaw John
Marshall Thomas
Roberts James, Herod farm
Robinson Samuel, Storth brow
Redford Mrs. Sarah, Cloud lane
Rose Jonathan, High Barn
Shaw John James (and cattle dealer)
Stafford William, Tom Heys

WHITFIELD.
Allott Matthew, gamekeeper, Moorfield
Aspinall Frederick, butler, Moorfield
Beeley Mr. Joshua, Moorfield
Collier James, designer, 48 Sheffield road
Collier Mr. William, Rose cot, 91 Sheffield rd
Daniels George Arthur, electrical engineer, Moorfield
Dudley Rev. Henry Thornton, M.A. (Oxon.)
Evason Walter Pedley, schoolmaster
Fielding Charles, builder and contractor, 37 Whitfield Cross
Hambleton Josh., gamekpr. to W. S. Rhodes, Esq.
Lambley Rev. Richard Henry, M.A., Oxon. (Unitarian), Hurst
Pilkington Peter, vict., Bee Hive
Rowbottom James, cotton spinner, Hurst mills ; and at Charlesworth
Sykes Mrs. Sarah, vict., Royal Oak, Sheffield road
Swann Joseph, cowkeeper
Toft Alfred, groom, Moorfield
Watts James, gamekeeper to Mrs. Wood, The Lodge, Moorfield
Weston Charles F., art master, Sheffield road
Whitehead Thomas, gamekeeper, High bank
Wood Mrs. Annie Kershaw, Moorfield
Wood John, Esq., J.P., D.L., Barrister-at-Law, Whitfield house
Wood Samuel Hill, Esq., Moorfield; and Ashfield, Leominster
Farmers.
Beard Mrs. Esther, Kidd Road farm
Bradbury Joseph, Whitfield Green
Buxton Bennett, Whitfield barn and Jumble
Buxton James, Cross cliff
Buxton William, Hurst farm
Cooper Thomas, Carr house
Crossley Benjamin, Hurst nook
Gregory Samuel, Moorfield farm
Hill Hugh, Sheffield road
Robinson Joseph, Whitfield Green
Robinson Robert, Brown hill
Shephard John, Mossy lee
Vernon Joseph, Whitfield Green

