Glossop Heritage Trust

Kelly's Derbyshire Directory 1912
Entries for the area of the Ancient Parish of Glossop.



GLOSSOP

GLOSSOP (or Glossop Dale) is a municipal borough, market and union town, head of a county court district and petty sessional division, township and parish, on the borders of Cheshire, with a station, 192½ miles by rail from London by Great Central railway, 9½ from Ashton, 24½ from Barnsley, 87 from Birmingham, 65 from Burton, 47 from Chesterfield, 58 from Derby, 41 from Doncaster, 87 from Leicester, 34 from Leek, 47 from Liverpool, 73¾ from Lincoln, 13 from Manchester, 20 from Macclesfield, 74 from Nottingham, 30 from Sheffield, 66¼ from Stafford, 10½ from Stalybridge, 11 from Stockport, 53 from Uttoxeter and 72 from Wolverhampton. It is in High Peak hundred and High Peak division of the county, Glossop rural deanery, Chesterfield archdeaconry and Southwell diocese. The Great Central railway from Manchester to Sheffield is carried across Dinting Vale on a lofty viaduct of sixteen arches, constructed of stone, about a mile west from the Town hall, and there is a branch line from Dinting to Glossop and Hadfield. A service of electric trams also runs to Hadfield and Whitfield. The parish of Glossop, before the passing of the "Local Government Act, 1894," comprised the hamlets of Glossop, Hadfield, Padfield, Charlesworth, Chunal, Whitfield and Simmondley. By the operation of the above Act, the borough became, by an Order of the County Council, dated Aug. 10, 1894, a civil parish, consisting of the whole of the hamlet of Hadfield, and parts of the previously mentioned hamlets. By the same Act the hamlet of 'Charlesworth, and the other parts of the hamlets, became the parish of Charlesworth.
The Borough is divided into three wards, viz.; All Saints, Hadfield and St. James'. The corporation consists of a mayor, 6 aldermen and 18 councillors. The borough has a commission of the peace and a police force. The water supply, derived from Peaknase moors, is collected in reservoirs at Swineshaw. The town is supplied with gas by a company formed in 1845.
Portions of the old parish of Glossop All Saints have been taken to form the ecclesiastical parishes of Whitfield, St. James'; Hadfield, St. Andrew's, and Dinting, Holy Trinity. The ancient parish church of All Saints was pulled down in 1830. The present church is a modem edifice of stone, in the Early Gothic style, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles, south porch, vestry, organ chamber, erected in 1877, and a western tower, with spire, containing a clock and 8 bells, re-hung and a chiming apparatus attached in 1877, at a cost of £180; the spire was rebuilt in 1856, and in 1902 a carved oak porch was added at a cost of £120, in memory of the late John Wagstaffe: the stained east window is a memorial to a former Duke and Duchess of Norfolk, Robert Shepley esq. and John Wood esq. benefactors to the church; the old communion plate bears date 1745, but in 1877 a new set was contributed by the parishioners: in 1886 the nave was reseated with open benches by Daniel Wood esq. of Moorfield, and in 1889 the church was restored and three stained glass windows were placed therein, at a cost of £1,300, defrayed by Miss A. A. Wood and others: there are also memorial windows to the Rev John Dickinson Knowles M.A. vicar, 1865-89, and Mrs. Mary Rusby: the carved oak pulpit was presented, at a cost of £325, by John Wood esq. of Whitfield house: the altar front, presented to the church in 1895, is of carved oak open work tracery panels, flanked by figures of SS. Chad and Aidan, with silk frontals to slide in a groove behind the tracery: choir stalls of carved oak were erected in 1896, at a cost of £180, and in 1898, an oak screen bearing the names of the vicars of Glossop from 1321, was provided at a cost of £180: a new baptistery was erected in the same year and furnished with a font of white marble, presented, at a cost of £200, by C. E. Knowles esq. and other gifts have been made to the church by Miss Orange: the churchyard was closed against interments, with modifications, in 1857-8. The registers date from the year 1620. The living is a vicarage, net yearly value £179 with residence, in the gift of trustees, and held since 1908 by the Rev Charles Dudley Hart L.Th. of Hatfield Hall, Durham.
The Rev Christopher Howe, vicar 1793 to 1849 and for 40 years also incumbent of Woodhead, Cheshire, established a day school at Glossop, in which he personally taught, and partly rebuilt the parish church ; he died 1st Sept. 1849, in the 85th year of his age and the 57th of his vicariate of Glossop. Mr. Charles Winterbottom, for upwards of 60 years sexton and clerk of the parish of Glossop, died at the age of nearly 88 years.
The Catholic church, dedicated to All Saints, a building in the Classic style, situated near Glossop Hall, was erected by Bernard Edward Duke of Norfolk, in 1837, and con lists of chancel, nave and a belfry, containing one bell; over the altar is a fine copy of Domenichino's "Communion of St. Hyronome," the original of which is in the Vatican there are also valuable paintings representing the twelve apostles: there are 120 sittings.
Mount Pleasant Congregational chapel, built in 1858 will seat 600.
There is a United Methodist chapel in Hall street an a Primitive Methodist chapel in Shrewsbury street.
The Cemetery, of 6 acres, formed in 1859, was enlarged in 1894 and has mortuary chapels, it is now under the control of the town council and Charlesworth parish council.
The Town Hall, with the Market House, was considerably enlarged in 1854.
The Free Library and Public Hall, Fauvel road, erected in 1887 by Herbert Rhodes esq. and Capt. Edward Partington, at a cost of about £4,400, on a site given by Lord Howard of Glossop, is a building of stone in the Gothic style, containing a reading room and library of 5,000 volumes, lecture hall and a public hall: over the main entrance a tower with pinnacles rises to a height of 80 ft.
There are Conservative and Liberal clubs, each having news and recreation rooms.
The Public Baths, Howard Park, erected in 1887, by Samuel Wood esq, and Mrs. Wood, of Moorfield House at a cost of about £15,000, comprise a swimming bath three private baths for males and a like number of females, and vapour and Turkish baths: the buildings include a ventilating tower 100 feet high.
Here are cotton factories, and in the neighbourhood calico printing establishments and paper mills: some of the former, and especially those of Messrs. John Wood and Bros. Limited, and Messrs. Francis Sumner and Co Limited, are very extensive, employing in ordinary times about 1,300 work people. The first cotton mill was erected about the year 1784, but previously to this a few woollen factories and fulling mills had been in operation; one of these, The Gnathole mill, now covered with ivy, still remains.
At Dinting Vale are the large calico printing works developed by the skill and energy of the late Mr. E. Potter, and now carried on by Messrs. E. Potter and Co. Ltd.
Hurst brook and Whitfield brook, two feeders of the Etherow, take their rise on the adjacent moors; the water of the latter possesses bleaching properties, which was taken advantage of in establishing the works at Charlestown. There are quarries producing building and paving stone. The principal market day is Saturday. Fairs are held on the 6th May, also the first Wednesday on or after the 10th day of October, for the sale of horses and cattle.
There are charities of £40 yearly value, distributed among the poor on St. Thomas' day, in money and clothing, by two representatives of the eight original hamlets of Glossop Dale.
The Wood's Hospital, Howard Park, founded and endowed in 1887, by Daniel Wood esq. of Moorfield, at a cost of about £6,000, the endowment fund being £19,000, is a structure of brick, cased externally with stone, and comprises two male and two female wards, holding about 16 patients, with kitchens &c. and an administrative block, containing the offices, store rooms &c.: to the west of the hospital is a detached laundry, with lodge keeper's residence.
The Convalescent Home, North road, built in 1908 by Capt. E. Partington, at a cost of about £30,000, including endowment, is a structure of stone, and consists of two wings and one central block; one wing is for males and the other for females; in the central block are the matron's and nurses' apartments.; the home provides for eight patients.
Howard Park, North road, formed in 1887, at the joint expense of Lord Howard of Glossop, Samuel Wood esq. and Mrs. Wood, of Moorfield, is situated on an eminence, commanding a fine view of the town and neighbourhood; it is about 12 acres in extent.
At Old Cross, Old Glossop, are the remains of an ancient stone cross, about 12 feet in height, and still in a fair state of preservation.
Glossop Hall, the seat of the Right Hon. Lord Howard of Glossop J.P. is a noble building, in the style of a French château of the 18th century, and stands on gently rising ground above Howard Town, surrounded by trees : it was much enlarged and improved by Henry Charles, 13th Duke of Norfolk, grandfather of the present owner.
The town and hamlets now comprising the manor of Glossop appears to have been divided in the time of Edward the Confessor into several parts among different Saxon proprietors, but in the Domesday Survey the whole of Glossop is put down as forfeited to the Crown; and the Conqueror afterwards gave it to his natural son, William Peveril, whose son Richard, however, being disinherited by Henry I. Glossop was again confiscated to the Crown and in 1157 was granted by Henry II. together with the advowson of the church to the Abbey of Basingwerke, "in free and perpetual alms for ever,” and this abbey had acquired before the 15th century nearly all the hamlets now comprising the Glossop estate; Glossop remained the property of Basingwerke Abbey till the dissolution of the lesser abbeys in 1536, when Henry VIII. seized it with other conventual property and afterwards granted it to the Earl of Shrewsbury, who in turn exchanged it with the Duke of Norfolk for estates in Ireland, and in this noble family it has remained to the present time; the present proprietor, lord of the manor and principal landowner, is the Right Hon. Lord Howard of Glossop J.P. cousin to the present Duke of Norfolk.
The land is partly moor and pasturage. The area of the civil parish and Urban District is 2,998 acres of land and 54 of water; rateable value, £85,794.
The population of the municipal borough in 1911 was - All Saints' ward, 6,531; Hadfield ward, 6,730, and St. James' ward, 8,427; total, 21,688.
The population of the ecclesiastical parish of All Saints in 1911 was 2,844; Glossop Dale population in 1911 was 21,688, including 9 officers and 118 inmates of the workhouse.
Parish Clerk, Robert Hurst.
Hollybank is a hamlet in the parish.

DINTING, formed into an ecclesiastical parish, 1875, is partly in Glossop borough, and has a station on the Great Central railway. This place is now amalgamated with Glossop and Charlesworth civil parishes. The church of the Holy Trinity, erected by the Wood family, of Glossop, and opened July, 1875, is a building of stone in the Gothic style of the 13th century, and consists of apsidal chancel, nave, aisles, an organ chamber forming a transept on the south side, vestry and a tower at the west end of the south aisle, with pinnacles and an octagonal spire, reaching a height of 137 feet from the ground to the top of the vane, and containing 6 bells: the nave is divided from the aisles by circular stone piers, with moulded caps and bases: the pulpit, of Caen stone and marble, was erected in memory of the patron and founder: the central window of the apse is a memorial to John H. Wood esq. d. 16 Dec. 1869, and was placed by his widow: the font, also presented by Mrs. Wood, consists of a basin of Caen stone on a shaft of red marble: the organ was presented by Mrs. Wood in 1882: there is also a memorial window presented by Mr. Edwin Williams, of Melbourne, Australia, in 1906, in memory of his wife: the building has sittings for 630 persons, 90 of which are free. The register dates from the year 1875. The living is a vicarage, net yearly value £275, with residence, in the gift of the Wood family, and held since 1905 by the Rev. Henry Lawrance M.A. of Queen's College, Oxford. There is a United Methodist chapel, built in 1860, with sittings for 300 persons, 100 of which are free. The population of the ecclesiastical parish in 1911 was 3,293.
Wall Letter Boxes. - Opposite Plough inn, cleared at 9.30 a.m. & 6.30 p.m. & on Sundays at 10.30 a.m.; corner Shaw lane, 9.30 a.m. & 6.30 p.m. & on Sundays at 10.30 a.m

BROOKFIELD is a hamlet, 1 mile north of Dinting station. Here is a cotton mill. The Congregational chapel, erected in 1867, is a building of stone in the Early English style: all the windows are stained: it has 400 sittings.

GAMESLEY is a hamlet 1 mile west of Dinting station. In the hamlet of Gamesley are the remains of a Roman fort, called by the country people from time immemorial "Melandra" and "Melandra Castle;" it stands at the confluence of the Course Brook and the Etherow: it is rectangular in form, with rounded angles, and had three double gateways and a single arched entrance on the south: the length is 398 feet, the breadth 368 feet, and the area 3.36 acres approximately, and in the centre is a square building which contained several chambers, and has been by analogy called the "Praetorium:" a good deal of pottery, terra sigillate and Romano-British ware has been found, as well as glass and floor and roof tiles: Roman coins from 68 to 388 A.D. and a quantity of trade and coin-weights, both Roman and Celtic. The miscellaneous objects include bones, flints, dice, iron, lead and bronze finds; tiles marked with the initials V.V. (Valeria Victrix) of the 20th Legion, and a centurial stone, found here in 1771, and inscribed to Valerius Vitalis, centurion of the 1st cohort of the Frisiavones, which was in Britain, A.D. 105 and 124; it has been concluded that Melandra was occupied as early as 80 A.D. and again, after an, interval in the 3rd and 4th centuries: the summit of this eminence is still called "The Castle Yard," and a tradition exists that Melandra was one of the strongholds of the ancient British in the time of the Saxon invasion. On an opposite hill, called "Mousley," is the site of another traditional castle. Some stones which came from Mousley Castle, inscribed with rude hieroglyphics, are still to be seen walled into the gable end of a house at Hadfield, and are evidently Runic. Both Melandra and Mousley lie on the Roman road from the camp of "Mancunium" (Manchester) to that of " Ad Petuariam" (Brough, near Castleton).
Wall Letter Box cleared at 9.30 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.; Sundays, 10.30 a.m