TRADES AND PROFESSIONS.
Marked d are at Dinting, v at Dinting Vale, h at Hadfield, and p at Padfield.
Academies and Schools.
Grammar School; Arthur Hy. Roberts, master ; Miss M. E. Moore, mistress ; Miss G. E. Arnold, infants’ mistress
Catholic School; Sisters of Charity of St. Paul (Apostle)
Littlemoor Congregational; Joseph Walkden, master
Methodist New Connexion; Ernest M. Penney, master
Wesleyan School; Walter Houseman, master
Accountants.
Brocklehurst H., 51 Pikes Ln
Hollingbery J. K. (chartered), Howard street
Ale & Porter Merchants.
Conner P., Arundel street
Higginbottom H., 20 King st
Architect & Surveyor.
Hawke R. G., 40 Norfolk st
Auctioneers & Valuers.
Bates Herbert, 13 Hadfield pl
Ford J. France, High street w
Mellor J., 74 High street w
Sykes R. W., Liberal buildings
Baby Linen and Ladies’ Underclothing Dealers.
Alcock Miss P., 7 High st e
h Hammonds John, Station rd
Hargreaves Mrs. E., 110 High street w
Lewis Miss E., 24 High st e
Nield Miss A., 11 Norfolk st
Bakers & Confectioners.
Bamford Carrie & Alice, 136 Victoria street
Barber Miss A., 92 High st w
Bramhall Thos., High street w
Bramwell Luke, 98 High st w
Briggs Mrs. S., 7 Station road, Hadfield
Broadbent Miss E. A., 97 Station road
Bunn H., 75 High street w
Cunnington Wm., 17 Charlestown road
Eversden J. W., 16 High st e
h Fielding Miss A., 52 Station rd
p Fielding Misses M. & E., 14 Platt street
h Greaves Wm., 103 Station rd
h Harrison Jas., 118 Station rd
h Howarth M., 27 Station road
Kenny Miss M., 6 High st e
Kidd Miss E., 12 High street e
Leach F., 10 High street w
Lee Misses H. & C., 104 High street w
h Robinson R., 93 Woolley Bridge road
Sellers W. H., 46 Pikes lane
Warhurst S., 20 High street e
Watkinson T., 54 High st w
Wilson Robert, High street w
Bankers.
Manchester and County Bank, Ltd., High street w; J. P. Boote, manager
Manchester & Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd.; Norfolk sq (and Hadfield); W. H. Hollingbery, manager
Glossop Dale Savings Bank; F. B. Ellison, actuary & sec.
Basket Maker.
May A., 59 High street e
Beersellers.
Allen Michael, Star, Chapel st
Bennett Rt., off 96 Victoria st
Bradley G., Bernard street
Bradley R., 99 High street e
h Cuthbert William, Masons’ Arms, Station rd, Hadfield
h Daykin D., Spring Tavern, Brookfield
Earnshaw Mrs. S., 1 Whitfield cross
h Eversden G. C., 102 Waterside
h Foden Mrs. M., off 421 Hadfield road
Foster T., 25 High street e
Goldthorpe Mrs. E.,33 Charles street
Green J. T., 40 Pikes lane
Howard J., 76 High street e
p Jacobs C., Prince of Wales, Main road
Jacobs W., off 28 Freetown
Lomas R., 16 Chapel street
Lyne T., Nag’s Head, Charlestown road
h Maygowen J. A., off 8 and 10 Waterside
Newton C., 17 Gladstone st
Orme Joe, Howard street
Pilkington Peter, Mill street
h Rowbottom A., Royal Oak, 96 Brookfield
Sale Harriet, 11 Chapel street
Taylor A. B., Drovers’ Arms, Charlestown
h Warrington I., off 1 Green Ln
Wilde A., 277 High street w
Belt and Belt Fastener Manufacturer.
Jackson Isaac, Norfolk street
Bill Posters.
Glossop Bill Posting Co., Ltd., Howard st; J. K. Hollingbery, secretary
Blacksmiths.
Boardman Wm. H., Manor st
Dearnaley T., 125, High st w
Hall Thomas, Howard street
h Wilde J., 73 & 75 Station rd
Bleachers and Dyers.
Walton J., Charlestown
Booksellers & Stationers
Bentham Mrs. Jane, Station rd
Butterworth Mrs. J., 22 Bank street, Hadfield
Hollinworth S., la Victoria st
Boot and Shoe Makers and Dealers.
Bell Miss Mary, Station road, Hadfield
Brown J., 112 High street w, and 5 Victoria street
Cooper C., 11 Victoria street
h Greaves J., 42 Hadfield road
Hadfield Jph., 97 High street e
h Hadfield Co-op. Society, Ltd., Station road and Padfield
h Haugh Wm., 9 Station road
Hall Jph., 201 High street e
Hewitt W., 8 Collier street
h Kent H., 92 Station road
h Mason W. J., 115 Station rd
Middleton T., 114 Victoria st
Nield J., 20 High sweet w
Rathbone J., 140 High street w
Sale J. L., 23 High street e
Simpson W., 14 Slateland road
Smith E., 47 High street w
Smith W., 35 & 37 High st w
Swire J. & Sons, High street w
Townend H., 58 Victoria street
Tyler J., 15 High street w
h Walker E. M., 105 & 107 Station road
h Willis Charles, 125 Station rd
Woodcock M., 57 High street w
Woodcock M., 44 Station road
Brass Founders and Finishers.
Glossop Iron Co., Ltd., Surrey st
Brick Maker.
h Patchett H., 32 Station road
Builders & Contractors.
Fielding C., 37 Whitfield Cross
Howard W., 27 Hadfield street
Potts J. & H., Sheffield road
h Sidebotham H., 71 Station rd
h Thatcher C. J., 182 Hadfield rd
h Warhurst S., 39 Station road
Builders’ Merchants.
Bowden Wm. Hy., Howard st
Garside C. & Sons, Ltd., Surrey street
Building Society.
h Hadfield & Dist. Economic, Station rd; J.W. Pogson, sec.
Butchers.
Bennett Robert (pork), 96 Victoria street
Bennett Wm., 6 Rose Green
h Booth Henry (pork), 117, 119 Station road
Burkhard C. (pork), 87 High street w
Charlesworth W., 244 High street
h Clayton E., 86 Station road
Darwent M., 19 High street e
h Dewsnap W., Station road
h Earnshaw Mrs. M., 43 Station road
Fielding G.R., 101 Dinting Vale
France James, 139 High st w
h Patchett H., 32 Station road
Patchett Mrs. M., 36 High st w
Platt Miss A., 49 High street w
h Platt Joe, Bross Croft
Schofield J., 83 High street e
Scholes A., 119 High street w
h Scholes J., 39 Railway street
Thornley N., 74 Victoria street
h Wardle A., 94 Station road
Wibberley D., 100 Gladstone street and Hadfield
h Winterbottom D., 108 Station road
Wood J. 27 & 29 Gladstone st
Woolley E., High street w
h Woolley T. (pork), Woolley Bridge
Brush Manufacturers.
Whittingham F. & Son, 10 High street e
Cab and Carriage Proprietors.
Glossop Carriage Co., Ltd. ; J. K. Hollingbery, secretary
Pye R., 8 Duke street and 11 Hadfield street
Cabinet Makers.
Batty George, 45 Chapel st
Hall Robert, 1 Gladstone st
Leach J. T., Brook Mills
h Roberts G., 54 Bank street
Smith C. L., 55 High street e
Willey J. W., 17 Norfolk st
Calico Printers.
Potter Edmund & Co., Ltd., Dinting Vale
Chemists and Druggists.
Calvert W. D., 87 Station road, Hadfield
Golden A. P., 48 High st w
Kinder Henry, 85 High st w
Lake Geo., jun., Primrose ter
Moran W. J. J., 15 Station road, Hadfield
h Richardson J., 9 Bankbottom
China, Glass, and Earthenware Dealers.
Chalioner S., 120 and 122 Station road, Hadfield
Redfern Miss A., 58 High st w
Schofield J., 83 High street e
Williamson Mrs., 100 High st w
Cloggers.
Arrowsmith J., 132 High st w
Hall Joseph, 201 High street e
Kenyon W., 68 High street w
Kershaw J., 138 Victoria st
h Shufflebotham J., la Station road
h Swire J., 38 Brookfield
Swire H., 21 Victoria street
Wood James, 17 Dinting Vale
Coal Merchants and Dealers.
Bennett Thos., 126 Victoria st
Dixon G. H., 183 High st e
Dixon W., 9 Corn street
Fielding S., 13 Gladstone st
h Harrison A., Railway street
Platt J., St. James’ hall
Thorp W., Norfolk street
Corn Dealers.
Bottomley W. II., 11 High st e
Bradbury G., 3 & 5 Dinting Vale
Eversden J. W., 16 High st e
Helm B., 36 High street e
Morley J., 50 Church street
Pickford A., 106 Gladstone st
Platt B., 119,121,123 High st e
Torkington W. (and flour), 14 High street
Corn Millers.
Malkin S. (Exors. of), High st e
Malkin J., 7 Corn st, High st e
Cotton Spinners and Manufacturers.
Hadfield J., Cowbrook mill
Rhodes & Son, Hadfield mills
Rowbottom J., Hurst mills
Rowbottom S., Meadow mills
h Shepley J. & W., Ltd., Brookfield
Sumner Fras. & Co., Ltd., Wren Nest mills
Wood J. & Bros., Ltd., Howard Town mills
Cotton Waste Dealers.
p Sargentson J., Temple street
p Sargentson W., Temple street
Cycle Agent & Repairer.
Braddock W., 74 High street e
Dentists.
Butterfield E., 146 Hadfield rd
Hardman J.,L.D. S., Norfolk sq
Mitchell J., 35 Norfolk street
Drapers.
Barnes J. & Sons, 31 High st w
Batty S., 9 Station rd, Hadfield
Beard John, 3 High street w
Beeley Samuel, 22 High st w
Bennett Mrs. Sarah, 98 & 102 Station road, Hadfield
Bradbury Mrs. E., 131 Hall st
Dane C., 121 Station road
Hadfield Doodson G., 76 High street w
Evason H. E , Norfolk square
p Fielding M. & E., 14 Platt st
h Livesley S., 121 Station road
Hadfield T. & Son, 29 High st w and 91 Station rd, Hadfield
h Hadfield Co-operative Soc., Ltd., Station rd & Padfield
Higginbottom J. S.,17 High st w
Higginbottom W., 2 Victoria st
Hill William, 94 High st w
h Hirst Mrs. M. A., 96 Station rd
h Howarth G. F., 62 Station rd
Hunter T. P., High street
Hyde Geo., 12 High street w
Ingham Mrs. H., 73 High st w
Keighley J. C., Victoria street
h Martin W. A., 11 Station rd
Platt B., 119,121,123 High st e
Platt J., 12 and 14 Wellgate
Rolley Miss A., 8 High st e
Ross J., Woolley Bridge
Sellers S., 5 High street east
Smith J., 38 High street east
h Toulson Wm., 77 Station rd
h Walker E. M., 105 and 107 Station road
Walton Mrs. E., 52 High st w
h Warhurst S., 37 Station rd
h Willerton Mrs. E., 72 Woolley Bridge
h Williams T., 117 Brookfield
h Wishart Miss J.,148 Station rd
Wood P., 53 High street west
h Worth Henry, 124 Station rd
Emigration and Estate Agents.
Braddock E. & Son, 73 High st e
Ford J. France, High street w
Goddard J. T., 28 Slateland rd
Higginbottom J. (commission), Liberal buildings
Mellor J., 74 High street west
Engineers.
Glossop Iron Company, Ltd., Surrey street
Fancy Drapers.
Alcock Miss Phoebe, 7 High st e
Swire W., 123 Station road
Willis G. H., 135 High st w
Dressmakers.
h Bowden Miss A., 19 Wesley st
h Cromie Miss R., 8 Station rd
Handforth Miss M., 31 Princess street
Hyde Geo., 12 High street w
Sellars S., 5 High street east
Wright Miss N., North road
Fancy Repositories.
Woodcock G., 51 High st w
Farmers.
See also Simmondley and Whitfield ante.
Bentley Jph., Allman’s Head
Booth Albert, Hadfield
Broadbent S., Padfield
Cooper F., Lower Dinting
Darwent L., Bettin Hill
Dixon John, Pikes farm
Drinkwater J., 3 Hague street
h Fielding H., Mouselow
Ford Samuel, Higher Dinting
Goddard J., Little Padfield
p Greenwood Wm., 1 Main rd
Harrop J., Hill Top
Harrop M. H., Hill Top
Howard Mrs. S., The Ashes
p Hoyle Joseph, 141 Main road
Marsden A., Lane Head farm
Platt Harriet S., Hill Top
h Platt J., Mouselow
Radford Mrs. S., Cloud lane
p Sargentson J., Temple street
p Sargcntson W., Temple street
Sheppard J., The Ashes
h Sidebotham J., 84 Hadfield rd
Siddons J., Blackshaw farm
Taylor J., The Ashes
Taylor N., Shaw farm
Thorpe W., Hawk’s Head farm
Waterhouse Mrs. S., Higher Dinting
Wyatt C., Hadfield
Farrier.
Turner W., 2 Hadfield place
Fish & Poultry Dealers.
Brooks W. H., Victoria street
Goddard Joseph (salesman), 114 High street west
h Hodges A., 76 Station road
Moore R., 140 Victoria street
h Taylor Mrs. E., 17 Station rd
Fried Fish Dealers.
Bowden Henry, Padfield
h Diffin R., Bank street
Fruiterers & Grngrcrs.
Armitage J. (whlsl.),Victoria st
Brook G., 96 High street west
Brooks A., 1 & 3 Station road
p Clarke Miss M., 49 Platt st
p Ellis S., 1ll Main road
h Farnsworth T., 40 and 42 Station road
h Garlick H., 1 Station road
Goddard Jph., 114 High st w
h Hardy Wm., 21 Station road
Hatfield Joseph, 16 Norfolk st
Jones William, 32 High st w
Kershaw Jon., 377 High st w
Lester J., 63 High street east
h McDermott P., 33 Bank bottom
Steele E., 76 Victoria street
Turner E., 72 High street e
Turner J., 53 High street east
Turner M , 26 High street east
Furniture Dealers.
Bennett Mrs. S., 98-102Station road, Hadfield
Cluskey Mrs. E., 21 High st e
Crompton Mrs. E., 26 High st w
Hall Robert, 1 Gladstone st
h Howarth G. F., 62 Station rd
General Dealers.
Beeley James and Ellen, 26 Gladstone street
Bowden John, 1 Collier street
Broadbent Mrs. E., 52 Bross croft
Broadbent Miss Z., 72 Bross croft
h Goddard Mrs. E., 89 Station rd
h Hoyland Mrs. M., 146 Station road
h Newton Mrs. H., 103 Station road
Pye R., 3 Duke street and 11 Hadfield street
h Skelton J., 5 Bross croft
Wharmby Geo., 127 Hall st
Whittingham F. & Son, 10 High street east
Wild S., 9 Victoria street
h Worsley A., 42 Bross croft
Grocers & Tea Dealers.
Armitage Chas. H., 93 High st w
Atkinson William, 117 High street west and Hadfield
Barnes Wm., 65 High street w
h Beaumont Jas., 125 Brookfield
Booth Eli, Hall street
h Booth Hy., 117,119 Station rd
Bottomley Wm. H.,11 High st e
Bradbury George, 3 and 5 Dinting Vale
h Braddock& Co. 111 Station rd
Buckley J. E., 123 High st w
Chappell R., 118 Victoria st
Downing W., 8 Norfolk street and 95 Station rd, Hadfield
h Eversden G. C.,102 Waterside
h Eversden W., 8 & 10 Bank st
h Fielding H., 68 Station road
Fielding J. W., 128 Pikes lane
h Gill Mrs. E., 49 Station road
Glossop Industrial Co-operative Society, Ltd., Norfolk sq, High street w, Hall street, and Charlestown road
Grey Thomas, 84 Princess st
h Hadfield Equitable Co-operative Society, Ltd., Station road, and at Padfield
Hall James, 146 St. Mary’s rd
Harrison Chas. S. ,122 High st w
Helm B., 36 High street east
Hurst Aaron, Charlestown
Kinder Geo., 198 High street w
h McMath J., 30 Brookfield
h Maygowan J. A., 8 and 10 Waterside
Melia D. & Co., 11 High st w
Miller T. & Co., 50 High st w
Morley Joseph, 50 Church st
Mortis Charles, 18 Wellgate
Newton W., Bernard street
Oliver Homer, 142 High st w
Ollerenshaw Co. (Consumers’ Tea Co.) ; h 39 Station road
Pickford A., 106 Gladstone st
Platt B., 119,121,123 High st e
Platt J., 12 and 14 Wellgate
h Ross E. A., 35 Station road
Ross J., Woolley Bridge
h Smallpage & Co.,38 Waterside
Torkington W., 23 Station rd
h Walsh W., 154 Station road
h Warrington I., 1 Green lane
Waterhouse T., 25 Norfolk st
p Wild W., 61 Platt street
Willis Mrs. H., Charlestown
Wood J., 27, 29 Gladstone st
Wood J., 25 High street west
Wood S., 15 Charles street
Woolley T., 61 High street w
Hairdressers.
Berry John, Hadfield road
Brook E., 225 Woolley Bridge rd
Bunting J., 13 Victoria street
h Dickinson J., 33 Station road
Dunkerley F., 70 High street w
Howard F., 4 Market street
Page S., 6 Norfolk street
Slater C., 138 High street w
Hatters.
Cooke John, 59 High street w
h Cox J., 109 Station road
Eversden G., Town Hall bldgs
h Eversden A., 72 Station road
Hyde Wm., 34 High street w
h Taylor F., 131 Station road
Hay and Straw Dealer.
h Wadsworth T., 1 Railway st
Herbalists.
Garside John, 26 Princess st
Ollerenshaw A., 131 High st w
Hop Bitters Brewers.
Garside J. & Co., Princess st
Hosiers & Haberdashers
Bramald E., 376 Hadfield rd
Lawton & Co., 27 High st w
Marshall T., 86 High street w
h Sheppard R., 29 Station road
Wain Joseph, 14 High street e
Hotels, Inns, & Taverns.
Albion, Victoria street; Brook Furniss
Anchor, Hadfield rd ; Edward Belfield
Arundel Arms, Cemetery road; James Hadfield
Bee Hive, Whitfield; Peter Pilkington
Bridge Inn, Market street; Mrs. L. Walton
Bull’s Head, 72 Church street; James Sellars
Commercial, Bank Bottom ; William Corker
Commercial, Charlestown; W. Cooper
Crown, Victoria st; D. Brown
Globe, High st w; Thos. Bridge
Grapes, 305, High street w; Frederick Pickford
Grouse, Chunal; Wm. Goddard
Hare & Hounds, Hall street ; William Handford
Howard Arms, High street e ; George Nuttall
Junction, High street w; Fdk. Charlesworth
Manor Inn, High street e ; William Henry Seddon
Market Hotel; William N. Wilkerson
Norfolk Arms ; Joseph Collier
h Palatine & Railway Hotel, Station rd ; David Crawford
p Peel’s Arms, 6 Temple street; Betty Phair
Plough Inn, Dinting Vale; Frederick Pickford
Queen's Arms, Old Glossop ; Elias Taylor
Rose & Crown, High street w ; Mrs. M. Collier
Royal Oak, Sheffield road ;Mrs. S. Sykes
h Spinners’ Arms, Marsden st ; Keziah Jolly
h Spread Eagle, Brookfield ; William Edwards
Station Hotel; Henry Bagshaw ; good accommodation for tourists & visitors; ales and spirits of the best quality
Surrey Arms, High street w ; John James Sykes
Surrey Arms, Victoria street ; Mrs. E. Ford
Talbot, Old Glossop ; James Dutton
Viaduct Inn, 19 Dinting Vale ; Samuel Smith
h Victoria, 88 Bross Croft ; James Bamford
Insurance Agents.
Bailey Geo., asst. supt. (Prudential), 22 Slateland road
Bradbury G. (Prudential), 133 Hall street
Braddock E. & Son, 73 High st e
Fernaly J. (Royal Lon. A. S.), 23 Derby street
h Firth T.,115 Hadfield road
h Haigh Thos. (Prudential), 5 Lambgates
h Hinchcliffe B. (Refuge), 10 Bross Croft
Rhodes J. H. (Royal Liver), 14 Derby street
Warburton E. (Pearl), 25 Hadfield street
Iron Founders.
Blackwell Wm., George street
Glossop Iron Company, Ltd., Surrey street
Ironmongers.
Beeley Jas. & Ellen, 26 Gladstone street
Bowden William, 1 High st e
Darwent W. H., 7 Victoria st
Dearnaley T., 125 High st w
h Hoyland Mrs. M., 146 Station road
Merry J., 34 High street e
Joiners.
Aldous Thos., Marlow street e
Howard Wm., 27 Hadfield st
Jackson Joseph (& builder), Victoria street
h Warhurst S., 39 Station road
Wood H.H., 23 Hadfield street
h Worsley A., 42 Bross Croft
Leather Merchant.
Bowden William, 1 High st e
Marine Store Dealer.
Wood Thomas, 6 Derby street
Market Gardeners.
h Horsefield J., 14 Hadfield rd
h Ogden Squire, 61 Green lane
Masons.
h Grice Robert, The Avenue
Longden A. (monumental), Cemetery road
Milliners.
Beard John, 3 High street w
h Dane C., 121 Station road
Evason Henry E., Norfolk sq
Higginbottom J. S., 17 High street w; and Hadfield
Hyde George, 12 High street w
Rolley Miss A.; 8 High st e
Sellers S., 5 High street e
h Shepherd & Willis Mesdames, Brookfield
h Warhurst S., 37 Station road
Wood P., 53 High street w
Mineral Water Manfrs.
Garside J. & Co., Princess st
h Harrison Abel, Railway st
Higginbottom H., 20 King st
Shepherd & Son, King street
Shepherd W., Shrewsbury st
Musical Instrument Dealers.
Heywood E. W., Victoria st
Shaw E. & Co., 9 High st e
Music Teachers.
Fairclough W. P., Mus.Bac., F. R.C.O., 3 Shaw street
Robinson R. B.,17 Arundel st
Newsagents.
Barber Thomas, 60 High st w
Booth Miss P., 16 Platt street
Dale G., 90 Victoria street
Goddard Miss M., 242 High st w
Greenwood E., 57 High st e
h Hinchcliffe T. J., la Railway street
Hollinworth S., la Victoria st
Howbrook J., 127 High st w
h Jakeman A., 126 Station rd
Schofield Misses M. E. & A., 6 Norfolk street
Shaw S., 128 High street e
Thompson J., 82 Station road
Waterhouse J., 130 High st w
Newspaper.
Advertiser; Glossop Advertiser Printing and Publishing Co., Ltd., Howard street; Wm. Widdup, manager
Painters, Decorators, and Paperhangers.
Adshead Joseph, 40 High st e
Bradbury G. W., 133 High st e
h Derbyshire A. E., 150 Station road
Dutton Tom, Shrewsbury st
Holgate James, 149 High st w
Robinson & Co., 62 High st w
Robinson J., Norfolk street
Taylor & Beverley, 118 Pikes Ln
h Williams E., 50 Station road
Paper Manufacturers.
Olive & Partington, Turnlee and Dover mills
Pawnbrokers.
Buckley J. H., 13 High st e
Chadwick J., 41 High street w and 2 Cross street
Chadwick W. T., 81 and 83 Station road, Hadfield
Photographers.
Bunting J. H., 103 Victoria st
Cox J., 109 Station rd, Hadfield
Physicians & Surgeons.
Andrew Albert, L.R.C.P., L.M., L.F., P.S. (Glas.), medical officer, Glossop Union, 16 High street w
Mackenzie D. J., M.D., M.B., C.M., 64 High street w
Nelson R., M.D., M.Ch., M.A.O., Norfolk street
Parkinson M., M.B., C.M., Edin., 1 Arundel street
Rhodes J., L.R.C.S., L.S.A., 25 Victoria street
h Sansom W., M.D., C.M., Edin., Lambgates house
Sidebottom R. B., M.R.G.S., L.R.C.P., Hollin Cross lane
h White W., M.D., 124 Hadfield road
Plumbers and Glaziers.
Darwent W. H., 7 Victoria st
Dawson W., 85 Station road, Hadfield
Lawton John, 17 Wellgate
Merry J., 34 High street e
Oliver W., 39 High street w
Printers & Publishers.
Glossop Advertiser Printing and Publishing Co., Ltd., Howard street
Irlam W. H. (and stationer), 55 High street
h Jagger & Fernaly, 112 Station road
Schofield A. E. (and bookbinder), Surrey street
Sheppard W. (and bookbinder), Norfolk street
Wyatt T., 83 Dinting Vale
Provision Dealer.
Sheppard C., 130 High st e
Refreshment Rooms.
Brocklehurst Miss A., 45 High street w
h Taylor A., 127 & 129 Station rd
h Wood T., 152 Station road
Rope and Twine Manufacturers.
Jackson L., Charlestown road
Lyne William & Sons, Simmondley mills
Rowbottom J., Charlesworth
Saddlers.
h Hudson J. G., 45 Station rd
Manson T., Henry street
Mawson T., Norfolk square
Needham J., 56 Church street
Sausage Maker.
h Garlick Jph., 16 Dinting Vale
Saw Mill Proprietor.
Bowden Wm. H., Howard st
Sewing Machine Agent.
Berry Samuel Lees, 83 Hall st
Shopkeepers.
Aldous Joshua, 2 Brookfield
Aldous William, Hadfield
Ashton George (and insurance agent, Wesleyan & General)
Ashton Reuben, 89 Hadfield road, 6 & 8 Gladstone street
p Bailey Mrs. Ann, 86 Platt st
Bamford Mrs. Mary, Whitfield Cross
Band Charles, 27 Sheffield rd
Barber Mrs. Mary, Whitfield Cross
Barker Wm., 77 Hadfield road
Bickerdike Wm., 84 High st w
Blakeley B., 9 Chapel street
Bowden Joseph, 36 Church st
Bowden Mrs. M., 199 High st e
Bradbury G., 1 & 3 Charlestown road
Bramwell Mrs. M.A., 36-38 Norfolk street
Bratby E., 10 Gladstone street
Broadbent S., Padfield
Brookes W., 36 Post st, Padfield
p Chadwick Mrs. A., 12 Platt st
Conner A., 289 High street w
Conner J., 271 High street w
Daykin J., 1 Lees row, Padfield
p Depledge Mrs. A., 13 Platt st
Devlin Mrs. E., Arundel street
Dewsnap S., 28 Gladstone st
Dixon Mrs. L., 90 High street
Pay Stephen, W., 8 Chapel st
h Firth Mrs. E., 58 Brookfield
Hibbs Mrs. H., 213 High st w
Higginbottom Mrs. S., 79 Dinting Vale
h Hill Mrs. H., 135 Station rd
h Lee Miss A., Woolley Bridge road
Longstone Wm., 106 Charlestown road
Metcalfe Mrs. S., 218 High st w
h Moss J., 44 Brookfield
Nerney M., 271 High street w
Newton W., 43 Derby street
Oldham A., 6 Chapel street
Oldham Mrs. H., 197 High st e
Orme J., 197 High street e
p Purkis Mrs. S., 48 Post street
Radford J., Victoria street
Redfern I., 35 Gladstone st
Rhodes W., 9 Freetown
Roberts Mrs. A., 2 Dinting Vale
h Robinson J., Hadfield road
h Shaw Miss N., 80 Hadfield rd
Shaw W., 1 Lees street, Woolley Bridge
Thornley Miss B., 4 Charlestown road
Tinker H., 65 High street e
h Torkington C. H., 19 Station road
Wild B., 12 Charlestown road
p Wild C., 20 Post street
Willis Mrs. H., Charlestown
Woodcock E., 164 High street w
Woodcock Mrs. E., 49 & 51 Victoria street
Woodhead T., Edward street
p Williams J., 135 Main road
Youles Rt., 114 Woolley Bridge
Slater and Plasterer.
Kinder Walter, 35 Sumner st
Smallware Dealer.
Roberts Mrs. C., 90 High st e
Solicitors.
Cooke Joe, Norfolk street
Davis C., 6 Market street
Ellis T. M., 4 Ellison street
Moran & Knowles, Howard Chambers, Howard street
Tweedale J. W., Norfolk square
Spring Mattress Mnfrs.
Barber Wm. C., Edward street
Hadfield John, Hadfield st
Jefferson Henry, Howard st
Stone Merchants.
Bradbury J., Whitfield Green
Greenwood John, Old Glossop
h Platt J., Mouselow
Woodhead John, Hall street
Tailors, Clothiers and Outfitters.
Briggs J. W., 22 High street e
Brownson G., 2 High street e
Buckley J. H., 13 High st w
Chadwick J., 41 and 43 High street w, and 2 Cross street
h Chadwick W. T., 81 and 83 Station road
Cooper M. & Sons, 28 High st w
h Eversden A., 72 Station road
Hadfield T. & Son, 29 High st w & 91 Station rd, Hadfield
Hall & Sons, 21 High street w
Hall Charles, 99 High street w
h Harrop H., 25 Station road
p Holland Joseph, Main road
Hurst William, 18 High st e
Jackson Charles, 106 Pikes Ln
McMellon W., 18 High st w
h Nelson S., 74 Station road
Poole J., 85 High street e
Robinson W., 12 Norfolk street
h Rogers T., 35 Station road
Swire William, 5 High street w
Taxidermist.
H Thornley A., 5 Park road
Timber Merchants.
Bowden Wm. Hy., Howard st
Garside C. & Sons, Ltd., Surrey street
Tinplate Workers.
Bowden William, 1 High st e
Darwent W. H., 7 Victoria st
h Hampshire Wm.,51 Station rd
Lawton John, 17 Wellgate
Oliver W., 29 High street w
Tobacconists.
Cox Mrs. M., 121 High street w
Cuthbert Mrs. M. E., 80 High street w
Eversden G., Town Hall bldgs
Goddard Mrs. M., 242 High st w
h Hinchcliffe T. J., la Railway st
Hyde William, 34 High st w
Jackson K., 4 High street e
h Robinson A., 41 Station road
Shaw S., 128 High street e
h Taylor P., 131 Station road
Wright J., 72 High street w
Toy Dealers.
May Amos, 59 High street e
h Thornley Mrs. D., 97 Station road
Tripe Dressers.
Bentley Jph.. Woolley Bridge road
Bowden John, 1 Collier street
h Hampson Thos., 110 Brookfield
h Johnson S., 69 Station road
h Lomas J., 53 Station road
h Wood W., 142 Station road
Umbrella Maker.
Ashton Matt., 46 High street w
Undertaker.
Aldous Thomas, Marlow st e
Upholsterer.
Smith C. L., 55 High street e
Watchmakers and Jewellers.
Bowden Jas. Wm., 32 High st e
Cranage A., 6a High street w
Crannage F., 5 Station road, Hadfield
h Etches W. J., Bank street
Fielding E. & Son, 24 High st w
Hamnett Jas., 14a High st e
Swann George, 238 High st w
Wheelwrights.
Boardman Wm. H., Manor st
Cokayne S., Surrey street
h Turner W., Platt street
h Wilde J., 73-75 Station road
Wine and Spirit Merchants.
h Eversden Wm., 8-10 Bank st
Stagg & Son, Norfolk square
Veterinary Surgeon.
Gubbin E. S., F.R.C V.S., Fauvel road