HADFIELD, together with the township of Padfield, was formed in 1876 into an ecclesiastical parish, but was Aug. 10, 1894, amalgamated with Glossop; it is on the borders of Cheshire, within the borough of Glossop and county court district of Glossop, with a station on the Great Central railway. The church of St. Andrew, erected at a cost of about £4,250 and consecrated July 4th, 1874, is a building in the Gothic style, consisting of apsidal chancel, nave, aisles, south porch, south transept, baptistery, organ chamber and a central bell turret containing one bell: the font, worked in native stone, was presented in 1874 by Mr. James Sherriff, of Christ Church, Canterbury, New Zealand, and formerly of Hadfield, and had previously been exhibited at the Colonial exhibition, Victoria: the richly-embroidered communion cloth was presented by the Rev C. B. Ward M.A. vicar of Whitfield, and the credence table by Mr. Braddock, churchwarden: a new organ was erected in 1879, at a cost of about £650, by James Sidebottom esq. J.P. of Millbrook. Hadfield, as a memorial to his wife: the brass lectern was presented in memory of Beatrice Dawson, at a cost of about £100 : there are 538 sittings. The register of baptisms dates from July 5th, 1874, and of marriages from August, 1875. The living is a vicarage, net yearly value £280, in the gift of Col. William Sidebottom V.D., J.P. and four other trustees, and held since 1875 by the Rev. Joseph Hadfield, of St. Bees, and surrogate. There is a Mission room at Woolley Bridge. The Catholic church, dedicated to St. Charles Borromeo, is an edifice of stone, in the Early English style, erected in 1858 by the late Lord Howard of Glossop, and consisting of nave, aisles, sacristy, batistery and a western tower containing one bell, a memorial to the late Father McDonnell: the beautifully carved high altar was erected in memory of the late Father Hickey: the Lady altar was presenter! by the Right Rev. Monsignor Canon H. Sabela: in the church are several figures carved in stone and many valuable oil paintings, one of these, a copy of Raphael's ''Transfiguration," being placed above the high altar. A new pulpit of Caen stone, marble and alabaster, was erected in 1894 as a memorial of the nomination of the Rt. Rev. Monsignor Canon H. Sabela as domestic prelate to his late Holiness Pope Leo XIII. There are memorial windows to Lord Edward G. Fitzalan Howard, 1st baron Howard of Glossop, d. 1 Dec. 1883, and Augusta (Talbot), his wife, d. 3 July, 1862, and another to Miss Margaret Mary Conlan and Mrs. Dorothea M. Gregory, and an "Ecce Homo" presented by Monsignor H. Sabela. Outside the church is a vault belonging to the Howard family. Adjoining is a presbytery. The Convent of Sisters of Charity of St. Paul, a fine building on the south side of the church, was erected in 1887, at the cost of John Dalton esq. of Rose Bank, Hollingworth. The Wesleyan chapel, built in 1878, has 713 sittings; the Primitive. Methodist chapel, built in 1876, has 500 sittings; the United Methodist chapel, built in 1876 and enlarged in 1885, seats 280. There are several cotton mills, in which the population are employed, and political clubs with news and amusement rooms. Hadfield Hall, the ancient mansion of the Hadfields of Hadfield, dating from 1646, has been converted into a couple of cottages; some years ago the handsome black oak carving was taken down and erected in a farm house on the Glossop estate.
Post, M. 0. & T. Office. - Mrs. Mary A. Wright, sub-postmistress. Letters received through Manchester. Delivery, 7.15 a.m. & 1.30 & 5 p.m.; Sunday, 8.30 a.m.; dispatch, 8.30 & 10.30 a.m. & 1, 7.15 & 9 p.m.; Sunday, 7.15 p.m; on Sunday, telegraph office open from 8.30 till to 10 a.m.
Wall Letter Boxes. - Hadfield Cross, cleared 10.30 a.m. & 12.30, 3, 6.45 & 8.30 p.m.; Sunday, 6.30 p.m. ; Station road, cleared 10.30 a.m. & 12.30, 4.15, 6.45 & 7.45 p.m.; Sunday, 6.55 p.m.; Waterside at 10.15 & 11.55 a.m. & 7 p.m.; Sunday, 5.35 p.m.; Woolley Bridge at 10.15 a.m. & 12.15, 2.15, 6.45 & 8.30 p.m.; Sunday, 9.15 a.m
Letter Bag dispatched to Glossop at 1 p.m. & arrives from Glossop at 4.30 p.m.

PADFIELD, adjoining Hadfield station, 1½ miles north-west from Glossop and partly within that borough, in the High Peak division of the county, hundred of High Peak, parish, union, petty sessional division and county court district of Glossop, is included in the ecclesiastical parish of St. Andrew's, Hadfield. The Wesleyan chapel, erected with Sunday school in 1880 at a cost of £2,000, will seat 400 persons. The population are employed in the cotton mills.
Letters through Manchester, via Hadfield, arrive at 7.30 a.m. & 2.30 & 6 p.m.; Sunday, 8.45 a.m.
Wall Letter Box cleared at 9.30 a.m. & 2.15 & 6.45 p.m.; Sunday, 6.45 p.m

WHITFIELD, in 1844, was formed into an ecclesiastical parish. On Aug.10, 1894, the portion in Glossop borough was added to that parish, and the remainder amalgamated with the new civil parish of Charlesworth. The church of St. James is a building of stone in the Early English style, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles and a western tower with spire and pinnacles containing 8 bells, added in 1884, and a clock placed in 1885 by Miss Wood, of Whitfield House: the organ, erected in 1860, was enlarged in 1870, 1880 and 1896, and repaired in 1908 at a cost of £850: the brass eagle lectern was presented by Miss Wood, of Whitfield House, in 1882; and two stained windows have also been inserted to the memory of John, Daniel and Samuel Wood: the church was enlarged in 1895-6 by the erection of a chancel and vestry and the whole interior reseated at a cost, including special gifts, of over £4,000: there are 1,100 sittings, 550 being free. The register dates from the year 1846. The living is a vicarage, not value £320, with residence, in the gift of John and S. H. Wood esqrs. and held since 1904 by the Rev William Martin Martin-Ellis M.A. of Hatfield Hall, Durham. The vicarage house, a stone building near the church, has been considerably enlarged since 1872. The church of St. Luke, also in this parish, was built in 1906 by Mrs. S. Wood, of Moorfield, at a cost of £5,000, and consecrated by the Bishop of Derby on St. Luke's Day in that year. The Rev Hubert Thomas Parks M.A., LL.B. Of Magdalene College, Cambridge, has been curate in charge since 11908. There are Mission rooms in Chapel street and Wood street. The Sumner Memorial Catholic church, Sumner street, dedicated to St. Mary, founded and endowed by the late Francis James Sumner esq. D.C.L. of Park Hall, Hayfield, and erected in 1887 by his heirs on a site granted by the late Lord Howard of Glossop, at a cost of about £17,000, including £5,000 for endowment, is an edifice of local stone in the Early English style, consisting of apsidal chancel, clerestoried nave of eight bays, aisles, side chapels, baptistery, south porch and an eastern turret with spire and ornamental finial, rising to a height of 90 feet and containing one bell: a stone screen separates the chancel from the side chapels: the altar and tabernacle are elaborately carved in alabaster, marble and Caen stone, and the pulpit is also of Caen stone: the organ cost about £500: stations of the cross were added in 1889 at a cost of about £150: there are sittings for 900 persons: adjoining the church is a presbytery, built in 1889, by the Right Rev. Canon Charles W. Tasker, late rector, to the memory of John Sumner esq.; and near the Catholic school, in St. Mary's road, is a convent for the Sisters of Charity of St. Paul. In 1908 a memorial altar and stained window were erected to the late Right Rev Canon Charles W. Tasker. Littlemoor Congregational chapel, founded in 1811, has 800 sittings. Littlemoor Congregational schools, Victoria street, erected in 1881 at a cost, including fittings, of about £3,000, form a building of stone in the Italian style, and will hold 700 scholars; the schools are also used for lectures and concerts, and can be arranged so as to seat 1,000 persons: the front entrance, facing Victoria street, is surmounted by a turret 75 feet high. The Gospel Union Mission hall, in Ellison street, erected in 1888, is of stone in the Gothic style, and will seat 800 persons. The Whitfield Free Library, now (1912) containing 650 volumes, and the adjoining recreation ground were presented to the people of Glossop by George Ollerenshaw esq. of Mere Hall, Knutsford, in 1902. Whitfield House, the residence of John Wood esq. M.A., M.P., D.L., J.P. is a large
stone building in the Elizabethan style, standing in its own grounds. Lord Howard of Glossop is lord of the manor and principal landowner. The inhabitants are employed in the large cotton and paper mills just outside the township and in the bleach works within its boundaries. The soil is various; subsoil, clay. The chief crops are oats, hay and pasture. The population of the ecclesiastical parish in 1911 was 8,427.
Charlestown is a place here.

CHUNAL is 2 miles south from Glossop and partly within that borough, in the High Peak division of the county, hundred of High Peak, parish, petty sessional division, union and county court district of Glossop, and in the ecclesiastical parish of Whitfield; part is included in Glossop civil parish, the remainder being in Charlesworth civil parish.

OFFICIAL ESTABLISHMENTS, LOCAL INSTITUTIONS &c.
Post, M.O., T. & Telephonic Express Delivery Office, Norfolk square. - James A. Waterston, postmaster. Letters arrive via Manchester at 6.16 a.m. & 12.15, 1.30 & 5 p.m.; dispatched to Manchester & all parts at 8.30 & 10.15 a.m. & 12.50, 2.15, 4.50, 7.20 & 9.20 p.m. Money order office & post office savings bank open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.; postal orders & stamps issued to 8 p.m. Telegraph & telephone call office open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m
Town Sub-Post & M.O.O., S. B. & A. & I. Office. - Mrs. Sarah J. Norbury, Wellgate, sub-postmistress. Letters dispatched at 9.45 a.m. & 12.30, 2.15, 6.45 & 8 p.m.; Sundays, 6.30 p.m
Town Sub-Post & M.O.O., S. B. & A. & I. Office. - George Kinder, sub-postmaster, High street west. Letters dispatched at 9.15 a.m. & 2.15 & 6.45 p.m
Town Sub-Post & M.O. Office, Victoria st. Whitfield. - Mrs. Lizzie Smith, sub-postmistress. Letters dispatched at 9.45 a.m. & 12.30, 2.15, 6.45 & 9 p.m.; Sundays, 6 p.m
Post Office Telephone Public Call Office, Norfolk sq. - Miss M. J. Kenny, operator

CORPORATION. 1911-12.
Mayor - Councillor Francis Gordon Knowles.
Deputy Mayor - Alderman James Malkin.
Aldermen.
Retire Nov. 1914.
Brook Furniss
Edward Partington
Retire Nov. 1917.
William Holdgate
James Malkin
William White
Councillors.
All Saints' Ward.
Returning Officer for Ward Elections,
Retire Nov.
John Hardman............ 1912
William Cliffe Jones.....1912
Fras. Gordon Knowles..1913
George Wharmby ......1913
Thos. Swindells Bowden 1914
Samuel Gregory .........1914
St. James' Ward. Returning Officer for Ward Elections, Alderman Brook Furniss.
George Bradbury.........1912
Edwin Collier ............1912
George Kinder............1912
William Newton .........1913
Ralph Bennett Sidebottom ..................1913
Herbert Partington......1914
Hadfield Ward. Returning Officer for Ward Elections, Alderman William White.
Thomas Braddock...1912
Ernest Willis... ........ ....1912
William Jackson .........1913
John Platt..................1913
Tom Aldous ...............1914
Levi Lee.....................1914
Elective Auditor,

OFFICERS OF THE CORPORATION.
Town Clerk, Theo. Walter Ellison, Norfolk chambers, Henry street
Borough Treasurer, Harry Broadhurst, Norfolk square
Medical Officer of Health, Duncan John Mackenzie M.D., C.M. Loch Maree, North road
Public Analyst, J. Carter Bell, Manchester
Borough Auditor, John W. Hirst, Alexandra buildings, 28 Queen street, Manchester
Surveyor, Thomas Haynes, Town hall
Veterinary Surgeon under "Diseases of Animals Acts," George Ellis M.R.C.V.S. Fauvel road
Water Inspector, John Garner, 46 Church street
Chief Constable & Inspector of Hackney Carriages & Capt. of Fire Brigade, John G. Hodgson, Ellison st Inspector of Police, Joseph Renshaw, Albert st. Hadfield
Sanitary & Lighting Inspector, Samuel Dane, Town hall
Baths Superintendent, S. Whitehead
Park Superintendent, P. Rowbottom
Collectors, General District Rate, No. 1 district, Frank Furniss, Town hall, Glossop; No. 2 district, James Alston Bridge, Town hall, Glossop; Water, Thomas Rhodes; Hadfield district, John C. Nield, North road, Glossop

BOROUGH MAGISTRATES.
The Mayor
Bowden William H. Howard street, Glossop
Hardman John, Ingle Nook, Glossop
Holdgate William, The Tower, North road, Glossop
Hunter Thos. Pearson, The Poplars, Talbot rd. Glossop
Knowles Charles E. Holmdale, North road, Glossop
Malkin James, Moorside house, Glossop
Merry James, St. Mary's road, Glossop
Partington Edward, Easton, Glossop
Shepley Charles Woffenden, Gamesley house, Gamesley
Sidebottom Ralph B. Hollincross lane, Glossop
Sidebottom Col. William V.D. Harewood lodge, Broadbottom, Cheshire
Swire Thomas, High street west, Glossop
Waterhouse Ezra, Surrey street, Glossop
White William M.D. Hadfield road, Hadfield
Wood Samuel Hill, Moorfield, Glossop
Clerk, Theo. Walt. Ellison, Norfolk chmbrs. Henry st
The magistrates meet on Monday at the Town hall every fortnight at 2.30 p.m

COUNTY MAGISTRATES FOR GLOSSOP PETTY SESSIONAL DIVISION.
Partington Edward esq. Easton, High st. east, Glossop (chairman)
Barr John esq. Dinting lodge, Glossop
Brown James esq. Chisworth house, Charlesworth
Howard of Glossop Lord, Glossop hall, Glossop
Ollerenshaw George esq. Mere hall, Knutsford
Partington Herbert esq. Talbot house, Glossop
Partington Oswald esq. Westwood, Grantham
Platt Edward esq. Mersey bank, Hadfield, Manchester
Sidebottom Col. William V.D. Harewood lodge, Broadbottom, Cheshire
Wainwright Lt.-Col. Charles Richard, Norwood, Marple
Wainwright Joel esq. Finchwood, Marple Bridge,Stockprt
Wood John esq. M.A., M.P.. D.L. Whitfield ho. Glossop
Woodhouse Percy esq. Marple Bridge, Stockport
The mayor of Glossop & the chairman, for the time being, of the Glossop Dale Rural District Council, are ex-officio magistrates
Clerk to the Magistrates, Theo. Walt. Ellison, Norfolk chambers, Henry street.
Petty Sessions are held at the Town hall at intervals of three or four weeks, at 11.30 a.m. Thursdays The following places are included in the division:- Charlesworth, Chisworth, Chunal, Compstall, Ludworth, Marple Bridge & Simmondley

GLOSSOP LOCAL PENSION COMMITTEE.
The Committee, consisting of 24 members, was formed in 1908.
Meetings are held at the Town hall, monthly, on notice.
Chairman, Herbert Partington J.P. Talbot house
Clerk, George Harrison Eaton Jones, Norfolk chambers, Henry street
Pension Officer, J. E. Pepper, Norfolk street

GLOSSOP DALE RURAL DISTRICT COUNCIL.
The parishes in the District are:- Charlesworth, Chisworth & Ludworth. The area is 17,891 acres ; the population in 1911 was 4,010.
Council meets at the Board room, Ellison street, on Wednesdays, monthly, at 12 noon.
Chairman, Samuel Gregory, Jumble farm, Glossop
Officials.
Clerk, Thomas Swindells Bowden, Ellison st. Glossop
Treasurer, Harry Broadhurst, Manchester & Liverpool District Bank, Glossop
Medical Officer of Health, Duncan J. Mackenzie M.D., C.M. Loch Maree, North road, Glossop
Sanitary Inspector & Highway Surveyor, R. G. Hawke, Ellison street, Glossop

PUBLIC ESTABLISHMENTS.
Borough Police Office, Ellison street, John G. Hodgson, chief constable; 1 inspector, 4 sergts. & 23 constables
Borough Police Station, Albert street, Hadfield, Joseph Renshaw, inspector, & 6 constables
Cemetery, Cemetery road, Hadfield, George Henry Wilson, clerk; offices, Norfolk square
Convalescent Home, North road, Miss Margaret Milne, matron
County Court, His Honor W. Denman Benson, judge; Percy Edwd. Ireland, registrar & high bailiff; office, Market st. open from 10 to 4, on Saturday from 10 till 1. The county court is held at the Town hall & comprises the following parishes:- Arnfield & district of Tintwistle, Brownside, Charlesworth, Chisworth, Chunal, Dinting, Gamesley, Glossop, Hadfield, Hollingworth, Padfield, Phoside, Simmondley, Torside, Whitfield, Woodhead & Woolley Bridge.
For Bankruptcy purposes this Court is included in that of Ashton-under-Lyne, John Grant Gibson, official receiver; Frederick Murgatroyd, assistant official receiver, Byrom street, Manchester
Certified Bailiffs under the "Law of Distress Amendment Act" Edwin Collier, Norfolk street & John T. Goddard, Howard street
Free Library & Public Hall, Fauvel road, Miss Bessie Hodgson, librarian
Howard Park, North road
Labour Exchange (Board of Trade), 16 High street east
Public Baths, The Park, Silvester Whitehead, manager
Theatre Royal, Victoria street, Sydney Spenser, proprietor & manager
Town Hall, High street west
Whitfield Free Library (branch of Glossop Free Library), Freetown, William Heeks, caretaker
Wood's Hospital, The Park, Arthur Walker M.R.C.S.Eng., L.R.C.P.Lond. Robt. Nelson M.D., M.Ch.R.U.I. Duncan John Mackenzie M.D., C.M.Aberd. Hector Mackenzie M.B., Ch.B.Vict. Alex. C. Nicol L.R.C.P.Lond., M.R.C.S.Eng. Thos. M. R. Waddell L.R.F.P.S.Glas., L.R.C.P. & L.R.C.S.Edin. William James Bowden M.B., Ch.B.Vict. Joseph Hadfield M.B., C.M. Aberd. & Harry Waytes Pomfret M.D.Vict., F.R.C.S.Eng. medical officers; R. W. Bollans esq. hon. sec.; Miss Stubbs, matron.

TERRITORIAL FORCE.
6th Battalion Cheshire Regiment (D Company), Drill hall; Lieut. G. B. Heywood, commanding; Major R. B. Sidebottom R.A.M.C. (T.F.), medical officer; Rev. W. J. Canton (T.F.), chaplain; Isaac Liggins, sergt.-instructor.

GLOSSOP UNION.
The union comprises the following parishes:- Charlesworth, Chisworth, Glossop & Ludworth. The area of the union is 20,943 acres; rateable value, Lady Day, 1912, £122,447; the population in 1911 was 25,698
Board day, every alternate Wednesday, at 2.30 p.m.
Chairman of the Board of Guardians, E. Waterhouse, Surrey street, Glossop
Clerk to the Guardians & Assessment Committee, Thomas Swindells Bowden, Ellison street, Glossop
Treasurer, Harry Broadhurst, Manchester & Liverpool District Bank, Norfolk square, Glossop
Relieving Officer, Levi Robinson James, Ellison st. Glossop
Vaccination Officer, Charles Beard, Norfolk square
Medical Officers, No. 1 district, Joseph Hadfield M.B., C.M.Aberd. 47 Norfolk street, Glossop; No. 2 district. R. Wilfred Bollans M.B., Ch.B. Railway street, Hadfield; No. 3 district, Charles Henry Hibbert L.R.C.P. & S.Edin. Marple Bridge
Public Vaccinator for the Union, Arthur Walker M.R.C.S., L.R.C.P.Lond. 16 High street west
Workhouse, to hold 144 inmates, John Warrington, master; William James Bowden M.B., Ch.B.Vict. medical officer; Mrs. Hannah Warrington, matron.

GLOSOP REGISTRATION DISTRICT
Superintendent Registrar, Rufus Hartley, Market st.; deputy, Arthur France, Market street
Registrar of Births, Deaths & Marriages, Glossop sub-district, Thos. Swindells Bowden, Ellison st. Glossop

PUBLIC OFFICERS.
Assistant Overseer, David Massey, 62 High street east
Clerk to the Burial Board, Geo. Hy. Wilson, Norfolk sq
Coroner for the Honor of Tutbury & Hundred of High Peak, Sydney Taylor, 9A, Terrace road, Buxton; deputy, Francis Gordon Knowles, Ellison st. Glossop
Customs & Excise Officer, John Edwin Pepper,Norfolk st
Market Inspector, John C. Nield, North road
Stamp Distributor, James A. Waterston, Post office, Norfolk square

PLACES OF WORSHIP, with times of services.
Parish Church, Rev. Charles Dudley Hart L.Th. vicar; 8 & 10.45 a.m. & 2-30 & 6.30 p.m. & holy days, 11 a.m.; wed. & fri.11 a.m. & 7.30 p.m
Holy Trinity, Dinting, Rev. Henry Lawrance M.A. vicar; 10.30 a.m. & 6.30 p.m. ; thurs. 7.30 p.m
St. Andrew, Hadfield, Rev. Joseph Hadfield, vicar & surrogate; 10.30 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.; wed. 7.30 p.m
St. James', Whitfield, Rev. William Martin Martin-Ellis M.A. vicar; 8 & 10.30 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.; daily, 9.30 a.m. & 5 p.m.; wed. 7 p.m
St. James' Mission Room, Chapel street; 3.15 p.m
St. Luke's, Whitfield, Rev. Hubert Thomas Parks M.A., LL.B. curate in charge; 8 & 10.30 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.; thurs. 7.30 p.m
Sumner Memorial Catholic Church (St. Mary's), Sumner street, Very Rev. Canon W. A. Hawkins M.R. & Rev. Leo Arendzen, priests; 8, 9.30 & 11 a.m. & 3.15 & 6.30 p.m.; daily at 8 a.m.; thurs. & sat. 7.30 p.m.; holidays of obligation, 5 & 9 a.m
All Saints' Catholic, Rev. William Reginald Winder, priest; 8.3.0, 9.30 & 11 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.; daily, 8. a.m.; wed. 7.30 p.m
St. Charles Borromeo, Catholic, Hadfield, Right Rev. Mgr. Canon Hermann Sabela, priest; 8.30 & 11 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.; daily, 7 a.m.; thurs. 7.30 p.m.; holidays of obligation, 5 & 8.30 a.m
Congregational, Littlemoor, Rev. William Pillans Rankin; 10.30 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.; wed. 7.30 p.m.; seat 800 Congregational, St. Mary's road (Mount Pleasant),; 10.30 a.m. & 6 p.m.; wed. 7.30 p.m.; seat 600
Congregational, Brookfield. Rev. John Henry Robinson; 10.45 a.m. & 6 p.m.; alternate weds. 7.30 p.m
Primitive Methodist. Rev.William Loveday Spooner. Shrewsbury street; 10.30 a.m. & 6 p.m.; seat 730.
United Methodist. Rev. Robert Jewel Edwards. Hall Street; 10.30 a.m. & 6 p.m.; alternate weds. 7.30 p.m.; seat 450
Dinting, Simmondley lane; 10.30 a.m. & 6 p.m
Hadfield, Station road; 2.30 & 6 p.m
Whitfield; 2.30 & 6 p.m.; thurs. 7.30 p.m.; seat 400.
Unitarian, Fitzalan street, Rev. Jenkyn Thomas; 10.45 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.; seat 300
Wesleyan Methodist, High street west, Rev. Hy. Geo. Weston (supt.) & Rev. Stanley F. Hubbard; 10.30 a.m. & 6 p.m.; seat 940.
Wesley street, 10.30 a.m. & 6 p.m.; thurs. 7.30 p.m.; seat 580.
Whitfield, 2.30 & 6 p.m.; wed. 7.30 p.m.; seat 400.
Hadfield, 10.30 a.m. & 6 p.m. Padfield, 10.30 a.m. & 6 p.m
Wesleyan Reformers, Howard st. Rev. Ernest Dennis; 10.30 a.m. & 6 p.m.; tues. 7.30 p.m
Hadfield Mission Room, Princes street
Salvation Army Hall, Edward street; 11 a.m. & 6.45 p.m

SCHOOLS.
Under the provisions of the "Education Act, 1902," an Education Committee has been formed, consisting of
36 members
The Committee meets at the Town hall on the third Monday in each month (except August) at 8 p.m Chairman, Alderman Brook Furniss
Officers.
Secretary to the Committee, Joseph Walkden, Howard chambers
School Medical Officer, Duncan John Mackenzie M.D., C.M.Aberd. Loch Maree, North road
Attendance Officers, Harold Appleton, Simmondley lane; & Joseph Hadfield Sidebottom, Fauvel road
The Borough of Glossop Secondary (mixed) School, Talbot street, erected in 1900 by Lord Howard of Glossop, comprises physical & chemical laboratories, art rooms, a mechanical drawing room, a "workshop' & a dynamo house. The laboratories are well equipped with modern apparatus & appliances. There are now (1912) 62 boys & 43 girls. The school is controlled by the Higher Education Committee of the Borough of Glossop; Ralph H. Dickinson Univ.Lond. head master, with 5 assistants & 8 visiting teachers

PUBLIC ELEMENTARY SCHOOLS.
Brookfield (mixed), built in 1889, for 300 children; average attendance, 160; Walter Adshead, master; Miss Sarah Marsden, mistress
Hadfield, Council (mixed), erected in 1908, for 300 children; average attendance, 167; Benjamin Whiteley, master; Miss Margaret Loxley, infants' mistress
Littlemoor, Council, Victoria street (mixed), built in 1881, for 700 children; average attendance, 257; Hy. Lindsay Hudson, master
Dinting, C. E. (mixed), built in 1875 & enlarged by Mrs. Wood in 1887, for 320 children & 80 infants; average attendance, 150 children & 52 infants; Thos. Beardwood, master; Miss Ada B. Consterdine, infants' mistress
Dinting, United Methodist (mixed), erected 1889, for 323 children; average attendance, 96; Ernest M. Penney, master; Miss Irene Booth, mistress
Duke of Norfolk, C. E. Old Glossop, with master's residence, built & endowed in 1852 by Henry Charles, 13th Duke of Norfolk, & enlarged in 1887, for 250 boys, 250 girls & 100 infants; average attendance, 51 boys, 49 girls & 46 infants; Edgar Ollerhead, master; Miss Gertrude Oldham, mistress
Hadfield, C. E. (mixed & infants), erected 1855, for 320 children; average attendance, 210; Percy John Holloway, master; Mrs. Hutchinson, mistress
Padfield (mixed), erected in 1887, for 255 children; average attendance, 184; William Lees Marshall, master; Mrs. Hannah Shepherd, mistress
Talbot st. C. E. (girls & infants), built in 1880 & enlarged in 1897, for 350 children; average attendance, 230; William Hankinson, master; Miss Bentham, mistress
Waterside, Hadfield, C. E. (infants'), built in 1872, for 170 children; average attendance, 45; Mrs. Martha
Ann Fox, mistress
Whitfield, C. E. (mixed & infants), for 580 children; average attendance, 510; F. H. Morris, master; Miss Gertrude Bradwell, infants' mistress
Catholic, St. Mary's road, for 400 children; average attendance, 200; Sisters of the Order of St. Paul,.
teachers
Catholic, Old Glossop (mixed), for 120 children; average attendance, 60; Presentation Sisters, teachers Catholic, Hadfield (mixed), built in 1858 & enlarged in 1904, for 300 children; average attendance, 197,
Sisters of the Order of St. Paul, teachers
Wesleyan, High street (mixed & infants), erected 1851, for 400 children; average attendance, 237; Mrs. Furniss, mistress
Wesleyan, Old Glossop (mixed), erected 1824, rebuilt 1876, for 300 children; average attendance, 124;
Walter Houseman, master; Miss Cooper, mistress
Endowed, Whitfield (mixed), with master's residence, founded in 1779 by Joseph Hague esq. of Park hall, Hayfield, & endowed with £39 yearly, for 144 children; average attendance, 70; Walter P. Evason, master; Mrs. Elizabeth Ann Evason, mistress

RAILWAY STATIONS.
Glossop, John H. Schofield, station master
Dinting, Thomas Jackson, station master
Hadfield, William James Tippetts, station master
The Urban Electric Supply Co.'s Cars to Hadfield & Whitfield every 15 minutes