CHARLESWORTH.
This parish comprises the townships of Charlesworth, and Ludworth and Chisworth, containing 4,000 acres and 2,327 inhabitants. It is in the hundred of High Peak; county court district, petty sessional division, poor law union and deanery of Glossop.
The township of Charlesworth contains 15,261 acres of land lying on the south-west side of Glossop. For the purpose of carrying out the Local Government Act of 1894 eight parish councillors have been assigned to Charlesworth, and the township divided into two wards, No. 1 Ward comprising Charlesworth parliamentary polling district, and No. 2 Ward the rest of the parish. The former elects two guardians and two district councillors, and the latter one of each.
Charlesworth, at the time of the Domesday Survey, was known as Cheveneswrde, and then formed part of the crown lands. In 1294 Peter de Charlesworth died seized of certain lands in this township and elsewhere in the parish of Glossop, which he held for the Abbot of Basingwerke. In 1308 Robert de Charlesworth gave to the said abbot 80 acres of arable land in Charlesworth, in addition to smaller endowments in Simondley and Chunal. In consequence of this gift, the abbot established a grange here, in which resided one or more monks of the order, whose duty was to look after the interests of the monastery. He also erected a chapel, dedicated to St. Mary Magdalen, which was probably at first served by one of the monks from the grange. In 1329 the abbot obtained the royal permission so establish a market at Charlesworth on Wednesdays, and a yearly fair to be held on the festival of the patron saint of the chapel.
Local tradition assigns another origin to the chapel. According to this legend, a traveller on his way from Manchester to London was benighted, and lost his way on the Charlesworth moors. Unable to proceed, he prayed to God and the Virgin Mary for protection, and vowed that, if he were delivered from his danger, be would build a chapel on the spot. Scarcely had the vow been uttered when a shepherd passing that way found him, and conveyed him to a neighbouring house. He accomplished his journey in safety, and on arriving at his home in Ireland, he made an oak--timbered roof, brought it over to England, and, in fulfilment of his vow, built the chapel on the brow of Charlesworth hill. Popular traditions have substratum of truth in them, and it is possible that the old chapel may have been restored as a thank-offering by some traveller who had been providentially saved whilst crossing these moors.
The monks of Basingwerke retained possession of the land till the Reformation, and their memory is perpetuated in an old road over the hill, which is, to this day, known as Monk's Road.
In the early years of the reign of Henry VIII. a chantry was founded in the chapel of Charlesworth by William Wolley, of Riber. in the parish of Matlock, who left certain lands in Chesterfield, Newbold, Tapton, and Dronfield—which lands had been given to him by Ralph Heathcote, bell-founder, of Chesterfield—to provide a priest to say mass for his soul. This endowment escaped the lynx-eyed commissioners who drew up the chantry roll; but shortly afterwards, in the second year of Elizabeth, the land was taken from the chapel and conferred on Sir George Howard. The chapel also appears to have been transferred with the land to the Howards and as they remained firm in their attachment to the old faith it is probable that no effort was made either to preserve the fabric or to provide for the performance of the reformed service. The parliamentary commissioners of 1650, report of Charlesworth that it is fit to be disused and the place united to Glossop. from which it would seem that it was then occasionally used for service, which at that time was Presbyterian.
After the Restoration of the monarchy, the chapel was allowed to remain in the hands of the Presbyterians by the Howards, who themselves, under the severe penalties of a cruel and unjust law, could only hear mass by stealth, when some priest in disguise secretly visited their mansion. The Presbyterians subsequently became identified with the Independents, and at a later period they became known as Congregationalists. In 1797 the chapel was entirely rebuilt, and not a trace of the original edifice now remains. Several small endowments have been left to this chapel for the benefit of the dissenting minister, and, should there be no dissenting minister, the said endowments are to be applied to the poor or to educate children. In connection with the chapel is a school, with accommodation for 250, and an average attendance of 99.
The parish church, dedicated to St. John Baptist, was erected in 1849, at a cost of £2,700. It is a cruciform structure, comprising nave, chancel, north and south transepts, and tower, but possesses no architectural beauty. The living is a vicarage, worth £180 yearly with residence, in the gift of the Crown and the Bishop of Southwell alternately, and held by the Rev. G. W. Collins, M.A. A commodious National School, with master’s house, was erected in 1850, at an outlay of £530. There are 63 names on the books, and an average attendance of 44.
The Particular Baptists have a chapel, erected in 1835 at a cost of about £700. It will seat 300.
The village, which is of considerable extent and once had its market, is situated on the Marple road, two miles S.W. from Glossop and one mile from Mottram station, on the M., S. & L. railway. There are two extensive manufactories of rope, twine, and cotton banding. Hole House Mill is the property of James Rowbottom, and the same firm carry on cotton doubling at Chew Wood Mill, Chisworth, and cotton spinning at Hurst Mill, Glossop. Messrs. John Booth & Son employ a considerable number of hands in the manufacture of cotton bands, ropes, and twines.
About a mile N.W. from Charlesworth is the hamlet of Gamesley, comprising several farms extending to the borders of Cheshire. Here are the vestiges of a Roman camp, known as Melandra Castle, from which a Roman road led over the moors to the station at Brough.
Ludworth and Chisworth forms a joint township containing about 2,550 acres of land, belonging chiefly to Lord Howard of Glossop. Under the Parish and District Councils Act, Ludworth and Chisworth form a parish divided into two wards—Ludworth and Chisworth—each co-extensive with its own highway district. The former ward returns three guardians and three rural district councillors, and the latter one guardian and one rural district councillor. There are eight parish councillors.
Marple Bridge is a thriving village on the banks of the river Goyte, which here divides Derbyshire from Cheshire. The scenery in the district is very attractive, and the village is much frequented by pleasure seekers, The Congregational Church is a handsome structure in the Perpendicular Gothic style, built in 1887, at a cost of about £3,000. The old chapel, built in 1787, is now used as a Sunday school and for technical educational purposes, and is known as the Congregational Hall. The first chapel was erected shortly after the passing of the Act of Uniformity in 1662, through the labours of the Rev. Win. Bagshaw, the Apostle of the Peak, one of the 2,000 ministers ejected from the Church of England. The Catholic Church, dedicated to St. Mary, was erected by Lord Howard, in 1859. It possesses few architectural pretentions, but the interior decorations are handsome. A lofty Gothic arch separates the chancel from the nave, and on either side is a smaller arch leading to a side chapel. These arches spring from clustered granite columns, and spanning the central one is an alabaster screen elaborately sculptured. The decorated walls and roof of the chancel are rich in gold and colour. On the north wall is represented the Ascension, and on the opposite side the Annunciation. Behind the altar is an oil painting of considerable merit, representing Christ restoring sight to the blind man. The windows are filled with stained glass, exhibiting full length figures of various saints ; and handsome statues of Our Lord and the Blessed Virgin Mary stand on pedestals on either side of the sanctuary. The decorations cost £1,400. In connection with the church is a day school, attended by about 50 children. The Primitive Methodists have a chapel on Compstall-road, rebuilt in 1893, at a cost of £1,800. It is a handsome building of stone, with a Sunday school on the ground floor. Attached is a burial ground.
Lane Ends, Holly Bank, Limefield, and Mill Brow are small villages in Ludworth.
Chisworth is a scattered village and hamlet, four miles S.W. from Glossop. A Wesleyan Chapel was erected here in 1891, at a cost of £1,000. It is a handsome edifice in the pure Gothic style; the interior is bright and cheerful, and elegantly furnished throughout in pitch pine. There are several stained-glass windows on each side, which admit a flood of tinted light. Attached is a small graveyard, in which lie the remains of James Coope, one of the founders of the society.
Compstall Road is a considerable village on the Derbyshire side of the river Etherow, which is here crossed by a bridge, on the other side of which is Compstall in Cheshire.

CHARLESWORTH.
Post Office; Miss Hague, sub-postmistress. Postal orders are issued, but not cashed. Letters via Manchester. Nearest telegraph office, Broadbottom, two miles. Delivery 7-30 a.m. ; despatch 8-10 a.m. and 6-15 p.m.
Parish Councillors—William Drinkwater, Rev. J. H. Partridge, John Thomas Woolliscroft, P. B. Brown, William Tinker, Caleb Cooper, Josiah Wilson, Crossland Smith.
Guardians—Ward No. 1, William Drinkwater and Caleb Cooper; Ward No. 2, Saml. Hill Wood. Surveyor of Highways—George Cooper.
Home of Rest, Gamesley House (Salvation Army) ; Mrs. A. Howick, matron.
Barnes Robert, gamekeeper, Mote hall
Collins Rev. George, M.A., Vicarage
Cooper Edwin, insurance agent (Refuge)
Hague Charles, auctioneer and valuer
Higginbottom William, quarry owner, Hargate hill
Llewellyn W. Sumner, master, National School
Neal Edward, fruiterer
Partridge Rev. Joseph H. (Congregationalist)
Phillips James, fishmonger
Rowbottom Mr. Benjamin
Rowbottom Mr. George
Rowbottom James, Esq., Beech house
Rowbottom Mr. James Henry
Rowbottom Mr. Joseph
Rowbottom William Thomas
Shaw John, tailor
Shaw Thos. R., master, Congregational School
Sykes Thos. B., slater & plasterer, Gamesley
Turner James, greengrocer & farmer, Gamesley
Wood Joel, Belmont cottage
Yates & Kay, calico printers
Blacksmiths.
Wood Ralph & Samuel
Boot and Shoe Makers.
Cooper George (and farmer and highway surveyor)
Garside William
Willis Charles (dealer); and at Hadfield.
Butchers.
Booth John (and farmer)
Hurst George
Marsland Wm. Rose, Lee cot
Cotton Banding Manfrs.
Booth & Son
Rowbottom James (and rope and twine manufacturer), Hole House mill
Cotton Spinner.
Ratcliffe —. Kinder Lee mills
Draper.
Hague Charles (and grocer)
Farmers.
Ashton Solomon, Warhurst fold
Ball William, Highgate hill
Booth Samuel, Springfield hs
Booth Saml., Lower Gamesley
Broughton Emanuel
Clayton Mrs. Alice
Drinkwater William
Hall Elijah
Harrison James, Gamesley
Harrison John, Gamesley
Harrison John, Coombs farm,
Harrison Wm., Hargate Hill
Higginbottom Wright
Holroyd Timothy, Gamesley
Longson John
Marsden Moses, Gamesley
Redford Samuel, Hargate Hill
Rowbottom J. (& coach propr.)
Samesbridge —. Moorhead fm
Smith Crossland
Thornley Andrew (and carrier), Gamesley
Thornley John
Walker Abraham
Wild William
Grocers.
Chisworth and Charlesworth Co-op. stores ; Christopher Stafford, manager
Cooper Moses (and farmer)
Fielding Joseph (wholesale and retail); and corn merchant
Garlick John, Gamesley
Hague Charles (and draper)
Moss Robert
Thornley Mrs. Alice
Joiners.
Jackson John
Taylor William
Thornley Jas. (& wheelwright)
Hotels. Inns. &c.
Bull's Head; Walt. Wharram
George and Dragon; J. Hallas
Gray Mare; Thos. Davenport
Horse Shoe; John McKinlay
Magnet, Gamesley ; James Hinchcliffe
Waggon and Horses; Mrs. Ann Garlick
Rope and Twine Manfrs.
Booth George & Son
Booth & Son, Leevale Rope wks
Ratcliffe —, Kinder Lee mills
Rowbottom James (and cotton band mfr.), Hole House mill
Shopkeepers.
Boothby Wm. (hardware)
Dakin Reuben
Wheelwrights.
Wild William (and farmer)
Wood Ralph & Samuel

LUDWORTH AND CHISWORTH.
Parish Councillors—George Rowbottom, Dr. Joseph Arthur Jenkinson, Ralph Rupert Wood, William Thomas Rowbottom, James Sherwin, Samuel Hilton, Mary Robinson Humphreys, and Joseph Ellis Steward.
Rural District Councillors—Ludworth Ward, Ralph Rupert Wood, Joel Wainwright, and James Platt; Chisworth Ward, George Rowbottom.