GLOSSOP.
Private Residents.
Abraham Chas. Arth. Spire Hollin ho
Addison Jas. Hy. Highfield,Talbot rd
Allen Edward Wagstaffe, Lee mount
Andrew Mrs. Holmleigh, North road
Arendzen Rev. Leo (Catholic), Sumner street
Armitage William, Spire Hollin
Barlow Mrs. John, 39 Charlestown
Batten John, 27 Norfolk street
Beever George, Rydal mount, Dinting road
Bethell Mrs. 77 Charlestown road
Bowden Thos. Sawdells, 3 Wellgate
Bowden William James M.B., Ch.B. (Vict.), 47 Norfolk street
Bramall James, Spire Hollin
Broadhurst Harry, Bank ho. Norfolk sq
Buxton Mrs. Hurst villa. The Hurst
Chapman Mrs. 49 Norfolk street
Chappel Raphael, Dinting road
Charlesworth Theodore, Arundel vils. North road
Collier Edwin, Sheffield road
Collier Mrs. 44 Sheffield road
Cooper Mrs. 43 Primrose lane
Crossland Walter, 6 North road
Cunnington William, Fauvel road
Cuthbert John, Spire Hollin
Davis Mrs. Dinting road
Dearnaley Joseph, Parkfld ho. Nrth. rd
Dennis Rev. Ernest (Wesleyan Reformers), 26 Howard street
Dickinson Ralph Herbert, Spire Hollin
Draper Albert, Sheffield road
Edwards Rev. Robert Jewel (United Methodist), One Ash, Slateland's rd
Ellis George, Fauvel road
Fairclough Walt. P. Mus.Bac.F.R.C.O. Shaw street
Fielding Thomas Charles, Wren Nest, Sunlaws street
Greaves William, Sheffield road
Hadfield John, Ashlands, Dinting rd
Hadfield Joseph M.B., C.M. Hollincross house, Hollincross lane
Hadfield Miss, Cowbrook, Sheffield rd
Hadfield Thomas, 75 Norfolk street
Hall Frederick James, Sunny bank, North road
Hall John Robert, 105 Victoria street
Hardman Jn. Ingle Nook, Dinting rd
Harrison Abel, Spire Hollin
Hart Rev. Charles Dudley L.Th. (vicar), The Vicarage
Hawkins Rev. Canon W. A. (Catholic), Sumner street
Holdgate Wm. The Tower, North road
Hollingbery Misses, The Hurst
Holmes Frank, Turn Lee road
Houseman Walter, 42 Sheffield road
Howard of Glossop Lord J.P. Glossop hall, Glossop; & Dorlin house, Acharacle, Argyllshire; & 19 Rutland gate, London S W
Howton Rev. Richard, Spire Hollin
Hudson Harry Lindsay, Spire Hollin
Hunter Harold, Ain Garth, Dinting rd
Hunter Thomas Pearson, The Poplars, Talbot road
Hurst John, 43 Sheffield road
Hutchinson Rev. Edgar Robert M.A. (vicar of St. James', Woodhead, nr. Manchester), Talbot road
Hyde John, Heatherlea, Dinting rd
Ireland Percy E. Slatelands road
Isherwood William, 28 High st. east
Jackson Herbt. Hill side, North road
Jackson Isaac, Holly mount
Jackson Samuel, 25 Simmondley lane
Knowles Chas. E. Holmdale, North rd
Knowles Francis Gordon, Beechwood, North road
Lake George, Lee Mount
Lawton Mrs. James, 51 Norfolk st
Leech Alfred, Cowbrook cottage, Sheffield road
McArdle James, Sunny view, Hope st
Mackenzie Duncan John M.D., C.M. Loch Maree, North road
Mackenzie Hector M.B. Lock Maree, North road
Malkin James, Moorside
Martin-Ellis Rev. William Martin (vicar of St. James' & St. Luke's), Vicarage, Whitfield
Maxwell John, Lee Mount
Merry Fdk. J. Cowbrook, Sheffield rd
Merry James, 86 St. Mary's road
Mitchell Julian, 32 High street east
Moorlands Mrs. Sheffield road
Morris Fredk. 8 Hague st. Whitfield
Moseley Ben, Spire Hollin
Nelson Jas. Milford ho. North road
Nelson Robert M.D. Norfolk street
Newton William, Spire Hollin
Nicol A. Campbell, 93 High street we
Nield Mrs. North road
Nuttall John, Greystoke, Dinting rd
Ollerenshaw Miss, Clare ho. Talbot st
Ollerenshaw Robt. Percival, Talbot st
Ollerhead Edgar, 47 Sheffield road
Parks Rev. Hubert Thomas M.A., LL.B. (curate in charge of St. Luke's), Fauvel road
Partington Edward J.P. Easton, High street east
Partington Herbert J.P. Talbot ho. Talbot road
Rankin Rev. William Pillans (Congregational), 2 Gladstone street
Renshaw Rev. Joseph Robinson, 19 Norfolk street
Robinson Mrs. Spire Hollin
Robinson William D. Sheffield road
Rowbottom Oswald, Shepley street
Schofield Fredk. The Firs, Talbot rd.
Sharpe Fredk. Walt. 85 Primrose la
Sidebottom Ralph Bennett, Hollincross lane
Sidey William, 45 Sheffield road
Smith Alfred B. Ryecroft ho. Hall st
Smith Crosland, The Coombs, Dinting road
Smith Sidney, Oakleigh, North road
Spooner Rev. William Loveday (Primitive Methodist), Shrewsbury street
Stapley Harry, Sheffield road
Taylor David, Spire Hollin
Thomas Rev. Jenkyn (Unitarian), Park croft, Dinting road
Thorp Herbert Ernest, The Cedars, Sheffield road
Thorpe Harold, Woodleigh, North rd
Waddell Thomas M. R. Victoria st
Walkden Joseph, 29 Lord street
Walker Arthur, 16 High street west
Ward Ernest A. B. The Hurst
Waterhouse Thomas, 23 Norfolk street
Werschy Hans, Arundel vils. North rd
Weston Rev Henry George(Wesleyan
Methodist), Talbot road Winder Rev. W. R. (Catholic), Sumner street
Wood John M.A., M.P., D.L., J.P. Whitfield house, Glossop; Hengrave hall. Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk & Forrest lodge, Galloway, N.B. ; & Carlton, Bachelors' & Constitutional clubs, London
Wood Mrs. John, Spire Hollin
Wood Mrs. Samuel, Moorfield house
Wood Peter, Ivyleigh, Sheffield road
Woolley Mrs. E. 10 North road
Wragg Samuel, Sheffield road

Commercial.
Abraham Charles Arthur, estate agent to Lord Howard of Glossop, Estate offices, Spire Hollin
Adshead Frederick W. Crown inn, 142 Victoria street
Ainsworth Fred, boot repairer, 381 High street west
Allman Elizabeth (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 27 Bernard street
Allott Matthew, farmer, Moorfield
Amps & Shelton (Misses), ladies' school, Primrose house
Appleton Harold,school attendance officer, Simmondley la
Arrowsmith Thos. clog & patten ma. 132 High st. west
Ash Israel, shopkeeper, Mill street
Ashton Frank, grocer, 55 Hollincross lane
Ashton Fred, boot maker, 44 High street west
Ashton George, shopkeeper, 8 Gladstone street
Ashton Herbert, insurance agent, 42 St. Mary's road
Ashton Lee, shopkeeper, 159 High street west
Ashton Wilfrid, boot maker, 64 Victoria street
Aveson Annie (Miss), shopkeeper, 197 High street west
Bagshaw Arthur, cabinet maker, 26 & 28 High st. west
Bagshaw Sidney L. artificial teeth manufr. 8 Charles st
Ballington Samuel William, butcher, 143 Gladstone st
Bamforth Alice (Miss), shopkeeper, 85 High street east
Barber Edwin Owen, Bridge inn, Market street
Barber John, coal dealer, 39 Gladstone street
Barlow Herbert, tobacconist, 2 Charlestown road
Bastian Sarah Jane (Mrs), shopkeeper, 267 High st west
Bates Herbert, aerated water manufr. see Wilson & Bates
Batley Ernest, photographer. 8 Norfolk street
Beard Jessie & Annie (Misses), confectioners,54 High st. we
Beard Charles, vaccination officer, Norfolk square
Beard John, tripe dealer, 134 High street west
Bennett Benjamin, wheelwright, see Wilde & Bennett
Bennett Ellen (Mrs.), beer retailer, 96 Victoria street
Bennett George, news agent, 199 High street east
Bennett James, photographer, 14a, High street east
Bentley Charles, insurance agent, 25 Duke street
Benton Sarah (Miss), shopkpr. 1 Princess st.& 2 Mount st
Berrisford John, shopkeeper, 12 Turn Lee road
Berry Ann (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 76 High street east
Beswick James, hair dresser, 230 High street west
Beth-Rapha Home of Rest (Rev. Joseph Robinson Renshaw, pastor), 19 Norfolk street
Bill Posting & Advertising Co. Lim. (John Kidd Hollingberry, sec.), Howard chambers, Howard street
Birch William, Ross & Crown P.H. 89 High street west
Blackburn William Arthur, insurance agent, 67 Pike's la
Blackman Albert George, assistant supt. Prudential Assurance Co. Limited, 29 Shrewsbury street
Blackwell Mary (Mrs.), apartments, 100 Victoria street
Blount Sarah Ann (Mrs.), watch & clock repairer, 96 High street west
Board of Trade Labour Exchange (Abel Harrop, manager), 16 High street east
Boardman & Sons, wheelwrights & smiths, Manor street
Boardman Walter, hair dresser, 85 Victoria street
Bond David, assistant supt. Wesleyan & General Assurance Society, 11 Sumner street
Booth Albert Edward, baker, 30 Queen street
Booth Benjamin, confectioner, 40 High street east
Booth Ethel (Mrs.), certified midwife, 15 Sunlaws street
Booth Rowland, shopkeeper, 10 James street
Boots Cash Chemists (Lancashire) Ltd. 19 High st. west
Borough of Glossop Education Office (Joseph Walkden. sec.), Howard chambers
Borough of Glossop Technical School (Ralph H. Dickinson, head master), Talbot street
Bowden Fred, shopkeeper, 8 Hall street
Bowden Joe, shopkeeper, 124 St. Mary's road
Bowden Samuel, farmer, Heath
Bowden Thomas Swindells, registrar of births, deaths & marriages for Glossop sub-district, & clerk to Glossop Dale Rural District Council & clerk to the guardians & assessment committee, Ellison street
Bowden Wm. Hy. builder & timber merchant, Howard st
Bowden William James M.B., Ch.B.Vict. surgeon & medical officer for the union, Glossop district, 47 Norfolk st
Bowler George, baker, 20 High street east
Boyd Henry, shopkeeper, 97 Pike's lane
Bradbury George & Co. grocers, 385 High street west
Bradbury .Albert, farmer, Whitfield green
Bradbury Charles, butcher, 141 Victoria street
Bradbury Clara (Miss), dress maker, 65 Victoria street
Bradbury George, insurance agent, 15 Sheffield road
Bradbury James, stationer, 57 High street east
Bradbury Thomas E, grocer, 16 Princess street
Bradbury Walter, beer retailer, 3 Norfolk street
Bradbury William, gamekeeper to Lord Howard of Glossop, Sheffield road
Bradbury William, hair dresser, 6 Victoria street
Braddock Eli &Son, estate & shipping agts., 55 High. st. ea
Braddock George, insurance agent 70 Simmondley lane
Braddock Walter, cycle maker, 53 High street east
Bradley George, beer retailer, 5 Bernard street
Bradley Gustavus, draper, 90 High street west
Bradley Hector, shopkeeper, 6 Chapel street
Bradley Ralph, beer retailer, 11 Chapel street
Bramwell Ruth (Mrs.), confectioner, 98 High st. west
Bridge Elizabeth (Miss), shopkeeper, 2 Whitfield cross
Bridge James Alston, assistant overseer & collector of general district rate No. 2 district. Town hall
Briggs Charlie, stationer & tobacconist, 1 High st. west
Broadhurst Elizabeth Ann (Miss), dress maker, 10 John st
Broadhurst Harry, manager of the Manchester & Liverpool District Bank & borough treasurer & treasurer to the union & rural district council, Norfolk square
Bromhall Jane (Mrs.), saddler, 66 High street west
Bromhall William, chipped potato dealer, Dearnley row
Brownson Geo. Ltd. tailors, 2 High st. ea. & Victoria st
Buckley James Henry, pawnbroker, 13 High street west
Buckley Joseph Edwin, grocer, 61 High street west
Bullous James, poultry farmer, Simmondley lane
Bunting Joseph, hair dresser, 13 Victoria street
Bunting Joseph Hague, photographer, 83 Victoria street
Burford Henry, fried fish dealer, 60 Victoria street
Burrows Joseph, stationer, 55 High street west
Buxton William, farmer, Hurst farm
Byrom Alice (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 36 Church street
Byrom John, insurance agent, 50 Princess street
Carnall Robert, farmer, Hobroyd
Carnall William, grocer, Victoria street
Carr Walter, confectioner, 23 High street west & beer retailer, 1 Market street
Cartwright Charles, florist, 91 High street west
Cash & Co. boot & shoe makers, 1 Victoria street
Castick James, shopkeeper, 131 Hall street
Cemetery (Hadfield) (George Henry Wilson, clerk); offices, Norfolk square
Chadwick John C. clothier, 2 Cross street & boot & shoe dealer, 41 & 43 High street west
Chapman Albert, hair dresser, 187 High street east
Chapman Arthur Philip, hair dresser, 14 Norfolk street
Charlesworth Alfred, Norfolk Arms hotel, Norfolk square
Charlesworth Frederick, butcher, 244 High street west
Charlesworth Frederick, Junction inn, 379 High st. west
Charlesworth George, beer retailer, 99 High street east
Charlesworth George, butcher, 36 High street west
Childs Thomas, furniture dealer, 100 High street west
Clark Benjamin, insurance agent, 226 High street west
Cluskey George, furniture dealer, 3, 5 & 7 George street
Cockayne Samuel, wheelwright, Surrey street
Colley May (Miss), shopkeeper, Sheffield road
Collier Edwin,auctioneer & valuer & certified bailiff under the "Law of Distress Amendment Act," Norfolk street
Conner Eliza (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 271 High street west
Conservative & Unionist Association (High Peak division) (Sidney Smith, registration agent), Norfolk st
Convalescent Home (Miss Margt. Milne,matron), North rd
Cooper Mark, insurance agent, Simmondley lane
County Court Office (His Honor W. Denman Benson,.judge; P. E. Ireland, registrar & high bailiff), Market street
Crompton Joseph, beer retailer, 78 High street west
Crossland Wm. W. cotton waste dlr. Arrundel Street mill
Custom & Excise Office (John Edwin Pepper, officer), Norfolk street
Cuthbert Edwin, tripe dresser, 166 High street west
Cuthbert John, tobacconist, 80 High street west
Cuthbert John S. beer retailer, 277 High street west
Dale Ann (Mrs.), beer retailer, 25 High street east
Dale George, news agent, 90 Victoria street
Dane Samuel, sanitary & lighting inspector to the corporation, Town hall
Darlington Edward, income tax collector, 40 Norfolk st
Darwent Nathaniel, farmer, Betten hill
Davis, Knowles & Davis, solicitors, Ellison street
Davis Charles James, solicitor (firm, Davis, Knowles & Davis), Ellison street
Dearnaley Joseph, grocer & provsn. mer. 25 High st. west
Dearnaley Thomas, ironmonger, 125 High street west
Denton Eli, beer retailer, 38 High street west
Dewsnap Joseph, Commercial inn, Charlestown
Dewsnap Martha (Miss), confectioner, 92 High st. west
Dinting Church Club (Frank Melbourne, sec.), High st. we
Dixon John & Son, coal merchants, Railway yard & 183 High street east
Dixon Annie (Miss), confectioner, 110 High street west
Dixon William, coal mer. Railway yd. & 51a, High st. east
Dobson & Robinson, drapers, 34 High street west
Doncaster Henry, chip potato dealer, 21 Hall street
Doodson Sarah (Miss), draper, 76 High street west
Douglas Harriet Annie (Miss), confectnr. 84 High st. we
Downs James, shopkeeper, Crosscliffe
Doxon Walter, fried fish dealer, 56 Church street
Doyle & Son, boot makers, 121 High street west
Dunn Rowland, tailor, North road
Dutton & Sons, decorators, 88 High street west
Dyson Herbert, boot repairer, Gladstone street
Dyson Joseph, boot & shoe repairer, 149a, High st. west
Elliott Mary (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 225 High street west
Ellis Geo. M.R.C.V.S.Edin. veterinary surgn. Fauvel rd
Ellison & Jones, solicitors, Norfolk chambers, Henry st
Ellison Theo Walter, solicitor & commissioner & town clerk, clerk to county & borough magistrates & Glossop reservoir commissioners, Norfolk chambers, Henry st
Etchells James, grocer, 28a, Talbot street
Fairclough Walter Peake Mus.Bac., F.R.C.O. professor of music, Shaw street
Farnsworth & Co. fruiterers, 112 & 114 High st. west
Fearnley James, carrier, 157 High street west
Fielding Enoch & Son, watch & clock makers, 39 High st. we
Fielding Hannah Maria & Ada (Misses), confectioners, 57 Whitfield cross
Fielding Arthur, insurance agent, 56 Hollincross lane
Fielding Frederick, boot maker, 114 Victoria street
Fielding Henry, tripe dresser, 100a, High street west
Fielding Joseph Henry Edward, draper, 118 Victoria st
Fielding Mary (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 2 Wesley street
Fielding William Walton, shopkeeper, 20 Norfolk street
Fletcher George, shopkeeper, 9 Charlestown
Fletcher Samuel, borough accountant, Chelston, North rd
Ford Samuel, farmer, Derbyshire level
France Arthur, deputy supt: registrar of births, deaths & marriages, Glossop district, Market street
Free Library & Public Hall (Miss Bessie Hodgson, librarian), Fauvel road
Freeman, Hardy & Willis Ltd. boot makers, 27 High st. we
Freetown Working Men's Institute (Thomas Prince, sec.), Kershaw street
Fuller Edward, saddler & harness maker, 8 Norfolk sq
Furness John, draper, 18 High street west
Furniss Brook, laundry, Whitfield cross
Furniss Frank, assistant overseer & collector of general district rate No. 1 district, Town hall
Garlick Matthew & Albert, coal merchants, Railway yard
Garner John, manager to Water works, 46 Church street
Garside J. & Co. mineral water mfrs. Fern ho. Howard st
Garside Joseph, farmer, Lees Hall farm, Turn Lee
Garsides of Glossop Ltd. timber merchants, George st
Gas Co. (Benjamin Goddard, manager; Joshua Sidebottom, sec.), Arrundel street
Gibbons Harry, boot repairer, 33 Princess street
Glossop Carriage Co. Limited, undertakers & coach proprietors, Howard street. TN 59
Glossop Conservative Club (Joseph Robert Sutcliffe, sec.), 26 Norfolk street
Glossop Cricket Club(Irvine Dearnaley, sec.), Sheffield rd
Glossop Cycle & Motor Co. cycle agts. 12 High st. west
Glossop Dale Chronicle & North Derbyshire Reporter (Glossop Dale Chronicle Printing & Publishing Co. Lim. proprietors; published Friday), 18 Norfolk street
Glossop Dale Chronicle Printing & Publishing Co. Lim. (Samuel Beeley, manager), 18 Norfolk street
Glossop Dale New Industrial Co-operative Society Lim. (John T. Hyde, sec.), Norfolk square; 369 High street west; Charlestown road; Hall street; Pike's lane; Church street south; 106 Gladstone street & Arrundel street; registered office, 2 Railway street
Glossop Dale Savings Bank (W. P. Evason, actuary); open on Fridays, 8 to 9 p.m. & Saturdays, 6 to 7.30 p.m. Howard chambers
Glossop & District Antiquarian & Natural History Society (Robert Hamnett, sec.), Norfolk street
Glossop Football Club Co. Limited (Joseph Robert Sutcliffe, sec.), North road
Glossop Household Stores. grocers & tea dlrs. 11 High st. ea
Glossop Ironworks Co. Limited (Sam Bamforth, manager). Surrey street. T A "Iron, Glossop; “ T N 11
Glossop Liberal Club (A. Phillips, sec.), Railway street
Glossop Social Club Limited (Harold H. Broadhurst sec.), 4 & 6 Ellison street
Glossop Theatre Royal (Sydney Spenser, proprietor & manager), Victoria street
Goddard Harry, draper, 42 High street west
Goddard John T. auctioneer & certified bailiff under the "Law of Distress Amendment Act,” Howard street
Goddard Maria Ruth (Mrs.), fancy draper, Victoria st
Goddard Samuel, contractor, 1 Fauvel road
Goddard William, earthenware dealer, 240 High st. west
Goddard William, hair dresser, 27 Charlestown road
Goggins Nancy (Mrs.), certified midwife, 1 Fitzalan st
Goldthorpe Samuel, beer retailer, 33 Charles street
Grant Thomas, chip potato dealer, 137 Gladstone street
Grant Thomas, printer, see Schofield & Grant
Greaves Charles, greengrocer, 56 High street west
Green Emily (Mrs.), milliner, 6 High street east
Green Frank, confectioner, 36 Hadfield street
Green John, shopkeeper, 9 Victoria street
Greenwood Arthur, grocer, 61a, Charlestown road
Greenwood John, stone merchant, Hope street
Greenwood Moses, beer retailer, Arrundel street
Gregory Samuel, farmer, Jumble farm
Hadfield J. & Sons, spring mattress manufactrs. Derby st
Hadfield Thos. & Sons, drapers & outfitters, 15 High st. we
Hadfield Albert, farmer, Cliffe road
Hadfield Alice (Miss), shopkpr. 61 Hague st. Whitfield
Hadfield Amelia (Miss), confectioner, 12 Norfolk street
Hadfield Charles, farmer, Cowbrook farm, Sheffield road
Hadfield Edna (Miss), dress maker, 39 Freetown
Hadfield Harriet Ellen (Mrs.), shopkpr. 65 High st. east
Hadfield John, Royal Oak P.H. Sheffield road
Hadfield John, shoe maker, 97 High street east
Hadfield Joseph M.B. & C.M.Aberd. physician & surgeon, & medical officer No. 1 district, Glossop union, Hollincross house, Hollincross lane
Hadfield Joseph, shopkeeper, 60 High street east
Hadfield William, farmer, Blackshaw
Hadwin Harry, mechanical engineer, George street
Hague John, insurance agent, 7 Hadfield street
Haigh John, baker, 136 Victoria street
Hall Alice & Florrie (Misses), bakers, 28 Gladstone st
Hall & Sons, tailors, 21 High street west
Hall Elizabeth (Mrs.), grocer, 146 St. Mary's road
Hall Joseph, shoe maker, 201 High street east
Hall Joseph, shopkeeper, 89 Gladstone street
Hall Martha (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 55 Victoria street
Hallows Hannah (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 106 Pike's lane
Hamnett James, watch & clock maker, 14a High st. ea
Hampson Tom, farmer, 3 Hague street, Whitfield
Harding Eliza (Mrs.), milliner, 4 Norfolk street
Hardman John, dentist, 11 Norfolk square
Harris James, tinplate worker, 18 & 20 Wellgate
Harris John, chip potato dealer, 42 Arrundel street
Harrison Abel, coal merchant, Railway street; & at Broadbottom; Dinting & Hadfield railway stations
Harrison Chas. Smith, grocer & corn dlr. 122 High st. west
Harrison Clara (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 99 Freetown
Harrison Mary (Miss), shopkeeper, 63 St. Mary's road
Harrop Joe, tailor, 38 High street east
Hartley Rufus, supt. registrar of births, deaths & marriages for the district of Glossop, Market street
Hatfield Joseph, farmer, Blackshaw farm
Hawke Robert George, architect & surveyor, Ellison st
Haynes Thomas, surveyor to corporation, Town hall, High street west & Pike's lane
Hazelwood Frank, hair dresser, 10 High street west
Helm Fred, grocer, 36 High street east
Hepworth J.& Son Ltd. clothiers & outfitters, 1 High st. ea
Hewett William, shoe maker, 8 Collier street
Heywood Elizabeth (Miss), shopkeeper, 34 Princess st
Hibbert George, chipped potato dealer, 131 High st. west
Higginbottom Deborah (Mrs.), draper, 2 Victoria street
Higginbottom Mary (Mrs.), draper & millnr. 17 High st. we
Higginbottom Thomas, hair dresser, 36 Victoria street
Higginbottom Tom, laundry, see Waterhouse & Higginbottom
High Peak Liberal Association (George Reed, sec.), Victoria street
Hinchcliffe John & Co. coal merchants, Railway yard
Hinchliffe John Smith, news agent, 42 Sunlaws street
Hindle James, beer retailer, 21 Charlestown road
Hirstle Frederick, shopkeeper, 38 Surrey street
Hobbs Arthur, upholsterer, Harrop's place
Hobson John, grocer, Charlestown
Hodgson John Gregory, chief constable of borough police, inspector of hackney carriages & captain of fire brigade, Police office, Ellison street
Holdgate Amy (Mrs.), draper & shopkpr. 70 Charlestown rd
Holdgate James, painter, glazier &c. 149 High st. west
Holdgate Thomas, shopkeeper, 5 Milltown
Holingworth Edith (Miss), shopkeeper, 105 High st. east
Hollingbery John Kidd & Co. chartered accountants, Howard chambers, Howard street
Hollingworth Hannah (Miss), shopkeeper, 27 Derby st
Holmes Frank, quarry master, Lees Hall quarry, Turn Lee
Holt W. (Burnley) Ltd. billiard rooms, 119 High st. ea
Hope Frank & Co. corn & flour mers. 72 High st. west
Howard George & Joseph, greengrocers, Railway street
Howard William & Son, joiners & builders, 27 Hadfield st
Howard Albert, shopkeeper, 62 Victoria street
Howard Tom, shopkeeper, 41 Duke street
Howarth Violet (Miss), milliner, 99 High street west
Hudson Maria (Mrs.), Manor inn, 77 High street east
Hulmes Albert, shopkeeper, 27 Sheffield road
Hunter & Sons, hosiers, 5 High street west
Hunter Thomas Pearson, draper, 9 High street west
Hunters The Teamen Limited, grocers, 4 High st. east
Hurst Walter, tailor, 9 High street east
Hyde George (Mrs.), milliner & draper, 50 High st. west
Hyde Walter, hatter & tobacconist, 32 High street west
Independent Labour Party (branch) (James Grimshaw, sec.); hall, George street
Independent Order of Good Templars (meet every alternative week at Good Templars' room, Fitzalan street, Tuesdays, 8 p.m.) (Wm. Wood), 15 Charles st
Ingham Eliza (Miss), dress maker, 71 High street west
Ingham James W. picture frame ma. 71 High st. west
Ireland Percy E. solicitor, & registrar to Glossop County Court, Market street
Irlam W.H.& Co. Lim. printers & bookbinders,1 Surrey st
Jackson Isaac & Sons Limited, belt fastener manufacturers, Ellison street & Hawkshead mills
Jackson Levi & Sons, rope & twine manfrs. Hobroyd
Jackson John, greengrocer, 4 Charlestown road
Jackson Walter, farmer, Hobroyd
James Levi Robinson, relieving officer, Ellison street
Jepson Joseph, insurance agent, 50 Pike's lane
Johnson Frank, shopkeeper, 14 George street
Johnson John William, painter, Victoria street
Jones Albert Ernest, Market hotel, Market street
Jones George Harrison Eaton, solicitor (firm, Ellison & Jones), Norfolk chambers, Henry street
Jones Leonard S. tailor, 102 Victoria street
Jones Sam, baker, 2 Bernard street
Joyce Ernest, fried fish dealer, 63 High street west
Joyce Fred, baker, 112 Victoria street
Kelly Frank, general dealer, 120 Kershaw street
Kennington Martha (Mrs.), tobacconist, Town Hall buildings, High street west
Kenny Mary Margaret (Miss), confectioner, Norfolk sq
Kenworthy Elizabeth (Miss), draper, 14 High street east
Kershaw John, clogger, 138 Victoria street
Kinder George & Son, grocers, & post office, 196 & 198 High street west
Kinder Walter & Sons, slaters & plasterers, 35 Sumner st
King John, tobacconist, 63 High street east
Kirk William, ironmonger, 165 High street east
Knight Samuel, boot repairer, Whitfield cross
Knight Thomas, draper, 23 Milltown
Knott Walter, tinplate worker, 108 Victoria street
Knowles Francis Gordon, solicitor & commissioner (firm, Davis, Knowles & Davis), Ellison street
Large Samuel J. milliner, 8 High street east
Lathams W. C. Limited, grocers, 130 High street east; Norfolk street & Ellison street
Leach Joseph, chipped potato dealer, 82 High st. west
Lee Sarah (Mrs.), fried fish dealer, 129 High st. east
Lees Clarice (Miss), confectioner, 104 High street west
Lester Edwin, fruiterer, 139 High street west
Lester James, hair dresser, 138 High street west
Lever Jacob Nathaniel & Caleb, loan office, 13 Norfolk st
Liggins Sergt. Isaac, drill instructor to D Co. 6th Territorial Force Battn. Cheshire Regiment, Drill hall
Little Robert, poultry farmer, 85 Simmondley lane
Lockwood Thomas, coal merchant, Railway yard
Logan Peter, boot repairer, 21 Wellgate
Longden Daniel, farmer & stone engraver, Wimberry hl
Lord Herbert, confectioner, 14 High street west
Lowe Moses, Grapes inn, 305 High street west
Lyne Mary Elizabeth (Miss), confectnr. 3 High st. west
Mackenzie Duncan John M.D., C.M. surgeon & medical officer of health to Glossop urban sanitary authority & Glossop Dale rural district council, Loch Maree, North rd
Mackenzie Hector M.B., Ch.B.Vict. physician & surgeon, Loch Maree, North, road
McMellon Lydia (Mrs.), dress maker, Gladstone street
Maddock Frederick, farmer, Mossy Lee
Malkin J. & E. T. corn millers, High street east
Manchester & County Bank Limited (branch) (W. D. Robinson, manager), Norfolk square; draw on Union
of London & Smiths Bank Limited, London EC
Manchester & Liverpool District Banking Co. Limited (branch) (Harry Broadhurst, manager), Norfolk square;
draw on London office, 75 Cornhill E C
Manns Mary Jane (Mrs.), draper, 104 Pike's lane
Marsden J. T. & Son, farmers, Pike’s & Dinting Vale frms
Marsden Joseph, chip potato dealer, 140 Victoria street
Marsden Joseph, solicitor, & clerk to the Hollingworth Urban District Council, Norfolk square
Marsden Thomas, shopkeeper, 40 Church street
Marshall Henry, draper, 94 High street west
Marshall Thomas, hosier, 86 High street west
Masonic Lodge (Joseph Fielding, caretaker), Norfolk sq
Massey Daniel, ironmonger, 22 High street east
Massey David, assistant overseer, 62 High street east
May Thos. & Sons, basket & skip makers, 53 Victoria st
May Amos, skip maker. 59 High street east
May John, skip maker, 7 Arrundel street
Mayhew Edward, chipped potato dealer, 185 High st. we
Maypole Dairy Co. Limited, dairymen, Town Hall buildings, High street west
Melia Daniel & Co. Limited, wine & spirit merchants, 11 High street west
Mellor Hannah (Mrs.), confectioner, 68 High st. west
Mellor Nancy (Mrs.), lodging house, 1 Chapel street
Mellor William, shopkeeper, 88 Kershaw street
Merry James, ironmonger, 34 High street east
Middleton Henry & Sons, builders, Victoria street
Middleton Thomas, boot repairer, 242 High street west
Mills H. & A. O. opticians, 73 High street west
Mills Frank G. farm bailiff to Lord Howard of Glossop, Laneside farm
Mitchell Julian, surgeon-dentist, 33 High street east
Moore Henry, boot maker, 11 Victoria street
Moran Wm. J. G. chemist & drysalter, 7 High st. west
Morley John, Globe inn, 144 High street west
Morley Joseph, grocer, 50 Church street
Morton Walter, confectioner, Victoria street
Neal Thomas, fruiterer, 72a, High street east
Needham Walter, shopkeeper, 29 Gladstone street
Nelson James & Sons Ltd. butchers, 29 High st. west
Nelson & Waddell, surgeons, Norfolk street
Nelson Robert M.D., M.Ch. surgeon (firm, Nelson & Waddell), Norfolk street
Newton Ethel (Miss), milliner, 85 St. Mary's road
Newton John, grocer & beer retailer, 130 Pike's lane
Newton Thomas, herbalist, 26 Princess street
Newton Tom, baker, 21 Freetown
Newton Walter William, shopkeeper, 49 King street
Newton William, grocer, 45 Bernard street
Nicol Alex Campbell L.R.C.P.Lond., M.R.C.S.Eng. surgeon, 93 High street west
Nield John, boot & shoe maker, 20 High street west
Nield John C. market inspector & (Hadfield) water rate collector, North road
Norbury Sarah J. (Mrs.), greengrocer, & post office, Wellgate
Norbury William, Wheat Sheaf P.H. 16 Wellgate
North Derbyshire & North Cheshire Advertiser (Advertiser Printing & Publishing Co. Lim. publishers & proprietors; pub. Friday), Howard street
Old Glossop Working Men's Club (James Sellars, sec.), 24 Hall street
Oldfield Harvey, butcher, 110 Victoria street
Olive & Partington Limited, paper makers, Turn Lee & Dover mills
Oliver W. & Sons, ironmongers, 85 High street west
Oliver John Edward, insurance agt. 248, Shrewsbury st
Ollerenshaw Abel, herbalist, 136 High street west
Ollerenshaw John, farmer, Cross Cliffe
O'Neill Thomas, hardware dealer, 70 Victoria street
Orme Stephen, chipped potato dealer, 363 High st. west
Orme William, news agent, 130 High street west
Orme William, plumber, 105 St. Mary's road
Overand Thomas, confectioner, 60 High street west
Overend Robert Henry, shopkeeper, 9 Chapel street
Page Solomon, hair dresser, 6 Norfolk street
Palace Electric Theatre Limited (Howard Marr, manager), George street
Parkin Joseph, grocer, 52 Hollincross lane
Partington Edward, paper manufr. see Olive & Partington
Pearl Life Assurance Co. Limited; district office (James William Byrne, superintendent), 13 Hadfield place
Pell William, boot maker, 52 High street west
Pepper John Edwin, customs & excise officer, Norfolk st
Phillips A. & J. carriers, Pike's lane & Surrey street
Pilkington Ellen (Miss), Bed Hive inn, 35 Hague street
Plant John R. & Son, painters &c. 35 Hollincross lane
Plant John, farmer, Bank
Platt James, coal merchant,11 Railway street
Platt Martha (Mrs.), confectioner, 142 St. Mary's road
Platt Richard Ellison, Queen's Arms P.H. 1 Shepley st
Platt William, butcher, 49 High street west
Podmore Thomas Leonard, confectioner, 23 High st. east
Polwin Jacob, fried fish dealer, 61 High street east
Poppleton William, window cleaner, 3 St. John street
Pott William, chipped potato dealer, 16 Norfolk street
Potts Elijah, fruiterer 377, & shopkpr. 218, High st. we
Potts Henry, builder, 8 North road & Victoria bridge
Pownall Ralph, fishmonger, 72 Charlestown road
Pownell William, boot repairer, 38 Victoria street
Price James William, shopkeeper, 17 Freetown
Proctor John, shopkeeper, 76 Charlestown road
Public Baths (Silvester Whitehead, mgr.), Howard park
Public Weighbridge. (Thos. Parr, weigher), Railway yard
Ralph Samuel, shopkeeper, 10 Gladstone street
Read James, shopkeeper, 31 Chapel street
Redfern Ann (Miss), china dealer, 75 High street west
Refuge Assurance Co. Limited; district office (Joseph Johnson, superintendent), 30 High street west
Remington Henry Leech, farmer, Hurst nook
Rhodes George, shopkeeper, 44 St. Mary's road
Rhodes Thomas, water rate collector, Town hall
Rideal Limited, chemists, 102 High street west
Ridgeway Edward, beer retailer (off), 40 Pike's lane
Riley William, greengrocer, 70 Freetown
River Plate Fresh Meat Co. Ltd. butchers, 58 High st. we
Robinson & Co. painters & glaziers, 62 High street west
Robinson Charles, beer retailer, Whitfield cross
Robinson Joseph Edwd. china & glass dlr. 21 High st. ea
Robinson Kate (Miss), draper, see Dobson & Robinson
Robinson Mary (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 29 Hague st. Whitfld
Robinson Walter, greengrocer, 76 Victoria street
Robinson Walter, pianoforte warehouse, 74 High st. west
Robinson William Duty, manager of the Manchester & County Bank Limited, Norfolk square
Roe John Samuel, Bull's Head P.H. 72 Church street
Roe Thos. clerk of works to Lord Howard, 14 Wesley st
Rolley Thomas Joseph, tobacconist, 81 High street east
Ross William, Howard Arms P.H. 17 High street east
Rowbotham Harriet (Miss), baker, 1 Charlestown road
Rowbottom S. & Co. Ltd. cotton spinners, Meadow mills
Rowbottom James, cotton spinner, Hurst mills
Rowbottom John, chipped potato dealer, 106 Victoria st
Rowbottom Peter, park supt. North road
Rowland John Thomas, shopkeeper, 72 Victoria street
Royal London Mutual Insurance Society; district office (Henry Wright, superintendent), 62a, Victoria street
Ruck William, shopkeeper, 191 High street west
Russell George E. Albion hotel, 15 Victoria street
Russell Joseph, Commercial inn, 137 Hall street
Russell Mary Jane (Miss), shopkpr. & beer ret. 28 Freetown
Schofield & Grant, printers & stationers, 36 Norfolk st
Schofield Eliza Harriett (Mrs.), shopkpr.26 Gladstone st
Schofield John H. station master, 26 Howard street
Scholes George, butcher, 117 High street west
Senior James Henry, hair dresser, 70 High street west
Shaw William, farmer, Whitfield barn
Sheldon John, farmer, Brownhill farm
Shelton Summers, ladies' school, see Amps & Shelton
Shepley Mill Cotton Manufacturing Co. Limited (James Sellars, sec.), Shepley mill
Sheppard Martha (Mrs.) & Son, mineral water manufacturers, Shrewsbury street
Sheppard William H. farmer, Ashes & Howard street
Sherry Walter Ingram, dairyman, 35 High street west
Shorrock Isaac, confectioner, 142 High street west
Sidebottom Albert, pianoforte warehouse, 22 High st. we
Sidebottom Dennis, joiner, 24 John street
Sidebottom James, insurance agent, 22 Hollincross lane
Sidebottom Joseph Hadfield, school attendance officer, Fauvel road
Sidebottom Mary (Miss), shopkeeper, 12 Charlestown rd
Sidebottom Noah, farmer, Kidd Road farm
Sidebottom Peter, gas company's collector, Shaw street
Simpson Elizh. (Mrs.), shopkpr. 107 Charlestown road
Singer Sewing Machine Co. Limited, sewing machine manufacturers, 37 High street west
Skelton James, sand merchant, Gladstone street
Skelton Mary Jane (Mrs.), beer retailer, 17 Gladstone st
Slattery Edith (Miss), shopkeeper, 82 Gladstone street
Smalley Arthur Bentley, fishmonger, 119 High st. west
Smith J. W. & Co. estate agents, 13 Norfolk street
Smith W. H. & Son, booksellers & news agents, Railway station
Smith Adelaide (Mrs.), milliner, 79 High street west
Smith James Edward, Hare & Hounds P.H. 7 Hall st
Smith John, leather seller & beer retailer, 24 Arrundel st
Smith Lizzie (Mrs.), stationer, & post office, 113 Victoria street
Smith Thomas, farmer, Turn Lee road
Stafford James, boot repairer, 26 Pike's lane
Stagg & Son, wholesale wine ft spirit mers. 10 Norfolk sq
Stanfield John Henry (Mrs.), plumber, Victoria street
Steventon Rt. Clifford, Surrey Arms hotel, 67 High st. we
Stonier Arthur, greengrocer, 104 Victoria street
Storah Eli, shopkeeper, 50 Edward street
Stott Ernest, shopkeeper, 20 Derby street
Sumner Francis & Co. Ltd. cotton spinners & manufrs. (Thomas Fielding, manager), Wren Nest mills
Swan John, farmer, 60 Hague street, Whitfield
Swan Joseph, farmer, 16 Hague street, Whitfield
Swann George, watch & clock maker, 238 High st. west
Swire John & Son, boot & shoe makers, 6 & 8 High st. we
Swire Henry, boot & clog maker, 21 Victoria street
Swire John O. butcher, 83 High street east
Tattersall Henry, pork butcher, 65 High street west
Taylor Albert Buckley, beer ret. & shopkpr. Charlestown
Taylor Elizabeth J. (Mrs.), Station hotel, Norfolk street
Taylor Jas. E. house decorator, 23 Sumner st. & Hadfield st
Taylor John, farmer, Ashes
Taylor John, jun. farmer, Heath
Taylor Robert, insurance agent, 8 Pike's lane
Taylor Squire, dining rooms, 57 High street west
Taylor William, butcher, 74 Victoria street
Teasdale Albert, grocer, 45 High street west
Territorial Force Battalion (6th) Cheshire Regiment (D. Co. Lieut. G. B. Heywood; Sergt. Isaac Liggins, drill instructor), Drill hall
Thom James, coal agent, 33 Norfolk street
Thompson Alfred, chipped potato dealer, 8 Chapel street
Thompson John Wm. shopkeeper, 164 High street west
Thompson William, draper, 3, 5 & 7 High street east
Thornhill Wm. general carrier, Silk st. & Railway yard
Thornley George, insurance agent, 124 Pike's lane
Thornley Hartley, butcher, 84 Victoria street
Thorp Walter & Son, coal mers. Henry st. &t Railway yd
Thorp William, farmer, Hope street
Thorpe Mary (Miss), confectioner, 12 High street east
Tinker Sarah (Mrs.), Greyhound inn, Hope street
Town Hall, High street west
Turner Manasseh & Sons, fruiterers, 26 High street east
Tweedie Edward, shopkeeper, 365 High street west
United Irish League (Jn. Gradwell, sec.), 78 High st. ea
Unwin Mary Hannah (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 213 High st. we
Urban Electric Supply Co. Limited (The), electrical engineers & contractors, High street west
Vernon John, farmer, Whitfield green
Vernon John, florist, 14b, High street east
Voysey Harry, confectioner, 46 High street west
Waddell Thomas M.R., L.R.C.P., L.R.C.S.Edin. Physician & surgeon (firm, Nelson & Waddell), Victoria st
Wadsworth Joseph, beer retailer, 14 Milltown
Wagstaff Jemima (Mrs.), certified midwife, 170 High street west
Wagstaff John, chipped potato dealer, 170 High st. west
Wagstaff Joseph, stationer, 81 High street west
Wain & Son, fancy drapers, 59 High street west
Wain & Sons, monumental masons, Simmondley lane
Wain Gertrude (Miss), dress maker, 17 Hope street
Walkden Joseph, sec. to the Education Committee, Education offices, Howard chambers
Walker Arthur M.R.C.S., L.R.C.P.Lond. Surgeon, & public vaccinator, Glossop union, 16 High street west
Walker James, shopkeeper, 88 Victoria street
Walton Ada (Miss), shopkeeper, 35 Princess street
Walton Jn. (of Glossop) Ltd. bleachers, Charlestown wrks
Walton Richard, drysalter, 14 Charlestown road
Warrington Albert, butcher, 19 High street east
Water Works (Jn. Garner, supt.; Thos. Rhodes, collectr)
Waterhouse & Higginbottom, laundry, Ellison street
Waterston James A. stamp distributor, Post office, Norfolk square
Weavers' Association (Ezra Waterhouse, sec.), Haigh terrace, Surrey street
Wesleyan & General Assurance Society; district office (Alfred Elliott, superintendent), 48 High street west
West End Working Men's Club (Charles Nicholson, sec.), 13 Bernard street
Wharmby George, oil & lamp dealer, 127 Hall street
Wharmby James, shopkeeper, 103 High street east
Whitehead Frank Edwin, painter, 24 Mount street
Whiteley James William, draper, 197 High street east
Whitfield Church Institute (T. H. Garside, hon. sec.), Chapel street
Whitfield Church Reading Room (Leonard Warner, sec.), 18 Charlestown road
Whitfield Free Library (branch library) (William Heeks, caretaker), Freetown
Whitfield Working Men's Club (J. Berresford, sec.), 86 Wood street
Whittingham Francis & Son, brush mas. 10 High st. ea
Wild Ralph & Sons, tripe dressers, Collier street
Wild Harry, butcher, 24 High street west
Wild Isaac, boot repairer, 7 Whitfield cross
Wild Selina (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 11 King street
Wilde & Bennett, wheelwrights, Arrundel street
Willey John William Crane, cabinet maker, 17 Norfolk st
Williams Hannah (Mrs.), farmer, Ashes
Williamson Ernest Albert, insurance agent, 1a, Lord st
Williamson Squire, fried fish dealer, 9 Princess street
Wilson & Bates, aerated water manufrs. High st. west
Wilson Robert Ltd. bakers & confectnrs. 174 High st. we
Wilson George Henry, solicitor & clerk to the Glossop Burial Board, Norfolk square
Wilson Louisa (Mrs.), farmer, Carr farm
Wilson Richard W. boot & shoe maker, Sheffield road & 27 Sunlaws street
Winterbottom. Charlotte (Miss), shopkeeper, Shepley st
Witham John Thomas, printer & stationer, 87 High st. we
Wood Hinchliffe & Son, Joiners & builders, Hadfield pl
Wood John & Brothers Limited, cotton spinners & manufacturers (Wm. Walton, sec.), Howard Town mills
Wood Absolam, painter, 21 Hope st. & 14b, High st. ea
Wood Charles, Surrey Arms P.H. 133 Victoria street
Wood Isaac, chipped potato dealer, 5 Freetown
Wood John, farmer, Gnathole
Wood Peter, milliner, 51 & 53 High street west
Wood Wilfrid Lawson, shopkeeper, 128 High street east
Wood William, rag merchant, 6 Derby street
Wood's Hospital (E. W. Bollans esq. hon. sec.; for list of medical staff, see p. 278), Howard park
Woodcock Phoebe (Mrs.), fancy draper, 31 & 33 High st. we
Woodcock Vincent, boot & shoe maker, 47 High st. west
Woodhouse Abishai, butcher, 36 Church street south
Woolley Robert, butcher, 77 High street west
Wrigley James, shopkeeper, 19 Gladstone street
Yates Alfred, shopkeeper, 3 Milltown