COMPSTALL.
Postal Address—Compstall, Marple Bridge, Stockport. Nearest G.P.O., Marple Bridge.
Artingstall John, vict., Compstall Gardens Hotel
Bann Samuel, grocer, Rose brow
Boote Chas., beer retlr., Northumberland Arms
Hadfield James, grocer
Hinchliffe Francis, farmer
Marsland Henry, coal merchant, Lorne ter
McLean John, manager, Rose bank
Moyst Henry, beer retailer, Cotton Tree
Mycock William, vict., George Hotel
Ogden Frank, vict., Windsor Castle Hotel; dinners, teas, wedding and picnic parties, cyclists, &c., catered for on the shortest notice
Pickford Mr. Joseph, Sunny bank
Potts Miss Emily, dressmaker, Rose brow
Rowbotham Mr. John, Rose hill
Smith Joseph, painter
Smith Thomas, grocer and general dealer
Stewart Mr. William
Wild John, confectioner, Rose brow
Wilshaw John, beer retailer, Rose and Anchor
Woolley Miss Mary Alice, shopkeeper, Rose brow

LUDWORTH.
Postal Address—Ludworth, Marple Bridge, Stockport.
Wall Letter Box at Mill Brow, cleared at 6-45 p.m. on week days, and at 10-20 a.m. on Sundays. Nearest G.P.O., Marple Bridge.
Anderson Robt., fire insurance office surveyor, Thorn bank, Lane Ends
Ardern James, manager, Newport villas
Beard Samuel, vict., Hare & Hounds, Mill Brow
Bennett G., beer retlr., Druids’ Arms, Mill Brow
Booth William, secretary, Rose villa
Brewer Daniel T., bank cashier, Lane Ends
Bromley Samuel, cashier, Fern bank
Brown Walter George, solicitor, Bleak house
Dawson Mr. John, Ivy cottage
Fernley Mr. George, Lane Ends
Fernley James Thomas, joiner, Lane Ends
Garnett Richard John, glass mrcht., Hempfield
Green Miss Alice, schoolmistress, Winchfield, Cote Green
Hague Thos., beer & wine retailer, Travellers’ Call, Lane Ends
Hibbert Thomas, clerk, Shady Oak view
Hilton Samuel, cotton merchant, Heath bank
Hinchliffe Mr. George, The Limes
Howell Lawrence, beer retailer & grocer, Lane Ends Inn
Humphreys David Maxwell, Cote Green
Johnson Frank, manager, Holly Bank
Johnson Miss Harriet, shopkeeper, Limefield
Leeming Mr. Henry, Lane Ends
Oppenheimer Lehman James, mosaic designer
Parkin William, buyer, Lane Ends
Ratcliffe John G., candle wick mnfr., Holly Bank, and Holly Vale, Mellor
Rose John, bank cashier, The Limes
Rowarth Joel, blacksmith, Rose villa
Royle Roger, commercial traveller, Moss bank
Sewell Frank Richmond, Hillside
Shepherd Henry, evangelist, Shady Oak view
Sherwin Thomas, manager, Linden villa
Thompson John C., manager, Newport villas
Thornley Mr. Robert, Lane Ends
Wainwright Joel, Esq., J.P., acctnt., Finchwood
Woodhouse Percy, merchant, Longmead
Farmers.
Alderson Thomas, Lane Ends
Allsopp William, Cowhay
Dawson Peter Robert, Mill Brow farm
Goodwin William, White Bottom
Hall John, Wood Heys farm
Hambleton William, Hollins farm
Hammersley Dawson, Hnnh. & Saml., Benches
Harrison John, Sandhill
Higginbotham Jesse (& asst, ovrsr.), Lane Ends
Higginbotham Wright, Lane Ends
Hinchliffe Mrs. Hannah, Ludworth House
Jackson Joseph, Stirrup farm
Longson Robert, Stirrup farm
Potts Mrs. Harriet, Cote Green farm
Salt John, Stirrup farm
Wood George, Ernicroft
Wood Samuel, Broadstone
Wood Mrs. Sarah, Mill Brow top
Wood William, Broadstone
Wormald John, Cowhay

MARPLE BRIDGE.
General Post Office, Marple Bridge. Letters, via Stockport, arrive at 5-30 a.m., 10-10 a.m., and 3-15 p.m. on week-days, and at 5-30 a.m. on Sundays. Despatch at 9-45 a.m. and 8-20 p.m. on weekdays, and at 7-45 p.m. on Sundays. Mrs. Margaret Staveley Smith, postmistress.
Wall Letter Box, Windsor Castle Hotel, cleared at 8-45 a.m. and 7-45 p.m. on week-days, and at 11-10 a.m. on Sundays.
Ardern James Samuel, farmer, Pear Tree farm
Baron Charles, vict., Norfolk Arms
Beard Samuel, vict., Hare and Hounds
Birch Mr. Herbert, Manse house
Body Miss Minnie, mistress, Catholic school
Bowden Samuel, basket maker
Bowden Samuel, farmer & coal mercht., Heys farm
Bradbury Jph., butcher; h Moor End, Mellor
Buck William, iron, copper, zinc, and tinplate worker, &c.
Close Mrs. Mary Elizabeth, fishmonger
Co-operative Industrial Society, Ltd., general mrchts., Compstall rd ; Walt. Graham, mngr.
Duxbury Roger, refrshmnt. rooms, Compstall rd
Eaves Peter, refrshmnt. rooms, Holly Tree cot
Flowerdew Charles, corn dealer, Victoria place
Gee Robert, sergeant, Police station
Glossop Mr. Joseph, Wood Eaves
Greenwood Richard, farmer, Lower fold
Hagarty James, merchant tailor, Glenholme
Harrison Benjamin, farmer, Arnocroft farm
Hartle William, farmer, Smithy lane
Hibbert Mrs. Mary Ann, grocer
Hibbert Thomas Emanuel, joiner and builder
Hill Mr., Arnicroft hall
Hinchliffe Wm., tailor & grocer, Compstall rd
Holmes Mrs. Emma, Ludworth house
Hudson John, farmer, Brookbottom
Humphreys Mr. James Colley, Sunny bank
Hyde Miss Elizabeth, dressmaker
Hyde Frederick, baker, Lower fold
Hyde Samuel, wadding mnfctr., Victoria place
Ingham Charles (Exors.), general smiths
Ingham Mrs. Harriet
Ingleby Joseph, Esq., C.E., Ingleside
Jenkinson Joseph Arthur, L.S.A., medical practitioner, Flower villas, Compstall road
Kirby Miss Florence, milliner & fancy draper
Kirkham Lewis, commercial trvllr., Glenholme
Lenthall Mr. George, The Oakes
Lodge Percy D., architect, Mayfield
Lomas Robert, butcher ; h Marple
Longley Mrs. Mary, drugs, patent medicine, &c., dealer
Lydiate G., refreshment rooms
Mayall Mrs. Elizabeth, vict., Railway Inn
McLean Mr. Andrew, Oak bank
McSweeney Rev. C. (Catholic), Presbytery
Nall Mr. John, Goyt bank
Platt James, corn dealer, Lower fold
Shirt Robert, builder
Simpkin Wm. Jas., overlooker, Compstall road
Smith Mrs. Margt. Staveley, stationer, tobacco and fancy goods dealer
Stein Ernest, buyer, Woodville
Stroyan Rev. A. (Congrlst., retired), Oakburne
Taylor Frank Hugh, bank cashier, Woodville
Toothill Rev. Alf. (Congregational), The Manse
Walker Mrs. Elizabeth, confectioner
Walton Matt. John, bootmaker, and at Marple
Webb Mrs. Mary, baker
Wilkinson Joseph, vict., Horse Shoe Inn
Wood Ralph, vict., Rock Tavern
Wood Mr. Ralph Rupert, The Poplars
Wood Samuel, farmer, Arnocroft farm

CHISWORTH.
Bagshaw Mrs. Phoebe, mistress Wesleyan school
Bradley Henry, shopkeeper, Fattinghey
Brown James, bleacher
Chisworth Industrial Co-operative Society, grocers. &c. ; Thomas Hallas, manager
Clayton Abel (Exors. of), colliery owners
Clayton Mrs. Sarah, Alma house
Crawshaw John, shopkeeper
Hallas Geo., vict., Commercial Inn, Fattinghey
Higginbottom Jesse
Ratcliffe Mrs. Charlotte. Rarewood
Ratcliffe J. H. (Exors. of), cotton spinners and doublers
Robinson Joseph. mill manager. Coombs lane
Rowbottom James, cotton doubler, Chew Wood mill
Varley Mrs Selina, shopkeeper
Farmers.
Ashton Mrs. Hannah, Sandy lane
Beard Joel, Sandy lane
Bradbury Mrs.
Clayton James
Cooper Caleb, Hill Top
Cooper, Mrs. Sarah Ann, Hill Top
Goodwin Samuel, Coombs
Mycock William, Woodseats
Rowbottom Jesse, Moorside
Salt Charles, Sandy lane
Salt James, Boarfold
Salt John
Sidebottom Mrs. Ann, Sandy lane
Thornley James
Thornley John

HAYFIELD.
This is an extensive township and chapelry in the wide-spreading parish of Glossop, containing 7,919 acres of land, and 2,856 inhabitants. Its rateable value is £13,692. For all civil purposes it forms a district parish, and is the head of a poor law union. The Duke of Devonshire is lord of the manor, and Francis John Sumner, Esq., Leamington Spa, Warwickshire, is the principal landowner. There are many small freeholders. Under the new Local Government Act eight parish councillors have been assigned to Hayfield, and five district councillors.
The district is of a wild alpine character; moorland eminences, scantily covered with vegetation, and hills of considerable altitude are plentifully scattered about. On the eastern border rises Kinder Scout, the culminating point of the Peak range. Its summit is occupied by a flat, boggy tableland, only a trifle short of 2,000 feet above the sea level. The sides of the hill are deeply furrowed by numerous romantic ravines, locally called cloughs, through which streams flow, forming picturesque waterfalls. “A great part of Kinder Scout and the adjoining moors,” says the Guide, “were, until lately, what is known as the ‘King’s Land,’ over which the public might ramble at their pleasure; but about the year 1830, the whole of these lands were surveyed, and allotted to the various owners of contiguous lands according to the size of their holdings.” Access to the hill is now prohibited, though it was formerly open to the public.
The romantic village of Hayfield is prettily seated on the north bank of the Sett, 4½ miles N. from Chapel-en-le-Frith, 11 miles from Stockport, and is the terminus of a branch of the Midland railway.
The church, dedicated to St. Matthew, consists of chancel, nave, with side aisles, and tower at the west end, containing a peal of six bells. Above a low doorway, on the north side, is preserved the date of the original erection “1386.” The chapel having become very ruinous, the inhabitants, in 1814, obtained a Brief for its restoration, and with the funds thus obtained, supplemented by the contributions of the parishioners, the chapel was rebuilt on the foundations of the old one, at a cost of £2,000. The building was completed in 1818. The new floor was raised several feet, and the pillars of the side aisles were shortened to about six feet to act as props for the timbers that support it. The church is in the Gothic style, but display's the absence of taste that characterizes the buildings of the early part of this century. The tower was rebuilt a few years previously in 1793, and contains a peal of six bells. In 1894 it was raised about 11 feet to receive a clock with four dials. The interior of the church is galleried round. The aisles are lighted by stained glass windows, and there is a very handsome one of three lights in the chancel. The brass lectern is of a very elaborate and beautiful design.
The interior was thoroughly cleaned and beautified in 1892, and the communion table enlarged and furnished with a handsome altar cloth, altar cross, and flower vases, at an expense of £200. At the east end of the south aisle is a handsome mural monument, inscribed:—“Sacred to the Memory of Joseph Hague, Esq., whose virtues as a man were as distinguished as his character as a merchant. Favour’d with the blessings of Providence, he enjoy’d the fruits of his industry at an early period, and by the most indefatigable pursuits and extensive connections in trade acquired an immense fortune, which he distributed amongst his relatives with such liberality as to give affluence to all in his own lifetime. He was born at Chunall, in this parish, in the year 1695, and in 1717 settled in London, where he married Jane, the only daughter of Edmund Blagge, of Macclesfield, in Cheshire, by whom he had 10 sons and 2 daughters, who all died in their minority. He built and endowed the Charity School at Whitfield, in the year 1778, and died at Park Hall, in this parish, on the 12th day of March, 1786, aged 90 years, leaving the annual interest on £1,000 to be be laid out in clothing 12 poor men and 12 poor women out of the eight townships of Glossop Dale for ever; besides other charities bequeathed to Glossop and the chapelry of Heafield.” Surmounting the monument is an admirable bust of Joseph Hague, executed by the eminent sculptor, John Bacon. The worthy merchant was buried in Glossop church, and there this monument was originally erected ; but when the chancel was rebuilt by the Duke of Norfolk the Hague memorial was placed for safety in one of the cells of the Lock-up, where it was allowed to remain neglected after the completion of the work. One night a drunken man, confined in the adjoining cell, broke through the partition wall and mutilated the tablet, but the bust, which was carefully packed in straw, fortunately escaped without injury. When this piece of vandalism reached the ears of Captain White, of Park Hall, who had inherited a considerable share of the Hague property, he took possession of the monument, and caused it to be erected in Hayfield Chapel, where it is the principal object of attraction. There are a few other memorials of departed worth.
The living is a perpetual curacy worth £180, in the gift of the resident freeholders, and held by the Rev. R. R. Ricketts since 1877. John Hyde, by will dated 8th September, 1604, gave certain premises to the Merchant Taylors’ Company, London, upon trust, amongst other things, to pay £10 yearly to the minister of the Gospel at Hayfield, in Derbyshire, “ keeping a Grammar School within the chapel.” The parsonage was erected in 1869 at a cost of £1,200, raised partly by public subscription.
The National School was built in 1830, at a cost of £461, raised by subscription. An infants’ room and other additions were made in 1879, at an expense of £500. There is a total accommodation for 229, and there are 200 names on the books. The school possesses an endowment of £26 per annum.
The Wesleyan Chapel is a substantial stone edifice, erected in 1782, and opened by John Wesley. It was re-roofed in 1839, and enlarged in 1868. A gallery is carried round three sides, increasing the accommodation to 350. The style is quasi-Norman. In the centre is a bell turret surmounted by a ball. Adjoining the chapel is the Day School, built in 1884, at a cost of about £1,000. There are two large rooms for seniors and infants, and two class-rooms, having a total accommodation for 300. The average attendance for the past year was 64.
The Free Church Methodist Bethel was rebuilt in 1866, on the site of a former chapel, at an expense of upwards of £1,000. There are two storeys—chapel above and school below—with sitting accommodation for 400. The interior is neatly furnished in pitchpine. An organ was added in 1874 at a cost of £200.
The Primitive Methodist Chapel is a good stone building flanked by buttresses, erected in 1867 at a cost of about £500, including the adjoining class-room. There is accommodation for about 400.
A School Board was formed in 1881, but was practically a school attendance committee till 1888, when they erected a Board School, at a cost of £1,300. There are two departments, with accommodation for 183.
There is nothing attractive in the appearance of the little town. The houses are all built of stone, with no pretensions whatever to architectural display; the streets are narrow, and not too well paved. The manufacture of cotton and wool was introduced at an early period. Formerly a good deal of twine was made at Hayfield ; and the late Wright Turner, Esq., an influential Manchester merchant and twice mayor of Salford (1864-5 and 1865-6), began his career here in the making of twine. There is abundance of coal, and also a copious supply of excellent water, which afford great facilities for manufacturing purposes. A cotton mill has been carried on at Little Hayfield, a small village three-quarters of a mile distant, for upward of a century. There are the two extensive paper mills of John Slack, and three printworks, employing a considerable number of hands. Stone is abundant, and extensively quarried at Birches Quarry, Hadfield Bank, and Watery Hey.
The Liberals and Conservatives have each a club in the village, with comfortably fitted-up reading and billiard rooms. In the Antiquarian Tea Rooms the visitor will see many curious articles and relics of antiquity. Fairs for sheep and cattle are held on the 12th of May and the 10th of October, and Shepherds’ Meetings, on the 12th of July and 7th of November, at the Pack Horse. The Feast is held the first Sunday on or after September 19th.
Hayfield Poor Law Union comprises the townships of Hayfield, New Mills, Mellor, and Disley, containing 17,085 acres and 12,873 inhabitants. The Workhouse, situated at Low Leighton, was erected in 1841, at a cost of £2,700, to accommodate 87 inmates.
Little Hayfield is a small village about three-quarters of a mile north. The Primitive Methodists have a chapel here, built in 1851, at a cost of about £200. Clough Mill, the property of Edward Platt & Son, cotton manufacturers, Hadfield, has been in operation about a century. There are 18,000 spindles, and about 300 hands are employed.
At Birch Vale, one mile west of Hayfield, are the extensive calico printing works of Messrs. John Bennett & Sons, erected in 1851, which give employment to about 500 men, women, and children. The business of bleaching and sizing cotton yarns is carried on in a portion of the works by C. E. Bennett & Co., who employ about 80 hands. Here, at Birch View, is a chapel belonging to the Free Church Methodists, built in 1873 at a cost of £750.
Park Hall is a large mansion pleasantly embosomed amongst a dense mass of wood, about one mile north of Hayfield. It was the property and residence of Joseph Hague, Esq., in the later years of his life, from whom it descended to the late Captain White. It was purchased by the late Francis James Sumner, Esq., of Glossop, and now belongs to Francis John Sumner, Esq., of Leamington.
The township of Hayfield consists of three hamlets, viz. :—Great Hamlet, which includes a large portion of the village of Hayfield ; Phoside or Foreside Hamlet occupies the southern portion of the township, and Kinder Hamlet the eastern side.
General Post Office, Market street, Hayfield. Letters, via Stockport, arrive at 6-25 a.m. and 3-30 p.m. on week-days, and at 6-25 a.m. on Sundays, and are despatched at S-20 a.m. and 3-30 p.m. on week-days, and at 7-25 p.m. on Sundays. John Pursglove, sub-postmaster. Wall Letter Box, Little Hayfield, cleared at 7-0 p.m. on week-days.
General Post Office, Birch Yale. Letters, via Stockport, arrive at 10-6 a.m. and 3-9 p.m. on week-days, and at 10-6 a.m. on Sundays, and are despatched at 8-15 a.m., 3-40 p.m., and 7-40 p.m. on week-days, and at 7-30 p.m. on Sundays. Arthur Hirst, sub-postmaster.
Board of Guardians and Rural District Council.
The Guardians meet every alternate Monday, at 2-0 p.m., in the Board Room, at the Workhouse.
Chairman—John Thomas Gee
Clerk—H. Barber, New Mills
Medical Officer—J. E. Anderton, New Mills
Medical Officer for Rural Sanitary District—C. J. Bennet, Buxton
Relieving Officer—Thomas Mower, Newtown, New Mills
Assistant Overseer—John F. Gee
Workhouse Master—John Livesley
Superintendent Registrar—H. Barber, New Mills
Registrar—George Walker, P.O., New Mills
Valuer—Joseph Hudson, Birch Vale
Parish Councillors—Chris. Slack (chairman), Dr. Frederick Ashurst, John Barber, Joseph Turner, G. Pollard, T. Frith, A. W. Wimpenny, Rev. R. R. Ricketts, George William Eyre
Clerk—John Fox Gee
Rural District Councillors—J. G. Gee (chairman), John Barber, Joseph Turner, A. W. Wimpenny, Rev. R. R. Ricketts
Clerk—H. Barber
Political Clubs.
Hayfield Conservative Club, Ltd., Station road; Frederick Tinker Woolley, secretary; Mark Marsland, steward
Hayfield Liberal Club, Station road; Joseph Bowden, sec.; A. B. Wimpenny, Oak villa, president; Geo. W. Erye, Fairy bank, chairman
School Board.
Meetings in the Board School, second Tuesday in each month.
Chairman—Rev. Ricketts Raymond Ricketts, M.A., vicar
Clerk—John Fox Gee, assistant overseer
Attendance Officer—Joseph Bennett Downs, parish clerk