BROOKFIELD.
Robinson Rev John Henry (Congregational), The Manse
Commercial.
Aldous Joshua, shopkeeper
Brookfield Working Men's Club (Sl. Jones, sec)
Garlick John, Royal Oak P.H
Hampson Mary (Miss), confectioner
Moss Joseph, news agent
Peel Sarah Jane (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Robinson Margaret (Miss), shopkeeper
Robinson William, farmer
Robinson William, fruiterer
Shepley John & William Ltd. Cotton spinners & mfrs. Brookfield mills
Sherwood Wm. chipped potato dealer
Sutcliffe Emily (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Willis Mary (Miss), draper

CHUNAL.
Commercial.
Barker Gill, farmer
Bennett Joe, Grouse inn, & farmer
Firth Frederick, farmer
Hadfield John, farmer
Knotts Samuel, farmer, Monk's road
Shepley William, farmer
Warhurst Edward, farmer, Whitehouse farm
Wood John, farmer, Gnat Hole farm

DINTING.
Barr John J.P. Dinting lodge
Jones Evan, 101 Shaw lane
Lawrance Rev Henry M.A. (vicar), Vicarage
Rawsthorne Joseph T. 103 Shaw lane
Taylor George William, 107 Shaw la
Wild William Ernest, 105 Shaw lane
Wilson George W. Viaduct house
Commercial.
Duckworth John, Viaduct inn
Fielding Harold, farmer
Gray Jane (Miss), shopkeeper
Harrison Frederick, farmer
Harrison John, farmer
Jackson Thomas, station master
Oldham Joseph, farmer, Hill Top
Orme Clara (Miss), provision dealer
Pickford John Joseph, Plough inn
Potter Edmund & Co. Limited, calico printers
Sidebottom Robert, confectioner
Skelton Charles, carrier
Wood James, clogger