Askham John, stone merchant, Fairy bank
Ashurst Fredk., M.B., M.Ch., surgeon, Chapel st
Ashton Frank W., print mnfr., Hyde Park hall
Beard Richard, butcher, Birch Vale
Beardwood Thomas, master, Hayfield National school; h Park view
Bennett C. E. & Co., bleachers, and sizers of cotton yarns, Birch Vale ; and cotton yarn spinners and doublers, Union Street mills, Ancoats, Manchester
Bennett James, butcher, Church street
Bennett James, North view, Birch Vale
Bennett Jas. Edward, joiner & undertaker, Market street ; h Mount view
Bennett James Thos., stone merchant, North view, Birch Vale
Bennett Mr. John, Mount villas, Birch Vale
Bennett John & Co. (Robt. Bennett), Pigment Colour Works, Primrose Vale
Bennett John & Sons, calico printers, Birch Vale, and 9a S. Peter’s square, Manchester
Bennett Jph., mang. direc. & sec. of the Mersett Colliery Co., Ltd.. Westwood, Birch Vale
Bennett Thos., Esq., J.P. (John B. & Sons), Birch Vale house
Bennett Thomas, blacksmith, Market street
Bennett William, High street
Booth Joseph, clogger, Market street
Bowden Mr. Eli, Hayfield rd, Higher Diglands
Bowden Samuel, cashier, Cliff view, Birch Vale
Bowmer Joseph W., hairdresser, Church street
Bradbury Joseph, butcher, Church street
Bradbury Mrs. Mary, greengrocer, Church st
Bradbury Thomas, general dealer, Jumble lane
Brocklehurst W., chemist & grocer, Market st
Cappers (Edwin Shaw & John Thomas Parrott, proprietors), grocers, provision dlrs. and corn merchants, Church street
Carlisle Miss Mary Louisa, lady superintendent, Convalescent and Hol. Home
Chandley S., jockey, Wragg Hollin, Birch Villa
Chatterton John Thos., draper and boot dealer, High street
Dearden Robert, bleacher, Church street
Downes .Joseph Bennett, parish clerk, school attendance officer, High street
Eversden John Wm., corn merchant, Market street ; h Glossop
Frith Thomas, schoolmaster, Thornsett ; h Birch Vale
Garside Luke, bookseller, newsagent, and seedsman, Church street
Gee John Fox, assistant overseer, school board clerk, nuisance inspector, assessor and collector of Queen’s taxes, and estate agent, Spring view terrace
Gee John T., auctnr. & valuer, The Ashes, Kinder
Gee Joseph, confectioner, Market street
Gee Joseph, joiner & undertaker, Fisher’s lane ; confectioner & refreshment rooms, Church st Giveen George Martin, L.R.C.P. & S., L.M. (Ed.), physician and surgeon, Wesley house
Goddard Mrs. Hannah, grocer, Church street
Goddard Mr. John, Spring view terrace
Gould Thomas, 5 Didsbury terrace
Gould William Thomas, Rose bank
Greenwood Thomas Albert, butcher, Church st
Guthrie William Fredk., analytical chemist, Mount villas, Birch Vale
Hadfield Benj., slater and plasterer, Nut farm
Hadfield James, bootmaker, Church street
Hall Joe, manager, South view
Hall Charles, greengrocer, Birch Vale
Hall Miss Lucy Jane, Morland house
Hall Squire, stone merchant, Rood Nook
Hampson John, wheelwright, Church street
Hampson John Mellor, coal merchant, Birch Vale
Hawley John, C.E., Higher Cliff hs, Birch Vale
Hayfield Coal Co. (John Brocklehurst), coal merchants, Market street
Hayfield Equitable and Industrial Society, Ltd., general dealers, Chapel-en-le-Frith rd; Rt. Barber, mngr.; Arthur Warrington, sec.
Hayfield Gaslight and Waterworks Co., Ltd., Ridge Top lane ; John Brocklehurst, sec.
Hayfield Printing Co., Ltd., calico printers ; A. B. Wimpenny, managing director
Higginbottom Daniel, slater, plasterer, and sexton, Fox hall
Hobson Frank & James, manufacturing confectioners, Birch Vale
Holland Alex., printworks manager, Nether Hey, Birch Vale
Holt Thos., tailor and shopkpr, 16 Gladstone ter
Horrox Thos., manager at Slack’s paper mill
Howard Samuel, coal merchant, Church street
Hudson John, cattle dealer, Church street
Hudson John, confectioner, Market street
Hudson Joseph, builders’ merchant and mill furnisher, Birch Vale
Hudson J. G., saddler, Market st and Hadfield
Jackson John James, C.E. (Bennett & Co.’s manager), Nether Hey, Birch Vale
Kinder Print Works Co., Ltd., reg. office 74a Moseley st, Manchester ; Arch. C. Wilson, sec
Lawton Aaron, marine store dealer and horse slaughterer, Birch hall, Birch Vale
Livesley Alfd. (Alfd. L. & Son) ; h New Mills
Livesley Alfred & Son, chemists, and at New Mills and Whaley Bridge
Livesley Thos. Hy. (Alfd. L. & Son); h New Mills
Lowe Alfred, master Hayfield Wesleyan day school ; h Kinder bank
Lowe John, coal merchant, Birch Vale station yard ; h Thornsett
Lowe William, grocer, High street
Lowerson George, master Hayfield British school; h Birch Vale
Lythgow John, cashier, Steeple End lane
Manchester & County Bank, Ltd., Church st
Marriott George, cashier, Spring bank
Marshall Misses, dressmakers, Chapel street
Mason Edwin, ironmonger, Church street
Mason Thomas, stone mrchnt., Chinley Moor
McGregor Mrs. Mary, Fishers lane
Mellor Thomas, joiner, North view, Birch Vale
Moseley John Edwd., bootmaker, Church street
Mosscrop Salathiel & Alvah, drprs., &c., Church st
News Mills Coal Co. (Jonathan Hyde), coal merchants, Birch Vale Station yard
Nuttall John, designer, Birch Vale
Ollerenshaw Jph., joiner, whlwright., & smith, Market street, and grocer, Toll Bar
Pilkington Frank, mill manager
Platt Edward & Son, cotton manufacturers, Clough mill, and at Hadfield
Porritt Ralph, grocer, Market street
Porritt Wm., draper, grocer, joiner, whlwright., and vehicle owner, Market street
Procter Wm., station mstr. & goods agt., H.R.S.
Pursglove Benjamin, greengrocer, Jumble lane
Pursglove John, draper, P.O., Market street
Ramwell Sml. Grimshaw, bootmkr., Birch Vale
Randles William Bates, grocer, Birch Vale
Rangeley Ernest, bootmaker, Church street
Rangeley Miss Mary A., lodgings, Fishers lane
Redfern Mrs. Margt., antiquarian tea rooms
Ricketts Rev. Ricketts R., M.A.., The Vicarage
Riley Jas., station mstr. & goods agt., Birch Vale
Rowbottom John Chas., mon. mason, Park view
Sandiford Joseph, apartments, Grotto house
Schofield Bold, plmbr. & tinplate wrkr.; h High st
Shepley James, painter, &c., & vehicle owner, Bridge End house
Simpson Mrs. Elizabeth, general dir., Church st
Slack Albert, paper manufacturer, Oaklands
Slack John, paper manufctr., Bank Vale mills
Smith Thomas, grocer and draper, High street
Stanley John, greengrocer, Church street
Swann Joseph, ironmonger, Church street
Swindells Hy., bootmaker & clogger, Market st
Taylor Mrs. M., caterer & shpkpr., Birch Vale
Torkington John, jun., pork butcher, Church st
Torkington John, sen., draper, Church street
Turner Mr. Edmund, High street
Turner Miss E., fish and fruit dealer, Market st
Turner Mrs. Martha, Birch Vale
Wade William, gardener, Kinder
Walton Joseph, coal merchant, The Mount
Walton Josiah, grocer, Didsbury terrace
Warrington Levi, mason, Market street
Waterhouse John, butcher, Church street
Waterhouse Wm., tailor and draper, Market st
Watts James, merchant, Farlands
Wild James, grocer, Little Hayfield
Williams Hubert, private tutor, Birch Vale
Wimpenny Abel Buckley, Oak villa
Woolley Fredk. Tinker, accountant, South view
Wood Mrs. A., newsagt. & tobccnst., Market st
Farmers.
Barber John, New house
Barnes Joseph, Lower house
Barnes Mrs. S., Kinder head
Bennett Mrs. Hannah Maria (owner), Tunstead Clough
Bowden Joe, Long Lee
Bowden Tom (& estate agent)
Bowker William
Bradbury Edmund (yeoman), Cold Well Clough
Bradbury Samuel
Bradbury Thomas
Brocklehurst Eli, Ridge Top
Brocklehurst Squire, Lt. Ridge
Chambers John, Birch Vale
Cooper John, Highgate
Elliott Elias, Knarrs
Etchells Israel Smith
Ford Elijah, Hills House farm, Chinley
Ford James, Far Phoside
Garratt James, Black Shaw
Gee John Thomas, Kinder
Green Jas. Hy., Stubbs farm
Hadfield Benjamin, Nut farm
Hadfield Eli, Near Phoside
Hadfield Randal (and grocer), Brown Hill
Hadfield Thomas, Highgate
Hallam Edgar Montague
Hersum David, Brookhouses
Hibbert George Henry, Birch Vale
Hibbert Thomas, Brook house
Higginbottom Rowland, Ridge Top
Hurst James, Black Shaw
Johnson Mrs. Sarah
Marriott Francis, Little Hayfield
Marriott Saml, (yeo.), Hill hs
Marriott Samuel, Upper house and Hollin head
Marsland John, Shudehill
Morton John Henry, Heys
Needham John William
Porritt John, Ridge Top
Porritt Robert, South Head
Rose John, Shudehill
Sandiford Wm., Carr Meadow
Taylor Benj., Hegginbottom
Torkington John, sen., Church street
Turner John Wm., Ridge Top
Wardle James, Birch Vale
Waterhouse Charles, Matley Moor and Sopy Barn
Waterhouse Isaac, Lane Head
Waterhouse John, Ridge Top lane
Wild John, Birch Vale
Wood Sami., Rood Nook
Hotels, Inns, & Taverns.
Marked * are beerhouses.
* Birch Hall, Birch Vale ; Jph. Lawton
* Bridge, The Bridge ; Isaac Booth
Bull's Head, Church street; William Brittain Brown
* Commercial, Chapel street; Mrs. Jane Handford
George, Church street ; Mrs. Emiline Bamber
Grapes, Little Hayfield; Edwd. Joyce
Grouse, Birch Vale; James Clayton
* Junction, Church street; Geo. Harding
New, Little Hayfield; Isaac Hudson
Pack Horse, Market street; John Bevan Fielden
* Railway, Fisher’s lane ; Jph. Braddock
* Railway, Church street ; Thomas Goodwin
Royal, Old Parsonage house; Henry Cottam
Sportsman, Kinder; Fred. Wild
* Toll Bar, Toll Bar; Jph. Digby
Wood, New Mills road; John Renshaw