GAMESLEY.
Shepley Chas. Woffenden, Gamesley ho
Commercial.
Beard Frances (Miss), dress maker
Beaumont Edward, coal merchant
Clayton James, coal merchant
Findlay Agnes (Miss), dress maker, Charlesworth road
Fox James, general dealer
Garlick Albert, Magnet inn
Garlick Jas. insur. agt. 13 Cottage la
Glossop Dale New Industrial Cooperative Society Limited (The)
Grimshaw John, baker
Harrison Abel, coal mer. Railway yrd
Jubb Edwin, shopkeeper
Marsden Moses, farmer
Needham Joseph, shpkpr. Cottage la
Simpson Wright (Mrs.), farmer, Gamesley farm
Thornley Andrew, farmer
Thornley John, farmer
Walton Jacob, farmer
Walton Jacob, jun. farmer

HADFIELD.
Private Residents.
Bollans B. Wilfred M.B. Railway st
Braddock Thomas
Caro William, Green lane
Davis James, The Thorns, Park road
Garlick Robt. Holm Lea, Hadfield rd
Hadfield Rev Joseph (vicar & surrogate), Hadfield Cross
Hadfield Wm. Bruce, Hadfield Cross
Hubbard Rev Stanley F. (Wesleyan Methodist), Bank street
Platt Edward J.P. Mersey bank
Platt John, Church street
Rigge Fletcher, The Avenue
Rigge Thomas Q. Oaklands
Sabela Bight Rev Monsignor Canon Hermann (Catholic)
Shaw John, Kent villa
Walker Andrew Paterson, Hadfield rd
Whelan John Joseph, Hadfield road
White Wm. M.D., C.M. Hadfield rd
Wilcox Mrs. Beech house, Hadfield rd
Commercial.
Early closing day, Tuesday 1 p.m.
Alderley John, shopkeeper, 25 Hadfield road
Aldous Thomas & Son, window blind mfrs. Railway st
Allan Thomas, shopkeeper, 93 Woolley Bridge road
Bagshaw Henry, beer retailer, 41 Station road
Ballington Samuel, butcher, 1a, Station road
Barker Ann (Mrs.), grocer, 77 Hadfield road
Belfield Nellie (Mrs.), greengrocer, 17 Station road
Bennett Thomas & Son, drapers, 98, 100 & 102 Station rd
Bennett Richard (Mrs.), milliner, 76 Station road
Bentham Tom, stationer, 47 Station road
Beverley John T. grocer & beer retailer, 31 Church st
Billinge Joseph, saddler, 108 Station road
Bollans Robert Wilfred M.B., Ch.B.Vict. Surgeon, & medical officer to Hadfield district, Glossop union,
Railway street
Booth Henry, butcher, & grocer, 117 Station road
Boughey Ernest, hair dresser, Bankbottom
Bowden Albert & Co. drapers, 124 Station road
Braddock Thomas & Co. grocers, 111 Station road
Bramald Ellis, draper, 390 Hadfield road
Broadbent Emma (Mrs.), shopkeeper, Waterside
Broadbent George, greengrocer, 79 Station road
Brookes Frank, hair dresser, Woolley bridge
Brookes William, hair dresser, 40 Station road
Brooks Albert, greengrocer, 113 Station road
Buckley Joseph, shopkeeper, 49 Bankbottom
Butterfield Edwin, artificial teeth maker, 65 Station rd
Butterworth William, news agent, 22 Bank street
Cash & Co. boot makers, 89 Station road
Chadwick Samuel, tinplate worker, Woolley bridge
Chadwick Samuel Woodhouse, ironmonger, 9 Station rd
Challioner Samuel, grocer, 122 Station road
Child Thomas, furniture dealer, Woolley Bridge
Clayton Edward, butcher, 114 Station road
Cocks Mary (Mrs.), midwife, 36 Station road
Crowther James, grocer, 5 Station road
Cumberland Isaac, beer retailer, 421 Hadfield road
Dawson Thomas, Spread Eagle P.H. Woolley bridge
Dawson W. & Co. plumbers & painters, 85 Station road
Dearnley Ruth (Miss), draper, 55 Station road
Derbyshire Alfred Edward, decorator, Salisbury street & 130 Station road
Dewsnap James, shopkeeper, 93 Woolley Bridge road
Dewsnap William, farmer & butcher, Hadfield Cross
Dickenson Albert, hair dresser, 40 Hadfield road
Dutton James, grocer, 52 Bross croft
Ellis Walter, draper, 72 Station road
Equitable Co-operative Society Limited (John William Pogson, sec.; Charles Loxley, treasurer), 54, 56, 58 & 60 Station road; Woolley Bridge road & Stanyforth street & Padfield & Tintwistle
Etchells Annie (Miss), certified midwife, 25 Station road
Etchells H. grocer, 95 Station road
Fernaly James William, printer, see Jagger & Fernaly
Fidler Joseph, ironmonger, 144 Station road
Fielding Ann (Miss), confectioner, 52 Station road
Fielding Irvine, shopkeeper, Woolley Bridge road
Fielding Osmand, fried fish dealer, Woolley Bridge road
Firth Edward (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 58 Woolley bridge
Firth Thomas, insurance agent, 58 Bank street
Fisher Frederick, Victoria hotel, Bross croft
Garlick Hugh, greengrocer, 33 Bankbottom
Gartside & Co. (of Manchester) Limited, cotton spinners & manufacturers, Waterside mills
Gerrard James Edward, shopkeeper, 85 Woolley Bridge rd
Glen Arthur, confectioner, 27 Station road
Greaves James, boot repairer, 55 Hadfield road
Greaves William, baker, 103 Station road
Gregory Charles, coal & coke dealer, Woolley Bridge
Hadfield Bowling Green (James Guthrie, sec.), top of Bank street
Hadfield Central Working Men's Club (Wm. Thompson, sec.), Waterside
Hadfield Conservative Bowling Green (Joseph Haigh, sec.), Woolley Bridge road
Hadfield Conservative Co. Limited (Levi Lee, sec.), Woolley Bridge road
Hadfield Cricket Club (Arthur Palfreyman, sec.), Woolley Bridge road
Hadfield & Hollingworth Coal Association Ltd. (Harry Elkin, sec)
Hadfield William Bruce, solicitor, Hadfield cross
Hadfield Liberal Club (William Hodkinson, sec.), Bank st
Hadfield Public Hall & Free Library (John Battey, caretaker), Station road
Hadfield Cycle Co. (The), cycle agents, 82 Station road
Hadfield James, Arundel Arms P.H. Cemetery road
Hadzeldane Hubert, chipped potato dealer, Woolley Bridge road
Haigh Mary & Sarah Ellen (Misses), bakers, 90 Station rd
Haigh Hugh, news agent & stationer, 1a, Railway street
Haigh Thomas, shopkeeper, 229 Woolley Bridge road
Hall & Robinson, watch makers, 115 Station road
Hampshire Martha (Miss), dress maker, 7 Kiln lane
Harrison Abel, coal & cannel factor, Station yard
Harrop Hugh, tailor, 29 Station road
Herbert Richard, furniture broker, 45 Station road
Hobson John, shopkeeper, Bross croft
Hodson Joseph, herbalist, 118 Station road
Hodges Samuel, tripe dresser, 142 Station road
Horrock Frank, watch maker, 87 Woolley Bridge road
Howarth Agnes (Miss), dress maker, 64 Station road
Howarth George Fredk. furniture dealer, 68 Station rd
Hunters The Teamen Limited, grocers, 39 Station road
Hyde Joseph, shopkeeper, Railway street
Jagger & Fernaly, printers, 114 Station road
Jakeman Albert, stationer & news agent, 126 Station rd
Kershaw Jonathan, butcher, 3 Station road
Lee Elizabeth H. & Martha (Misses), milliners, 91 Hadfield road
Lee L. & Co. grocers, 89 Hadfield road
Lee William, fried fish dealer, 42 Hadfield road
Leech William, clothier & outfitter, 121 Station road
Livesley James & Co. milliners, 104 Station road
Livesley Squire, draper, 101 Station road
Manchester & County Bank Limited (sub-branch), Station road; draw on Union of London & Smiths Bank Limited, London E C
Manchester & Liverpool District Banking Co. Limited (branch), 97 Station road; draw on London office, 75 Cornhill EC .
Mansell William, shopkeeper, 53 Station road
Marsh Frank, grocer, 102 Waterside
Martin William A. draper, 11 & 13 Station road
Maycock James, painter, 25 Station road
Mellor George, chipped potato dealer, 77 Bross croft
Meredith William, baker & confectioner, 128 Station road
McKewen James, draper, 31 Station road
Middleton Samuel Henry, general dealer, Woolley Bridge
Murphy John, shopkeeper, 7 Station road
Nelson John, Masons' Arms P.H. 78 Station road
Nelson Samuel, tailor, 74 Station road
Newton Harriet (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 103a, Station road
Ninnes Andrew, baker, 116 Station road
North Charles W. R. Spinners' Arms P.H. Marsden st
Oldfield Elizabeth (Mrs.), confectioner, 87 Hadfield road
Oldham Arthur, shopkeeper, 35 Station road
Oliver W. & Sons, ironmongers, 51 Station road
Pass Arthur, Pear Tree hotel, Hadfield road
Patchett Selena Wilby (Mrs.), butcher, 32 Station road
Platt Arthur S. beer retailer & shopkeeper, 1 Green la
Potts James, builder & grocer, 2 & 12 Queen street
Powers Michael, provision dealer, 96 Station road
Public Weighing Machine (Joseph Wild, weigher), Station yard
Ratcliffe Sarah (Miss), milliner, 104 Station road
Redfern Albert, cabinet maker, 109 Station road
Renshaw John, shopkeeper, 19 Station road
Renshaw Joseph, inspector of police, Albert street
Rhodes Thomas Limited, cotton spinners & manufacturers, Mersey mills
Rhodes Matthew, beer retailer, Woolley Bridge
Richardson John M.P.S. chemist, 42 & 44 Station road
Roberts John James, pianoforte dealer, 91 Station road
Robinson James, watch maker, see Hall & Robinson
Rothwell Edwin, grocer, 94 Station road
Rutherford William, temperance hotel, 152 Station road
Sanderson Sarah (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 59 Hadfield road
Scholes Arthur, chipped potato dlr. Woolley Bridge road
Scholes James, butcher, 39 Railway street
Senior James H. hair dresser, 106 Station road
Shaw Mary (Miss), shopkeeper, 80 Hadfield road
Sherwood Robert William & Co. manufacturing chemists, 28 & 30 Bross croft
Shufflebotham Joseph, clogger, 1a, Station road
Sidebottom Edwin, butcher, 43 Station road
Slack Samuel, Palatine & Railway hotel, Station road
Smith James, coal merchant, Station yard
Smith Mary Ann (Mrs.), grocer & beer retlr. Waterside
Snape John, shopkeeper, Waterside
Steel John, assistant supt. Prudential Assurance Co. Limited, 397 Hadfield road
Storey John Woodcock, builder, 110 Station road
Swift Samuel, boot maker, Queen street
Swindells Matilda (Miss), draper, 87 Hadfield road
Swire John, clogger, Woolley bridge & 90 Station road
Taylor Abel, confectioner, 127 & 129 Station road
Taylor Francis, greengrocer, 33 Station road
Tippetts William James, station master
Torkington Samuel, fried fish dealer, 21 Station road
Wadsworth Arthur, Commercial inn, Bankbottom
Wain John, Anchor inn, Hadfield road
Walker Andrew Paterson L.R.C.P. & L.R.C.S.Edin., L.F.P.S.Glas. physician & surgeon, Hadfield road
Walker Elliott Morton, draper, 105 & 107 Station road
Walsh Patrick, boot repairer, 6 Green lane
Walsh William, grocer, 8 Bank street
Webb Jn. W. hair drssr. 1 Salisbury st.& 134 Station rd
Webb John William, umbrella maker, 70 Station road
Whelan John Joseph L.S.A. surgeon, Hadfield road
White William M.D., C.M.Aberd. physician & surgeon, Hadfield road
Wilde John, blacksmith, 73 & 75 Station road
Willerton Emma (Mrs.) & Hampshire Mary (Miss), drapers, Woolley Bridge
Willis Ernest, boot & shoe maker, 125 Station road
Wood George, shopkeeper, 32 Bankbottom
Woodcock Matthew, boot & shoe maker, 49 Station road
Woodhouse Samuel, butcher, 99 Station road
Woodhouse Samuel Shaw, confectioner, 99 Station road
Woodrow John, hardware dealer, 12 Bank street
Woolley Elizabeth (Mrs.), grocer, Woolley bridge
Woolley Thomas, fried fish dealer, Woolley bridge
Woolley Bridge Working Men's Club (James Maycock, sec.), Woolley Bridge road
Woolley George, butcher, 86 Station road
Worsley Arthur, joiner, 40 Bross croft
Wright Mary A. (Mrs.), stationer & postmistress, 72 Station road
Wyatt William, confectioner, 19 Bross croft
Youles Robert (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 116 Woolley bridge

PADFIELD.
Scholes John C. Padfield brook
Commercial.
Adams Tom G. farmer
Ashton Ann (Mrs.), shpkpr. 77 Platt st
Bamford James, farmer
Beard Joe, shopkeeper, Post street
Bennett John Thomas (Mrs.),dress ma
Brierley Harry, farmer
Brown William, shopkeeper, Platt st
Crossland Samuel, Peel's Arms P.H
Fielding William Henry (Mrs.), shopkeeper, Platt street
Greenwood Fred, tripe dresser
Greenwood Joe, farmer
Hadfield Equitable Co-operative Soc. Limited (John William Pogson, sec.; Charles Loxley, treasurer)
Howbrook John, Prince of Wales hotel
McCartney Robt. hair dresser, Post st
Mayhew Frederick, music teacher, 107 Main road
Naylor Ralph, shopkeeper, Main road
Oldfield Frank, shopkeeper, Post st
Oldfield Rachel (Mrs.), certified midwife, 46 Post street
Oldfield Saml. firewood dlr. Lambgates
Padfield Liberal Club (Fred Mayhew, sec)
Padfield Working Men's Club (Sam Shaw, sec)
Pass Thomas, fried fish dealer, 111 Main road
Pickford Fanny (Miss), draper, Post st
Platt Edwd. Lim. cotton manufactr
Platt Edward, butcher
Rhodes Thomas & Son Lim. Cotton spinners & manufrs. Hadfield mills
Sargentson Walter, cotton waste dealer & blowing manufacturer
Shepherd Fred, farmer, Lower Deepclough
Shufflebottham Ralph, clogger, Post st
Walmsley James, confectioner, Post st
Waterhouse Jsph. fruiterer, 24 Platt st
Whitehead Ellen (Mrs.), fancy draper, 14 Platt street