CHINLEY, BUGSWORTH, AND BROWNSIDE
Form a joint township in the ecclesiastical parish of Glossop, and Chapel-en-le-Frith Union. Under the Local Government Act of 1894 they constituted a civil parish, with a council of seven members, for the management of parochial affairs. The total area is 3,835 acres, rateable value £9,911, and the population in 1891 was 1,542. The land belongs to several proprietors, the following being the largest owners:—Rev. F. Gawthorn, Joseph C. Braddock, John Braddock, Joseph Broadhurst, Christopher Slack, Mrs. Goodman, Mrs. Hadfield, W. H. G. Bagshawe, J.P., John Hadfield, John Drinkwater, and William Hadfield.
The surface is roughly broken into bold eminences, the highest of which— Chinley Churn—attains an elevation of 1,493 feet above the sea-level. Crowning the summit are the remains of a Roman camp, from which a magnificent view of the surrounding country is obtained.
Chinley is a village and extra parochial liberty, situated about 2½ miles N. by W. from Chapel-en-le-Frith, and near the station of its own name, on the Manchester branch of the Midland railway The village is small, and possesses nothing of interest except the old Nonconformist Chapel built in 1711. The congregation was originally formed through the efforts of the Rev. Wm. Bagshaw, better known as “ The Apostle of the Peak,” who died in 1702. A few charities connected with the chapel are thus noticed on a Benefaction Board:—(1) Thos. Moult, of Chinley Maze, departed this life on 16th May, 1751, and left £5 to be put out to interest, and the interest arising from it to go towards repairing this place. (2) Samuel Wood, of Bowden Hall, died 15th April, 1764, and left £200 to be put out to interest for charitable purposes, yearly, for ever, and to be divided equally into four parts—1st, in bread amongst poor widows and fatherless children belonging to Chapel-en-le-Frith; 2nd, in bread at Chinley Chapel every Sunday to similar persons; 3rd, in woollen cloths to the poor of Bowden Edge; 4th, to the minister of Chinley Chapel for permitting six poor widows free sitting on the north side of such chapel for ever. This charity commenced the 5th day of May, 1765.
The Wesleyans have a chapel at New Smithy, and a Preaching Room at Four Lane Ends.
Bugsworth is a village and hamlet three miles N. from Chapel-en-le-Frith, and ten miles from Glossop. Coal underlies the district; it is excellent for lime burning, and is largely worked for that purpose. For the convenience of the inhabitants a chapel was erected in 1874 and dedicated to St. James. It is a, handsome edifice, in the Gothic style, capable of seating 280 persons, and consists of chancel, nave, porch, and belfry, containing one bell. The three windows in the east end are filled with stained glass. The Rev. James Bower is the curate-in-charge. The Primitive Methodists and Congregationalists have chapels here. The former built in 1878, at a cost of £1,300, is a large stone edifice in the Gothic style. The services are conducted by local preachers.
Brownside comprises the hamlets of Upper Fold and Shireoaks. The land is elevated, but yields good crops of grass.
The educational affairs of the parish are managed by a School Board, by whom commodious schools have been erected, at Chinley and Bugsworth.
CHINLEY.
Post, Money Order Office, and Savings Bank; H. Gregory, postmaster. Letters, via Whaley Bridge. Delivery 8 a.m.; despatch 8 a.m. and 6-55 p.m. No Sunday business. Nearest Telegraph office at Whaley Bridge.
Post Office, Chapel Milton, for stamps, postal orders, and registration. Post mistress, Sarah Bramwell. Delivery 7-30 a.m.; despatch 9-30 a.m. and 7-30 p.m.
Parish Councillors—Thos. Hadfield, Thos. Handford, Geo. Goddard, J. L. Proctor, J. W. Broadhurst, Wm. Simpson (Lower Cave), W. Simpson (New Smithy).
Rural District Councillors—J. Drinkwater, J. Hadfield.
School Board—Jph. C. Braddock, chairman ; Jno. Drinkwater, Jno. Braddock, Thos. Handford, George Cooper. Clerk—J. B. Boycott. School Attendance Officer—R. Middleton.
Marked * reside at Chapel Milton.
* Airey Ed. Cummings
Chinley Board School; Wm. Hankinson, mstr
* Fidler Ann, grocer
Green Peter, vict., Crown and Mitre Inn
Hadfield Bros., grocers & corn dlrs., Belle vue
Hadfield James (Hadfield Bros.)
Hadfield Jno. Thos. (H. Bros.), Albert place
Harrison Jas. A., Esq., Ainsworth house
* Hughes William, blacksmith
Kirkham Alfd., quarrymaster, Moorville
Mather Ellis, nurseryman
Ormerod Alfred, Esq., Warth Cott
* Simpson James, stonemason
Simpson John, grocer
Simpson William, monumental mason
Smith Samuel, vict., Lamb Inn
* Story G., engine driver
Taylor Tom, vict., Squirrel Inn
* Tomlinson Jph., vict., Cross Keys
Waterhouse John, stonemason
Whitehead John, paper manufacturer
Farmers.
Barnes Thomas, Beet
Braddock John, Stubbins lane
Brellsford Joseph, Chinley Head
Cooper Charles, Upper Ashen
Cooper George, Andrews
Cooper Jabez, Bradshaw Field
Cooper James, Chinley Head
Downes J., Lee End
Gee Edwin A., Redmires
Goddard Arthur, New House
Goddard Joel, Lower lane
Goddard John, Stubbins lane
Green Samuel, Bridgeholme Green
Gregory Mrs. Mary, Naze
Hadfield Geo. & Sons, The Lomasses
Hadfield John, Breck End
Hadfield Joseph, Breck cottage
Hallam Joseph
Hamer James, Bradshaw house
Hamer John Edward, Ashen Clough
Hamer Samuel, Lower White Knowl
Handforth Thomas, Hallgate
Holme Alfred, Bole Hill
Hudson Charles, Cracken Edge Hudson Joseph
Hudson Thomas, Moseley house
Joule Miss Eliza, Wicken
Kirk Thomas, Bennett Barn
Longden George, Slacks
Longden William. Hull
Longden William M., White Knowl
Porritt James, Bole Hill
Simpson Samuel, Redgate End
Swindells Joseph, Plums
Taylor Mrs. Eliza, Black Lane Head
Waterhouse Isaac, Ashton house
Waterhouse William, New Smithy
Woolley Joseph, Olivers
Yates William, Gorsty Low

BUGSWORTH.
Post Office. Letters, via Whalley Bridge, delivered 7-30 a.m., and are despatched 6-0 p.m. Postmistress, Mary Thomasson.
Marked * reside at Brierley Green.
Board School; S. Schofield, master
Broadhurst Joseph, Cote bank
* Brookfield Robert, tailor
Carrington Anthony, vict., Bull’s Head Inn
Drinkwater John, colliery propr., Green Bottom
Grundy H. E., solicitor, Carrington house
* Hadfield Mrs. Elizabeth, draper
Hall Matthew, vict., Navigation Inn
Harke Thomas, vict., Rose and Crown
Hayes Thomas, grocer
Jackson Adam, blacksmith, New road
* Lowe Isaac, colliery manager
Pearson George, grocer and general dealer
Pearson John, foreman, M. S. & L., New road
Ratcliffe Mrs. Ann, shopkeeper
Shirt William, shopkeeper, New road
* Snape Thomas, engineer
Wetters D. T., decorator, Bugsworth hall
Wetters E. C., house and estate agent and accountant, Bugsworth hall
Wetters the Misses, dressmkrs., Bugsworth hall
* Yates Mrs. Ann, grocer
Farmers.
Ashby Joseph, Chinley houses
Ashby Ann, Chinley houses
Barnes Joseph, Dryclough
Braddock Joseph C., Haugh
Carrington James, Knowl Top
Drinkwater Mrs. Eliza, Lane Ends
Goddard Mrs. Elizabeth, Ancoats cottage:
Kirk Oswold, Waterside
* Lupton Robert
Powell John, Round Meadows
Proctor Frank, Bugsworth hall
Proctor Joseph, Green Head
* Proctor Thomas Edward
Slater George, Tithebarn
Yates John, Lane Side
Yates Robert, Hill

BROWNSIDE.
Farmers.
Barnes Robert, Upper Fold
Cooper Isaac, Shireoaks
Hadfield William, Shireoaks
Simpson Joseph, Upper Fold

MELLOR.
This is a parish in the High Peak hundred, Hayfield county council electoral division, union and rural district; county court district of Hyde, Cheshire, petty sessional division and deanery of Glossop, comprising an area of 2,353 acres, rateable value £5,736, and population 1,096. Under the new Local Government Act seven parish councillors have been assigned to Mellor, and three district councillors. The landowners are Jonas Craven, Esq., J.P., Mellor Hall, who is lord of the manor; Jonathan Jowett, Esq., Lower Hall, Mellor; Frederic Charles Arkwright, Esq., Willersley, Cromford ; Lord Howard of Glossop; Lord Egerton, and a number of small freeholders. The soil is clayey, and is chiefly laid down in grass. Most of the inhabitants are employed in the cotton mills and collieries.
The early owners of the manor were the Mellors, descended from a younger son of Simon de Montford, from whom it passed by marriage to the Radcliffes. In 1686 the ancient seat of the family was bought by James Cheetham, Esq. In 1797 the estate was again sold, the appointment of the minister having already been bought by Mr. Thornton, of Clapham.
The village is pleasantly situated on the Hayfield and Stockport road, about eight miles S.W. from Glossop, and seven miles from Stockport. The Church, dedicated to St. Thomas, was, with the exception of the tower, rebuilt about 70 years ago, when little attention was bestowed on ecclesiastical architecture. The Gothic tower has been recently repaired, the old pews replaced by open seats of pitchpine, and the chancel furnished with carved oak stalls and sedilia, and the walls lined with carved oak panelling. Galleries on the south and west sides of the nave increase the accommodation, but do not improve the internal appearance. The east window is inscribed :—“ To the Glory of God and to commemorate the confirmation by the Lord Bishop of Lichfield of Mary Beatrice and Margaret, daughters of Frederick and Mary Anne Cooper, of West Tower, Marple, July, 1874.” A curious old font stands in a recess at the west end. It is circular, cut out of a block of sandstone, and ornamented with three quaintly incised figures of strange proportions. One represents a human figure on horseback, but what it was intended to symbolize it is impossible to say. Another relic of the old church is a beautifully carved oak pulpit, of which Dr. Cox gives a drawing in his “Churches of Derbyshire.” The living is a vicarage, worth £140 yearly, in the gift of and held by the Rev. T. M. Freeman since 1859.
The United Methodist Free Church is a neat, substantial stone building with gabled front, erected in 1846. It is well lighted with semicircular-headed windows, and comfortably furnished with pews of painted wood. The chapel, with the gallery, affords accommodation for 250.
The Primitive Methodist Chapel, built in 1827, and situated in Mellor Moor End, is a plain, oblong stone structure with accommodation for about 200 worshippers.
The earliest provision for educational purposes was made by Thomas Walklate, who died in 1639. In accordance with his will a Free Grammar School was erected in the churchyard, and the premises were rebuilt in 1806. This building was taken down in 1880, and a new school erected on another site without the churchyard, by the School Board, to which the endowment, about £20 yearly, has been transferred.
Mellor Hall, the seat and property of Jonas Craven, Esq., J.P., is a handsome cut-stone mansion, nestling amidst a profusion of luxuriant trees on an eminence overlooking the Marple Valley. It is lighted by pendicular stone-mullioned and square-headed windows. On an adjoining building are these initials : I C (James Cheetham) 1688.
We may mention two very praiseworthy institutions located here. One is a holiday home for girls employed in mills ; the other is “The Manchester Cathedral Cottage Home,” for invalids of both sexes belonging to the Church of England.
Part of the hamlet of Brook Bottom is situated in this parish.
Post Office, Spring bank, Mellor. Letters, via Stockport, arrive at 7-30 a.m. daily, and are despatched at 6-20 p.m. on week-days, and 10 a.m. on Sundays. Wall Letter Box, at the Church, cleared at 6-35 p.m. Nearest Money Order and Telegraph Office, Marple Bridge' two miles distant. James Marsland, sub-postmaster.
Letters for names marked † should be addressed Mellor, Marple Bridge, Stockport ; and marked *
Mellor, New Mills, Stockport.
School Board.
Chairman—Rev. Thomas Matthew Freeman
Clerk and Attendance Officer—Jph. Marsland
Treasurer—Henry Barber, New Mills
Rural District Councillors—Jonathan Jowett, Alfred Potts, Walter George Bagnall
Assistant Overseer and Inspector of Nuisances—Joseph Marsland
Parish Clerk—John Barber
Holiday Home for Mill Girls, Bull Hill House ; Mrs. Rebecca Morton, matron
Holiday Home for Working Girls, Ivy Cottage ; Mrs. Helm, Brighton house, president; Miss Pope, 27 Palatine rd, Withington, hon. Sec. & trea.; Mrs. M. A. Petts, resident matron
Manchester Cathedral Cottage Convalescent Home for Men and Women; Mrs. Cecil Lyons, matron

Ashworth Mrs. Elizabeth, refreshment rooms
Ashworth Henry More
† Bagnall Walter, oil manufacturer, The Manor
Bradbury Joseph, butcher and general dealer
* Campbell Peter, manager
Calvert Arthur Edward, clerk
Craven Jonas, Esq., J.P., Mellor hall
Duckworth Cephas, estate agent and valuer
* Fisher Alban, cotton merchant, Higher Cliff
Francis Mrs Sarah E., Spring bank
Freeman Rev. Thos. Matthew, L.Th., vicar
† Griffiths John, grocer and mason
Grummitt Mr. James, Brookbottom
Harrop William, vie. and carter, Royal Oak
Henshall Mr. James Peter
Jones Thos. Hy., mech. engineer, Brookbottom
Jowett Mr. Jonathan, Lower Hall
† Jowett Wm., patent & sheet wadding, & cotton wool manufacturer, Cataract Bridge Mill ; h Towns Cliff
Ledwick John, greengrocer, Marple Bridge
Lethem John, artist, Brook house
Mainprice Chas. Edwd., mercht., The Knowle
Marshall John, refreshment rooms
McDonald Mr., Sycamore cottage
McHardy William, Newhouse hill
McKellen Samuel Dunseith, photographic apparatus manufacturer, Brook Lea
* Moult John, surveyor & estate agent, Lower Cliff
Nield Mrs. Elizabeth
Nield Robert, grocer
Nield Samuel, slater and plasterer
Noble John, tinplate worker, Marple Bridge
Pike William, general dealer, Spring bank
Potts Alfred, grocer and draper, Moor End
Potts George, joiner, Moor End
Potts Lewis, butcher, Moor End
Pridham, Mrs. Anna Maria, Newhouse hill
Ratcliffe, John G., candle wick mnfr., Holly Vale
Read William, vict., Sportsman’s Arms
* Robinson Edwd. Tweedy, furrier, The Cottage
Rowbottom John, ironmonger, joiner, & grocer, Moor End
Schofield John, bootmaker, Sun Dial
Sidebotham James, bookkeeper, Church lane
Sidebotham John, joiner, Spring bank
Smith Wm. Hy., board schoolmaster ; h New- house hill
Stafford William, vict., Devonshire Arms
Wadham Mr. Benjamin, Cheetham hill
Walkden James, vict., Oddfellows’ Arms, Moor End
Wild John, muslin manufacturer, Lark Hill
Wood Guy, financial agent, Torr Top
Wood Mr. Henry, Brookbottom
Wood James (Exors.), cotton yam bleachers, Holly Head ; Ralph R. Wood, manager
Woodward Charles, vict., Lamb Inn
Yarwood John, spade mnfr. and smith, Marple Bridge forge ; h Lower fold, Marple Bridge
Farmers.
Ashworth Thomas
Beard Mrs. Elizabeth
Beard Samuel, Hill Top
† Bennett James, Cannon hill
Bennett Thomas, Holly vale
Booth Alfred
Bowden Benjamin, Broad Carr
Bowden John
Bradbury Joseph, Moor End
Bradbury Sml., Linnet Clough
Bradbury William, Tarden
Bradley John
† Bradley William
Brown Mrs. Martha
† Bullock Samuel
† Chorlton John William
Collier John and James (and coal mchts.), Windy Bottom
Collier Charles
Cook Ambrose, Knowle
† Critchlow George
Critchlow Ralph
Crossland Joseph, Lower Cliff
Crossland Thos. H., Lower Cliff
Downes Joseph Earlam Isaac, Higher Cliff
Froggatt, Mrs. Elizabeth, Westmoorhurst
Froggatt Jas., Westmoorhurst
Gage Henry
Gee John, Horsepool
Hadfield Thos., Cobden Edge
Hadfield John, Mellor hall
Hambleton Peter, Lower hall
† Harrop John, Royal Oak farm
† Harrop William
Higginbottom Rt., Cheetham hill
Hinchliffe John (bailiff), Pistol
Hinchliffe Joseph
Joule John Mortin
Lindley Wm., Cheetham hill
† Longson Robert, Bradshaw
Lomas John, Shiloh
† Marchington Mrs. Sarah
Marsland Mrs. Eliz., Rock cot.
Marsland Jph. (also asst, overseer, schl. bd. clerk, and att. officer,&c.), Longshaw Clough
Nadin Aaron, Birchenough
Nadin John, Higher Banks
Needham Isaac, Coldwall
Nield John, Holly Wood end
† Oldfield Joseph, Worthington
† Pickford Charles, Towns Cliff
Pickford Jph. (yeo.), Meadows
Prince Leon Dubois
Read William, Holly Woods
Redford Miss Mary Ellen
Richardson Chs., Green Clough
Richardson John, Green hill
† Rowbottom George, Spring Bank farm
Rowbottom Jno., Cheetham hill
† Rowbottom Joseph, Holly Wood end
Shaw William, Clough farm
Shaw William, Linnet Clough
† Sigley Thomas, White house
Simpson John, Birchenough
† Stafford Herbert, Apple Tree
Stafford Jno. W., Longhurst Ln
Stafford Mrs. Lettice, Longhurst lane
Stafford William
Sutton John William
Taylor John, Higher Banks
Taylor John Thos., Moor end
Teather John, Horsepool
Tymm Joseph, Bottoms hall
Walker Phineas,Cheetham hill
Wardle John, Lee farm
Wardle John, Strawberry hill
Wild John, Holly Woods
Wild Peter, Higher Tardin
Lodgings & Apartments.
Addie John, Hilly bank
Barraclough Mrs. M., Hilly bk
Cooper Mrs. Mary, Hilly bank
McCandlish Mrs. A., Hilly bk
Marshall Edwin, Lower banks
Potts Mrs. Hnh., Newhouse hill
Saint Arthur, Red row
Trevor Miss, Sun Dial

NEW MILLS.
New Mills is an extensive modern parish, containing 4,890 acres of land, lying on the border of Cheshire, from which it is separated by the river Goyt. It is in the hundred of High Peak, police district of Chapel-en-le-Frith and Glossop; county council electoral division of New Mills; county court district of Buxton; union of Hayfield, and deanery of Glossop. The total rateable value of the parish is £21,899, and the population in 1891 was 5,498. The Duke of Devonshire, F. J. Sumner, Jonathan Jowett, Lord Egerton, Turner and Brentnall, Joseph Handfield, and Mrs. John Mackie are the principal landowners. The Duke of Devonshire is lessee of the manor from the Duchy of Lancaster.
New Mills is under the control of an urban parish council whose district also includes Beard, Ollersett, Thornsett, Whittle, and Newtown. The latter is situated on the Cheshire side of the river and, under the Parish and District Councils Act, forms a separate urban parish returning one guardian. New Mills parish, embracing the rest of the urban sanitary district, returns five guardians.
The village of New Mills, or we might say the busy little town, is situated on the bank of the river Goyt, from which the houses and factories rise tier above tier on the hill side to a considerable height. It is eight miles from Stockport, 11 miles from Buxton, and 43 miles from Derby. It is skirted by the Manchester and Derby branch of the Midland railway, and the London & North-Western line approaches within a mile. The church, dedicated to St. George, was erected in 1831, at a cost of £2,500. It is a handsome Gothic edifice comprising nave, chancel, side aisles, and a pinnacled tower surmounted by a lofty octagonal spire, but the interior aspect is somewhat disappointing. The chancel is lighted by three tall single-light lancet windows which have been filled with stained glass at the expense of Mrs. Mackie. Windows of the same character, seven on each side, light the nave and aisles. Two on the north side bear representations of our Saviour and St. John the Baptist, and Moses and Aaron. On a brass is inscribed “In memory of the Rev. John Rigg, M.A., vicar of New Mills for 20 years, who finished his work November 10th, 1868, aged 56 years. His parishioners and friends have placed these windows to record their appreciation of his labours.” Two on the south side are also memorials. On the north wall of the nave, under the gallery, is a marble tablet inscribed “In memory of James Ingham, Esq., J.P., of Watford villa, New Mills, who departed this life, May 8th, 1868, aged 67 years,” and on a brass underneath is “ The above tablet was erected by his neighbours and friends in acknowledgement of the liberal support he rendered to this church, and the Bequest of £500 contained in his will, the interest of which is paid towards educating and clothing the poor of this parish.” The Font, which stands in the middle of the nave, is a beautiful piece of sculpture, erected by the parishioners and tenants of Lord Egerton’s estate in Lancashire, in memory of John Taylor, J.P. The living is a vicarage, worth £300 yearly, with residence, in the gift of the Vicar of Glossop, and held by the Rev. F. W. Newman, M.A.
The Church schools form a pretty block of stone buildings, with teacher’s residence attached. There are two departments, mixed and infants, with an average attendance of 220.
The chapel-of-ease, dedicated to St. James the Less, and the almshouses to which it is attached, were erected in 1880, by the late John Mackie, Esq., J.P., and Mary his wife, in memory of the parents of the latter—the late Mr. and Mrs. Ingham. The edifice consists of nave and apsidal chancel, and is in the style of architecture that prevailed in the latter part of the 13th century. In the apse are three lancet windows, filled with stained glass from the studio of Mr. Kempe, Beaumont street, London. A three-light window, with traceried head, in the south wall, and two large two-light windows in the west wall, are also pictorial. Frescoes by Mr. Powell, of Leeds, illustrating events in the life of Our Lord, adorn the north wall. A beautiful marble panel has been placed on the same side by Mrs. Mackie, in memory of her late husband. The total cost of the church was £2,750.
The Ingham Almshouses consist of six handsome cottages of stone, containing a good sitting-room, a bedroom, and a small scullery. The houses are divided by a covered porch, with pointed arches resting on circular pillars, with sculptured capitals. In front is a beautifully laid-out piece of garden ground. The church and almshouses occupy two sides of a quadrangular plot of land adjoining Spring Bank.
The Catholic Church, dedicated to St. Mary, occupies a commanding situation in High Lee. It is a handsome edifice of stone, in the Decorative Gothic style, erected in 1845-6 at a cost of £4,000, and comprises sanctuary with a chapel on either side, nave, north and south aisles, south porch, and western tower surmounted by a spire. The interior aspect is solemn and impressive. The arcade on either side of the nave rests on low, massive, octagonal columns ; and the noble chancel arch springs from similar responds. The east window is a three-light one, filled with stained glass representing scenes from sacred history. Beneath this is the high altar, a very fine one of alabaster and stone, given by Mr. Denis Lane, of London. Statues of various saints adorn the walls, as well as a very fine set of stations of the Cross, in high relief and richly coloured, against a back ground of gold. In connection with the church is a day school, attended by about 80 children.
The Wesleyan Chapel, in St. George’s road, erected in 1813, is a good stone building, seated on an eminence and approached by a flight of 24 steps. A gallery is carried round three sides, which increases the accommodation to 340. The chapel is provided with an excellent organ, built by Hardy, of Manchester, at a cost of £400. Adjoining the chapel is a small cemetery. There is a large day school in connection with the chapel, situated in High street. The Congregational Church, in Chapel street, is a substantial building of cut stone, with Sunday school and classrooms on the basement, erected in 1823. A gallery surrounds it on three sides. The interior is furnished with open pews of pitchpine to seat 500. There is another church belonging to the same sect in Thornsett. The United Methodist Free Church, Spring Bank, erected in 1892, at a cost of about £2,700, is a spacious structure, lighted by semicircular-headed windows, and is furnished throughout in polished pitchpine. There is sitting accommodation for 450. A handsome organ stands in a deep recess in the western gable, beneath which is the rostrum upon an elevated platform. Adjoining the church is the Sunday school, comprising one large room and four classrooms.
The Primitive Methodists have a chapel in Spring Bank, built in 1876 at a cost of £2,700. It is a substantial edifice of stone in an attractive style of architecture, and is furnished with open pews of pitchpine to seat 350. On the basement are the Sunday school and classrooms. They have another chapel in Thornsett, built in 1867 at a cost of £2,900.
A School Board of seven members was formed in 1876, and handsome and capacious schools have been erected at Spring Bank, Hague Bar, and Thornsett. In addition to providing an excellent elementary education, the Board has established a technical department under the scheme of the Derbyshire County Council.
The town has its Public Hall and its Victoria Market Hall. The former was erected in 1870, by public subscription, at a cost of over £2,000. The latter is private property. There are several cotton mills, calico printing works, engineering works, engraving works, and chemical works.
This district was formerly known as Middlecale, and embraced a number of hamlets extending from Kinderscout to the banks of the Goyt. In accordance with manorial privilege all the inhabitants were compelled to grind their corn at the common mill at Hayfield. About a century and a half ago a re-arrangement of the hamlets took place, three being added to Chinley, three to Hayfield, and the remainder, Beard, Ollersett, Thornsett, and Whittle, were formed into a township. A new mill was built on the river Sett, in the hamlet of Ollersett, and hence arose the name New Mills.
Beard is a hamlet extending southwards from New Mills. The surface is beautifully diversified by hill and dale, and richly wooded. Hague Bar is a small village on the Marple road. From the rising ground to the right there is a beautiful view of the country on the Cheshire side of the river Goyt. Ollersett hamlet stretches eastward from New Mills. Low Leighton is a small village between New Mills and Hayfield. Here is the Hayfield Union Workhouse. Here also is a Friends’ Meeting House, erected in 1717, though there are no resident Friends in the village. Coal and gritstone are worked in the district. Thornsett hamlet extends N.E., and contains a portion of New Mills, including the Parish Church, Congregational Chapel, Garrison Bleach Works, &c. Coal is worked on a small scale. At the eastern extremity of the hamlet on the border of Hayfield parish is Lantern Pike—a hill of considerable altitude, commanding from its summit an excellent bird’s-eye view of the surrounding district. A portion of Birch Vale extends into Thornsett hamlet. Birch Vale House, the property and residence of Thomas Bennett, Esq., J.P., is a substantial structure, pleasantly situated on rising ground above the river Sett. It is surrounded by four acres of pleasure grounds.
Rowarth is a scattered village in this hamlet, a little N.W. of Lantern Pike. It was once a busy little place, and could boast three or four cotton mills, but the only industry now is a bleachworks. There is a United Methodist Free Church. On a stone above the door is inscribed “ Sunday school for children of all denominations, A.D. 1824.”
Whittle is another hamlet in this township, extending N. and N.W. from New Mills.

Magistrates for the New Mills Petty Sessional District.
James Hibbert (chairman), New Mills
Thomas Bennett, Birch Vale House, Stockport
Thomas Carver, Marple
Colonel Turner, Stockport
—. Hodgkinson, Marple
Jonas Craven, Mellor Hall
William Edward Rumney, Watford Lodge
Noah Wainwright, Marple
Joseph Arnfield, New Mills
Francis John Sumner
Clerk—J. Burton Boycott, Chapel-en-le-Frith.
Petty Sessions are held at the Public Hall, New Mills, every fourth Wednesday, at 10-30 a.m.
Inspector of Police—W. H. Oliver, Police Station.
County Court.
Held at the Public Hall, every quarter.
Judge—His Honour W. C. Smyly.
Registrar—Richard Brown. Attendance every Wednesday from 10 to 4.
Urban District Councillors.
F. Thornley, J. Lowe, Rev. W. C. M’Kenna, John Thomas Wharmby, Ernest O. Stuart, surgeon; John Jas. Hadfield, Hugh Robinson, Joseph Hyde, John Smith, T. Livesley, D. Wood, Edward Godward Guardians—Jno. Lowe, Father M’Kenna, Wm. Parsons, J. W. W. Brayne, John Hibbert
Clerk—Joseph Pollitt; h Church road
Medical Officer—Jas. Edwin Anderton, M.R.C.S.
Surveyor and Gas Manager—Edward Jones; h Church road
Inspector of Nuisances and Canal Boats—Hy. Richardson
Collector—William Lowe
Treasurer—Henry Barber
School Board.
Meetings held on the last Tuesday in each month in the Board Room, Board Schools, Spring bank.
Chairman—Jas. Hibbert, Esq., J.P., Fern bank
Clerk—Edward Godward
Treasurer—Henry Barber, Spring bank
Attendance Officer—Wm. T. Robinson, Newtown
Savings Bank.
Held at the Public Hall, Saturdays, 5 to 7 p.m.
Actuary—Henry Barber
Treasurer—Mark Ingham
New Mills Economical Permanent Building Society.
Subscriptions paid first Monday in each month at the Public Hall, from 7-45 to 8-45 p.m.
Secretary—Edward Goodward
Treasurer—Mark Ingham
General Post Office, Market street, New Mills; George Walker, postmaster. Letters, via Stockport, arrive at 5-50 a.m. and 3-3 p.m. on week days, and at 5-50 a.m., on Sundays; despatched at 10-45 a.m. (also two bags to Manchester), 4 p.m., and 8-20 p.m. on week days, and 7-30 p.m. on Sundays. Wall Letter Boxes—Low Leighton cleared at 6-30 p.m. ; Swan Hotel, Albion road, cleared at 6-50 p.m. ; High street cleared at 8 p.m.

Allen George, greengrocer, High street
Allen John William, draper, Market street
Alsop & Clayton, painters, &c., Market street
Alsop George, snr., painter & plumber, High st
Alsop Jas. (Alsop & Clayton) ; h Rock street
Anderton James Edwin, M.R.C.S., L.R.C.P., surgeon and physician, Thornfield
Antrobus Edward, Prudential agent, High st
Armstrong Mrs. Elizabeth, confectnr., High st
Arnfield Edwin (J. & E. Arnfield) ; h Spring bk
Arnfield Mrs. Elizabeth, dressmaker, Bridge st
Arnfield Isaac, grocer, &c., Bridge street
Arnfield Jonathan, yeast importer, Spring bank
Arnfield Jph., Esq., J.P., C.C., mangng. director & chairman, Grove Mill Paper Co., Ltd. (J. & E. Arnfield); h High Lee Hall
Arnfield Jph. & Edwin, Globe Engineering works
Arnfield Thomas Owen, engineer, Rock cottage
Ashworth Misses, hosiers, &c., Market street
Bagshaw Jph., ironmngr., tinner, &c , Market st
Barber Henry, bank mngr., &c., Spring bank
Barker C., joiner & bldr., Union rd ; h High Lee
Bates Wm., grocer and music teacher, High st
Boyle Danl. Jph., mason & contr., High Lee rd
Boyle Sami. Hy., mason & contr., High Lee rd
Bradbury & Co., sewing machine mnfrs., &c., High street; Charles McCoy, agent
Bradbury John, shopkeeper, Bridge street
Braddock Jph., draper and tea dealer, Meal st
Braddock Jph. Kirby, draper, Market street
Brayne John Wm., chemist, wine merchant, and drysalter, Market street
Broadhurst Bros. (Thomas & Samuel), smiths and wheelwrights, Hague Bar
Broadhurst William, pavior, Marsh lane
Broom Rd., boot, &c., maker & dlr., Market st
Broome Abram, butcher, Market street
Bunting George, hairdresser, High street
Burgess Joseph, mon. mason, Hyde Bank road
Campbell Peter, manager, Print works, Strines, Stockport
Campbell Walter (Salisbury & C.); h Stanley mt
Chadwick Geo., tripe dresser, Market street
Chadwick John, Daisy bank
Clarke Joseph Hy., station master, New Mills
Clayton George, grocer, Torr Top street
Clayton Ralph (Alsop & Clayton) ; h Market st
Coates Jph. Edwd., insurance agent, Beech hs
Cochrane John, manager, Spring bank
Cooper Benjamin, pork butcher, Union road
Cooper Mrs. Margt. Ann, hosier, Market place
Courtenay, Miss Catherine, schoolmistress, St. Mary’s Catholic school
Croft Alfred, bootmaker, Market street
Dyer Wm. Hy., hairdresser & tobcnst, High st
Edwards Edward, painter, High street
Edmondson Rev. W. D. (Cong.), Chapel street
Ellison Mrs. Hannah, grocer, High street
Evans Alfred Wm. Aughton, secretary, Hillside
Evans Seth, reporter, Union road
France Rt., tripe dresser & fruiterer, Market st
Frost Edward, dentist, The Rocks
George William, butcher, Market street
Graham George, tailor, Spring bank
Gregory Jas. Hy., schoolmaster, Hague Bar B.S.
Green Jas., greengrocer & money lender, High st
Greenhalgh Edwin, photographer, Church rd
Grindrod Chas., M.R.C.S., surgeon, Spring bank
Grundey Abel, draper, &c., Market street
Haggie Andrew, tobacconist, High-street
Hall Samuel, tinner, Market street
Hammond James, grocer, Church street
Harrop Mrs. Eliz., confectioner, High street
Harrop Joseph, hosiery manufr., High street
Harrop Robert, butcher, Market street
Healey Patrick, engraver, Hyde Bank road
Hewitt Samuel, assistant overseer & debt collector, The Rocks
Heyes Thomas, shopkeeper, Hague Bar
Hibbert James, Esq., J.P., Fern bank
Hibbert Mr. John, Yorkshire house
Higginbotham Miss Mary, grocer, High street
Higginbottom Mrs. Eliza, draper, High street
Higginbottom Geo. (G. & E. H.) ; h Spring bnk
Higginbottom Geo. & Edwin, chemical mnfrs., Salem Chemical works
Higginbottom Jas., smith & palisade manufr., Hyde Bank road ; h Bridge street
Higginbottom John, ironmonger, Market place
Higginbottom Mrs. S., tobacconist, Market st
Hill Jas., cotton spin., Beard Mill; h Spring bnk
Hill Wm. Fras., cotton spinner, Beard Mill ; h Spring bank
Hodgson William, grocer, Church road
Horwood James, confectioner, High street
Howard George & Jas., plumbers and painters, Torr Top street
Howes Mrs. Esther, confectioner, Bridge street
Hulton Miss Ellen, confectioner, High street
Hyde Joseph, coal merchant, High Lee road
Ingham James A., clothier, Union road
Ingham Mark, draper, High street
Ingham Mrs. Mary Ann, High street
Jackson Isaac Goodwin, watchmaker and photographer, Market street
Johnson Joseph, pawnbroker, High street
Jones Edward, surveyor and gas manager, Public hall; h Church road
Jowett Charles, solicitor, Market street
Kirkham James, Church road
Leach James, grocer, &c., Market street
Ledger Joseph Hy., mon. mason & stone merchant, Bridge street
Lee Robert, tinner, Union road
Leigh Wm. Andrew, bookslr. & prntr., Market st
Lees Mrs. Matilda, Holly bank
Livesley —, butcher, High street
Livesley Alfred (A. L. & Son); h Chapel house
Livesley Alfred & Son, chemists, High street, and at Hayfield and Whaley Bridge
Livesley Charles Henry, draper, High street
Livesley Thos. Hy. (A. L. & Son); h Chapel hs
Lloyd Rev. G. E. (Prim. Meth.), Spring bank
Lockwood James, saddler, Market street
Lockwood Ths., coal mrchnt., M.R. Goods statn
Lomas Joel, watchmaker, Market place
Lomas John, bootmaker, 5 High Lee terrace
Lomas Mrs. Mary Ann, confectioner, High st
Lomax Joseph Dale, grocer, &c., Market street
Longson Jas. & Son (John), ironfounders, Hyde Bank road ; h Church road
Lowe Mrs. Elizabeth, draper, &c., Union road
Lowe John coal merchant, M.R. Goods station; h Thornsett
Lowe William, rate collector, Union road
Mackie Mrs. John, Watford villa
Makinson Daniel, Prud. asst, supt., Union rd
Manchester and County Bank, Ltd., High st; Henry Barber, manager
Marsh Mrs. Louisa, grocer, Torr Top street
Marshall John, carrier, Church road
McKenna Rev. Wm. C. (Cath.), The Presbytery
Mellor Joseph, earthenware dealer, Meal street
Miller Thomas, solicitor, Chapel street
Morton James, general dealer, High street
Mottershead John Hy., pork butcher, High st
Neville Mr. Charles Henry, Strines, Stockport
Newman Rev. Fdk. Wm., M.A., The Vicarage
New Mills Co-op. Soc., Ltd., general dealers, Spring bank; Hy. Turner, mngr.; Peter Wain, sec ; branches at Thornsett and Newtown
Nichols John, schlmstr. (B.S.); h Stanley mt
Niven James, grocer, &c., Torr Top street
Oliver W. H., inspector, Police station
Parsons Wm., boot, &c., mkr. & dir., Market st
Pearson Samuel, smith, Hyde Bank road
Plant Wm. Albt., grocer & baker, Torr Top st
Platt Mrs. Sarah, shopkeeper, Spring bank
Platt Thomas, smallware dealer, High street
Pollitt Mr. John, High Lee
Pollitt Joseph, clerk to the U-D.C., Town Hall; h Church road
Pott William, grocer, Market street
Potts William, grocer and carrier, Hall street
Poultney E., stationmaster, Strines, Stockport
Pursglove Mr. John Marshall, High street
Randles James, photographer, Bridge street
Redfern Alfred Isaac, joiner & contrctr., High st
Redfern Mrs. E., confectioner, Strines, Stockport
Redfern Jas. Bowden, joiner & builder, High st
Richardson Miss Eliz., shopkeeper, Chapel st
Richardson Hy., nuisance inspector, Bridge st
Richardson James, toy dealer, High street
Rigby Thomas, hat dealer, High street
Roberts Mrs. Leah, herbalist, &c., High street
Roberts Rev. Wm. Lee (U. Meth.), Spring bank
Robinson William, grocer, High street
Robinson William, stationer, High street
Roe Peter, dining rooms, &c., Market street
Rumney Edward B., calico printer
Ryley Samuel, stationer & tobcnst., Market st
Salisbury & Campbell, engrvrs., St. George’s rd
Salisbury Hy. (S. & Campbell) ; h Rock villas
Sayer John, cabinet maker, &c., Market st
Scattergood & Warrington, joiners, builders, and builders’ merchants, Church road
Scattergood Jno. (S. & Warrington); h Church rd
Schofield Frederick John, tailor, Chapel street
Schofield Joseph, butcher, High street
Scott G. H. & Co., india rubber mnfrs., Hague Bar ; manufacturing chemists at Widnes
Sellars Joseph, tailor & outfitter, Market street
Shallcross Arth, chemical mnfr.; h High Lee rd
Sharples Mrs. Mary, Union road
Sharples Wm, surgeon’s dispenser, Market st
Shawcross Thos. Hy., chemist; h Sprink bank
Shepley Eli, draper and clothier, Union road
Sidebottom Mrs. Eliz., confectioner, Market st
Simmister Miss Emma, draper, High street
Singer Mnfng Co., High st.; Walter May, agent
Smith Mr. John Samuel, Church road
Smith Jph., goods agent, M.R. goods station; h Beard terrace
Smith Mrs. Margaret Ann and Albert, house furnishers, Union road
Spencer Thomas
Stafford Joe, carrier, Church road
Stafford Obadiah, mason & builder, Toy cottage
Street John Edward, boot and shoe dealer, Market street
Strines Printing Co., Ltd., calico printers, Strines, Stockport; Peter Campbell, mngr
Swindells Thomas, High Lee road
Thompson Rev. Edwd. (Wes. Meth.), Spring bk
Thornley Mrs. Mariana, ctn. spnr., Beard mill
Thornley P., printer, bkslr., & statnr., Union rd
Thorpe Fredk. Wm., draughtsman, Church rd
Toovey Clement, confectioner, Market street
Turner James, tobacconist, High street
Turner John William, draper, High street
Turner Thos., old curiosity shop, Torr Top st
Vaughan A., dentist, Spring bank
Walker Arth., solcr. & com. for oaths, Spring bk
Walker George, bookslr., fancy goods dir., & registrar of births, deaths, & mrgs., Market st
Walker John James, pork butcher, Market pl
Wallace William, tailor & draper, High street
Walton Joseph, coal merchant, M.R. goods station ; h Hayfield
Warrington Elijah (Scattergood & Warrington); h Church road
Wells William, watchmaker, Market street
Wharmby Jas., earthnwre. dlr. &grcr., Market st
Wharmby John Thos., manufacturing confr. & restaurant keeper, Market street & Union rd
Whitehead Samuel, schoolmaster, N.S.
Whitehead Wm. Thos. musical instrmnt. dlr., music teacher, & piano tuner, Spring bank
Wild Jesse, plumber, Torr Top street
Wild Mr. William, Bridge street
Williamson William, hairdresser, Chapel street
Wilson Robert, grocer, High street
Wood Geo., com. & estate agent, rent & debt collector, Spring bank ; h Newtown
Wood George, newsagent, Station road
Wood John, grocer, Hague Bar
Wood Joseph, bootmaker, High street
Wood Joseph, bootmaker and clogger, High st
Woolley Bold, shopkeeper, Spring bank
Wright Fredk, earthenware dealer, Torr Top st
Wright Mrs. Jane, Bank cottage
Wyatt Henry, general dealer, High street
Wyatt John Geo., oil & general dealer, High st
Wyatt John Wm., draper, Market place
Wyatt Mrs. Sarah, draper, Market st; h Lea hs
Yates Edward, brass founder, Market street
Farmers.
Beverley John, Lark hill
Bramall James, Gilbert gate
Chadwick Mrs. Martha
Goddard G., Scotch Piece farm
Jepson Charles, Clough
Storer Samuel, Hague fold
Thorpe James & Son (James), Hague Fold farm
Thorpe Joseph, Hague fold
Hotels, Inns, & Taverns.
Marked * are Beerhouses.
* Bridge, Bridge st; Jonathan Stansfield
Bull's Head, High st; James Alexander
Cock, High st; Alex. Bramhall
Commercial, Hague bar; Jas. Buckley
* Crescent, Market place; J. Royle
Crown, Market place; Henry Watson
Dog & Partridge, High street; Mrs. Eliz. Alice Bardsley
Fox, Brook bottom; W. Kenyon
George, High st; Jas. Beard
Grapes, High st; Rt. Stewart
Jolly Carter, Hague Bar; Walter Gell
Masons’ Arms, High street; George Eyre Pursglove
* Pine Apple, High street; James Williamson
* Printers' Arms, High street; Thomas Ash
Queen’s Arms, Union road; Mrs. Alice Etchells
* Rock, Rock st; Benj. Lloyd
Royal, Market st; J. Maughan
* Royal Oak, Market street; John Birtwistle
S. Alban’s, Torr Top street; Joseph Edwin Booth
White Hart, Bridge street; George Henry Brownhill

BEARD HAMLET.
Postal Address, Beard, Newtown, Stockport. Letters for those marked * should be addressed Furness Vale, Stockport.
Mellor Abraham, stone merchant, Brown brow
Farmers.
Drinkwater Thomas, Goyt Side
Hall Levi & Elijah (and colliery proprietors), Beard Wood
* Hall William, Jowhole
* Handford Joseph, Bald Beard
Howard William, Bakehurst
Howard William, Beard lane
Marshall Thomas, Stonepits
Mortin John, Lane Side
* Ollerenshaw Thomas, Brown hill
* Reece James, Shedyard
Stafford Daniel, Beard hall
Titterton Richard, Marsh Lane Head
Woolley John Howcroft

OLLERSETT HAMLET.
Postal Address, Ollersett, Newtown, Stockport. Wall Letter Box, Low Leighton; cleared at
6- 30 p.m., on week-days.
Bamber John, engraver, Low Leighton
Bullock Martin, engineer, Low Leighton
Clayton John, grocer, Pleasant view, Birch Vale
Goble Rd.,vict.,Hare & Hounds, Low Leighton
Hill Mr. Charles, Higher Diglands
Hudson John & Sons (Elijah & Chas.), joiners, &c., Low Leighton
Mellor Abraham, stone mercht., Low Leighton
Mellor John, joiner, Ellerscroft
Oldham Robert, grocer, Low Leighton
Ollersett Colliery Co., Ltd. ; Jph. Bennett, sec. &c., James Ramsbottom, manager
Poole Mr. Charles Edward, Lower Diglands
Potts James, smith, Low Leighton
Williamson Reuben, stone mercht., Birch Vale
Wood George Wm., beer retailer, Vine Tavern, Birch Vale
Wyatt George Henry
Farmers.
Ashton Isaac, Cold Harbour
Ashton James, Birch Vale
Ashton John, Low Leighton
Hall Charles, Quaker’s lodge
Hall John, Moor lodge
Hall William, Hayfield road
Hudson Charles, Higher Gib-hey
Hudson David, Ollersett hall
Hudson David Thomas, Highfield
Marshall Herbert, Overlee
Needham Joseph, Lower Gib-hey
Poole Charles Edward, Diglands
Swann James, Diglands
Swindells William, Hollinhurst Head
Woolley Isaac, Pingot
Woolley Jonathan, Ollersett hall

THORNSETT HAMLET.
Postal Address, Thornsett, Birch Vale, Stockport, except for Rowarth, which should be addressed
via Mellor.
General Post Office, Birch Vale. Letters, via Stockport, arrive at 10-6 a.m. and 3-9 p.m. on week days, and at 10-6 a.m. on Sundays; and are despatched at 8-15 a.m., 3-40 p.m., and 7- 40 p.m. on week days, and at 7-30 p.m. on Sundays. Arthur Hirst, sub-postmaster.
Barlow Ralph, confectioner, Birch Vale
Beatson William, manager, Bate Mill road
Beck Frederick, solicitor, Birch Vale
Bennett Thomas, Esq., J.P., Birch Vale house
Bradbury Rbt., vict., Little Mill Inn, Rowarth
Butler William, vict., Jordan Arms, Mellor
Frith Thos., schoolmaster B. S. ; h Birch Vale
Hadfield John James, yarn bleacher, Garrison Bleach works
Hawley Jesse, manager, co-operative stores
Hickey John, designer, Rowarth
Hill Isaac, grocer and butcher
Hudson John, vict., Printers’ Arms
Lewis Mrs., Anderton road, Rowarth
Lowe John, coal merchant
Mason John, confectioner
Plethean John & Co., Ltd., bleachers, Bate mill
Robinson Hugh, vict., Sycamore Inn, Birch Vale
Sandham Peter, coal agent, Birch Vale terrace
Sims Edward, carrier Thornsett Colliery ; George Wain, manager
Turner Mrs. Jane, White house
Walton James, beer retailer, Rose and Crown
Warhurst Frederick, beer retailer, New Inn
Waterhouse Thomas, grocer, Rowarth
Woodcock Fdk. E., solicitor, Aspenshaw hall
Wyatt Denis, grocer, Birch Vale
Farmers.
Aitkin Miss Mary, Rowarth
Bann Samuel, Rowarth
Bennett John James, Ladygate
Bennett Thomas, Rowarth
Bennett William, Briargrove
Beverley James, Narrs Nook
Bowden Bd. Shaw, Rowarth
Castree Andrew, Carr Nook
Chaddock Samuel, Rowarth
Cooper Mrs. Emma, Rowarth
Dalton Isaac, Wether Cotes and Bank Head
Froggat Abner, Rowarth
Froggatt James, High Walls
Goddard Joel, Aspenhaw
Hadfield Charles, Rowarth
Hallam Joseph, Rowarth
Handforth Mrs. Ellen, Rowarth
Hinchliffe Jonathan, Rowarth
Marshall William, Rowarth
Marsland William, Rowarth
Rowbottom Joseph, Rowarth
Rowcroft George, Feeding-hey
Simms Edward, Thornsett-hey
Simpson Joseph, Rowarth
Srigley Edmund, Rowarth
Thornley James, Aspenshaw
Thorpe John, Rowarth
Whittock James, Rowarth
Woodward George, Rowarth

WHITTLE HAMLET.
Postal Address, Whittle, New Mills, Stockport.
Brunt George, vict., Pack Horse, Bow lane
Medcalf Mr. Charles, Lever Castle
Farmers.
Bennett William, Abbey Tree
Bennett William, The Whitle
Billinge Charles, Broadhurst
Fernley John, Beard Hough
Garlick Mrs. Mary, Redishaw
Hartle Arthur, Eaves Knoll
Harrison John
Heginbotham John Thomas
Hibbert Daniel, Golden Spring
Joule John Morten, Shaw and Mellor
Keeling James, Beard
Hough Livesley Jabez, Castle Edge
Pickford Thomas, Stoney Piece
Rowcroft James
Sandham Richard, Will-hey
Shufflebottom John
Slater Joshua
Stafford Edwin, Tanpits.
Stafford John Thomas
Stafford Thomas, Knight Wick
Swindells Henry, Mousley Bottom
Tomlinson William



Button image Return to Trade Directory List Button image Return to Local History Articles Button image Return to the home page




Page last updated: 8 May 2017.