CHARLESWORTH, on the borders of Cheshire, is a township and parish, formed as an ecclesiastical parish in 1849 from that of Glossop, including Chisworth and Simmondley, in the High Peak division of the county hundred of High Peak, and in the petty sessional division, union and county court district of Glossop, Glossop rural deanery, Chesterfield archdeaconry and Southwell diocese. By an Order of the County Council, under the provisions of the "Local Government Act, 1894," Charlesworth was formed into a civil parish from the rural part of Glossop parish. Charlesworth is 1½ miles west from Dinting station on the Great Central railway, 2½ miles south-west from Glossop, 13 from Manchester and 200½ from London. The church of St. John, erected in 1849, at a cost of £2,700, is a cruciform building of stone in the Early English style, consisting of chancel, nave, north porch and a tower on the north side forming a north transept, and containing one bell, dated 1849: there is a memorial window to the Rev. Goodwin Purcell M.A. the first vicar of Charlesworth: there are 480 sittings. The register dates from the year 1849. The living is a vicarage, net yearly value £196, with 3 acres of glebe and residence, in the gift of the Crown and Bishop of Southwell alternately, and held since 1900 by the Rev Joseph Ames Martin, of St. Aidan's. There is a Congregational chapel, founded in 1662, and rebuilt in 1796, with 700 sittings, and a Particular Baptist chapel, built in 1835. Gamesley Hospital for Infectious Diseases (Glossop Municipal Borough and Glossop Dale Rural District) was built in 1888-9, at a cost of £371, and has since been enlarged. Cotton spinning and rope and cotton band making are carried on here. Lord Howard of Glossop is lord of the manor and the principal landowner. The soil is clay; subsoil, sandstone, The land is principally in pasture. The area is 15,111 acres of land and 269 of water; rateable value, £28,227 the population of the township in 1901 was 1,967, and of the ecclesiastical district 2,291 in 1911.
Post & M. O. Office. - Mrs. Jane Stafford, sub-postmistress. Letters through Manchester arrive at 7.30 a.m. & 6 p.m. & are dispatched at 8 a.m. & 7 p.m.; Sundays, 10 a.m. Broadbottom is the nearest telegraph office Wall Letter Box, cleared at 8.15 a.m. & 6.30 p.m
Schools.
Public Elementary (mixed), for 262 children; average attendance, 69; Mrs. Caroline Wood, mistress.
Public Elementary, Charlesworth, erected in 1823, enlarged in 1894, for 330 children; average attendance, 92; Clement Read A.C.P. Master

CHISWORTH is a civil parish formed from Chisworth and Ludworth by Local Government Board Order No. 34,064, dated April 1st, 1896; it is 4 miles south-west from Glossop and about 1 mile, by field paths, from Mottram station. Here is a Wesleyan Methodist chapel, built in 1834, with a small burial ground attached. Here are cotton mills. The area is 863 acres of land and 2 of water; rateable value, £1,549; the population in 1901 was 409.
Wall Letter Box cleared at 8.30 a.m. & 5.15 p.m
Public Elementary School (mixed), erected in 1871, for 130 children; average attendance, 87; William
Robinson, master

SIMMONDLEY is partly within the borough of Glossop, from which it is 1 mile south-west and near the Great Central Railway. Here is a Congregational chapel, erected in 1844, with 150 sittings.
Letters through Glossop, which is the nearest post, money order & telegraph office, arrive at about 9.30 a.m
Wall Letter Box cleared at 8.45 a.m. & 6.30 p.m
The children of this place attend the day schools at Charlesworth, Dinting & Whitfield.


CHARLESWORTH.
Martin Rev. Joseph Ames (vicar), Vicarage.
Moss Robert
Partridge Rev. Joseph Herbt. (Cong)
Rowbottom Cecil, Beech house
Rowbottom George Edmund, Woodlands, Lee Head
Rowbottom Joseph, Lee Mount
Rowbottom Wm. Thos. Lee Vale ho
Sucksmith Jn. Rhodes, Woodseats vw
Commercial.
Acock Philip, farmer, Coombs farm
Barber Jsph. T. G. Waggon & Horses P.H
Barnes Arthur, shopkeeper
Beaumont William (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Booth Jn. & Son, cotton band manufacturers, Lee Vale rope works
Booth John, farmer & butcher
Booth Samuel, farmer, Springfield ho
Booth William, grocer, Lee Head
Boothby Elizabeth (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Bowers Edmund, slater & plasterer
Brown James & Co. bleachers, Chisworth bleach works
Burdekin John, farmer, Woodseats
Castree Andrew, farmer
Charlesworth & Chisworth Conservative Club (Joseph Booth, sec)
Charlesworth & Chisworth Liberal Club (Ben. Harrison Rowbottom, sec)
Clayton James R. coal mer. Lee Vale
Co-operative Stores (Geo. Hallas, sec)
Dale William, farmer
Fielding Sarah (Mrs.), grocer
Gamesley Hospital for Infectious Diseases (Glossop Municipal Borough & Glossop Dale Rural District) (Duncan John Mackenzie M.D., C.M. medical officer; Samuel Dane, inspector; Mrs. E. B. Davis, matron)
Garside John, George & Dragon P.H
Hallas Charles, confectioner
Harrison John, shopkeeper
Harrison William Ball, farmer, Hargate hill
Higginbottom Joseph (Mrs.), farmer
Hill Fred, shopkeeper, Town lane
Horsfield Elizh. Ann (Mrs.), farmer
Jackson Harry & Co. coach builders
Kennedy Nancy (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Knowles Wm. Grundy, Horse Shoe inn
McMinn Arthur, insurance agent
Neal Edward, greengrocer
Neal John, greengrocer
Rowbottom Elizabeth (Mrs.), farmer, Moorside farm
Rowbottom James, cotton spinner & cotton band manufacturer, Holehouse mills & Hurst mills, Glossop
Rowbottom James, farmer
Rowbottom Thos. frmr. Wellhead frm
Shaw Charles W. farmer
Shaw John, tailor
Span Wm. farmer, Warehousefold
Swallow John, quarry owner
Sykes Jonathan, slater & plasterer
Taylor Charles, Bull's Head P.H
Taylor William, joiner
Thornley Alice (Mrs.), grocer
Thornley James, wheelwright
Timmis Wm. farmer, Tanpits farm
Walton Ernest, farmer
Wheelton Arthur, farmer
Willis Charles, boot maker, Lee Vale
Wood Ralph & Samuel, wheelwrights
Woodcock Edward, Grey Mare inn
Wright Harold, boot repairer

CHISWORTH.
Brown James J.P. Chisworth house
Rowbottom James Henry, Chewwood
Commercial.
Ashton Francis, farmer, Sandy lane
Ashworth Wright, cattle food manufr
Beard Harriet (Mrs.), farmer, Sandy la
Booth Charles Henry, farmer
Co-operative Stores (Geo. Hallas, sec)
Crowshaw John, shopkeeper
Fearn George, farmer, Sandy lane
Hallas Esther (Mrs.), Commercial inn
Longson Robert, shopkeeper
Manifold Wm. farmer, Boarfold farm
Mycock William, farmer
Ratcliffe J. H. (Kinderlee) & Co. cotton band manufrs. Kinderlee mills
Rowbottom Elizh. (Mrs.), frmr, Moorsde
Rowbottom James, cotton doubler, Chewwood
Sidebottom Harry, shopkeeper
Thornley James, farmer
Thornley James, farmer, Intake farm.

SIMMONDLEY.
(Letters through Glossop.)
Smith Samuel Goddard
Commercial.
Barker Joseph, farmer, Hall farm
Bennett John, farmer, Plainstead
Bennett William, farmer, Stitch farm
Carnall Robert, farmer
Charlesworth William, farmer
Cooper Edwin, insurance agent
Cranmer Thos. frmr. Storthbrook frm
Hurst Caroline (Mrs.), farmer
James Joseph (Mrs.), farmer
Robinson Samuel, farmer
Smith Alfred, farmer, Cownedge
Storer George, farmer
Thornton Smith, beer retailer
Wild John Edwin, farmer
Wilson & Co. mineral water manufrs


HAYFIELD

HAYFIELD is a township and parish, formed in 1837 from that of Glossop and consisting of the hamlets of Great Hamlet, Phoside and Kinder, in the High Peak division of the county, Buxton and New Mills county court district, hundred of High Peak, petty sessional division of Chapel-en-le-Frith, Hayfield union, Glossop rural deanery, Chesterfield archdeaconry and Southwell diocese. Hayfield is the terminus of a branch line from New Mills on the Great Central railway, 5 miles south from Glossop station, 4 north from Chapel-en-le-Frith, 18 from Manchester, 10 from Buxton, 3 from New Mills and 11 south-east from Stockport: the village, built of stone, has a scattered and bleak appearance, and is about 622 feet above the sea-level, standing on the banks of the Sett, a rapid mountain stream which rises on the western slopes of the Peak. The church of St. Matthew, situated between the Kinder stream and Phoside valley, was originally erected in 1386, and rebuilt in 1818 at a cost of £2,000. and is an edifice of stone in the Early English style, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles, south porch and an embattled western tower with pinnacles, containing a clock and 6 bells : the tower was rebuilt in 1894, and in 1898 the chancel was enlarged and decorated at a cost of £80 : there is a monument with bust, by Bacon, to the late Joseph Hague esq. of Park Hall, d. 1786, and others to the Rev. John Badley, curate of Hayfield (1764), and to the Rev George Buckley Bower B.D. rector of Great Billing, Northants, and archdeacon of Richmond, Yorks (1800): the stained east window was erected in Dec. 1879, by Mrs. Bennett, of Birch house, in memory of her husband; and there are others to the late Levi and Elijah Hall, Mrs. Hall, of Moorlands, and the late Wright Turner esq. (1881) : the brass eagle lectern was presented in 1891 by the Rev. R. R. Ricketts, incumbent 1877-1907, at a cost of £100, as a memorial to his wife, who died in 1890: the font, of Caen stone, is a memorial to Henry Clement Rain Walker, d. 1893, and was presented in March, 1899, by his father, Thomas Rain Walker esq. H.M. consul at Honolulu, Sandwich Islands : a brass ewer has been given by Miss B. E. R. Walker, and a new pulpit by C. Bennett esq. at a cost of £100 : the church affords 700 sittings, 50 being free : an additional burying ground of one acre was bought by a rate and consecrated in 1862 : the Rev. John Wesley visited Hayfield and preached in the church in 1755, during the incumbency of Mr. Badley. The register dates from the year 1622. The living is a perpetual curacy, net yearly value £180, in the gift of the resident freeholders, and held since 1907 by the Rev. William Rickaby, of St. Bees : a parsonage house was erected in 1864, at a cost of £1,200. There are Wesleyan, Primitive Methodist and United Methodist chapels, and Liberal and Conservative clubs. The facilities for manufacture, owing to the abundance of water, are very considerable, and two extensive calico-printing works are carried on, besides the print works at Birch Vale, a mile south : there are also two paper mills at Bank Vale, and a cotton mill at Little Hayfield; formerly a good deal of twine, locally known as "bant," was made here; twice a year a shepherds' meeting is held, when the various sheep marks are agreed upon and strayed sheep exchanged; fairs for cattle are held here May 12th and October 10th. The charities amount to £23 yearly for clothing, chiefly by the gift of the late Joseph Hague esq. of Park Hall (1778); prior to 1820 the poor had a right of turfery on "Old Pits," a plot of 40 acres on Leygate Moor. Due south of Hayfield lies Chinley Tor, a steep and rugged mountain, 1,493 feet high, commanding fine views over the valley of the Goyt and the adjacent summit of Eccles Pike (1,225 feet) southwards; to the west lie Whaley Moor (1,347 feet and Sponds Hill (1,357 feet); northwards there is an extensive prospect over Disley, Poynton Park and the plains of Cheshire : this district is believed to have been at one time in Roman occupation, and some coins of the 8th century have been found on the Doctor's road, near Bowden Bridge, one part of which road was paved : previously to 1830, the flat piece of ground near the Kinder Print Works was common land, and known as "Cutlers' Green,” cutlery having, it is said, been made here before its manufacture was known in Sheffield; halfway between this spot and Hayfield is the Whitworth well, famous for its curative properties. The village, from its peculiar situation, has always been liable to floods, one of which, in 1748, destroyed some lives, several water mills and part of the churchyard; in August, 1799, the bridge was washed away, and in 1809 a number of buildings; again, on the 16th June, 1858, the torrent tore up the mill weir and carried away the backs of four houses abutting on the stream. By an ancient custom Hayfield had the privilege of electing a mayor, an office which the late John Hobson esq. filled for thirty years : Joseph Bowden esq. was elected mayor of Hayfield in 1844. Park Hall, 1 mile north from Hayfield, an ancient building of white brick, surrounded by a park of considerable extent, now the residence of Samuel Hill-Wood esq. M.P. was formerly the abode of the late Joseph Hague, a generous benefactor to this neighbourhood, who began life by selling small articles from a basket, and subsequently went to London, where in course of time he became an opulent merchant; he died at Park Hall on the 12th March, 1786, and was buried at Glossop. The Duke of Devonshire P.C. is lord of the manor; Francis J. Sumner esq. of Eathorpe Park, Leamington, Warwick, and James Watts esq. of Abney Hall, Cheadle, are the. principal landowners. The area of the civil parish is 7,901 acres of land and 19 of water; rateable value, £15,266; the population of the township of Hayfield in 1901 was 2,614.
Highgate Head and Oakland are places in the parish.
Verger, Ernest Rangelay.
Post, M. O. & T. Office. - Arthur Howard Lowe, sub-postmaster. Letters are received through Stockport & delivered at 7.15 a.m. & 3.40 p.m.; Sundays, 7.15 a.m.; dispatched at 8.15 & 10.45 a.m. & 3.10 & 7.30 p.m.; Sundays, 7.30 p.m.

HAYFIELD RURAL DISTRICT COUNCIL.
The parishes in the District are: Hayfield, Mellor & Newtown. The area is 10,282 acres; the population
in 1911 was 3,170.
Council meets at Low Leighton, monthly.
Chairman, Basil Mackenzie, Tomstead, Hayfield
Officials.
Clerk, Joseph Rose Bowden, High street, New Mills
Treasurer, Isaac J. Gibbs, Manchester & County Bank, New Mills
Medical Officer of Health, Charles John Bennet M.R.C.S.Eng. 24 Hardwick street, Buxton
Surveyors, Alfred Goddard, Holm Lea, Hayfield & Joseph Marsland, Mellor
Sanitary Inspector, Joseph Marsland, Mellor

HAYFIELD UNION.
Board day, Monday, fortnightly.
Hayfield Union comprises the following places: - Disley (Cheshire), Hayfield, Mellor, New Mills & Newtown. The area of the union is 17,952 acres; rateable value, Lady Day, 1912, of the Derbyshire parishes, £62,335; the population of the entire union in 1911 was 17,127
Chairman of the Board of Guardians, William Whitehead, Church street, Hayfield
Clerk to the Guardians & Assessment Committee, Arthur Walker, 8 Market street, New Mills
Treasurer, Isaac J. Gibbs, Manchester & County Bank, New Mills
Relieving & Vaccination Officer, Jas. Taylor, Newtown
Medical Officer & Public Vaccinator, James Edwin Anderton L.R.C.P.Edin., M.R.C.S.Eng. Spring bank, New Mills
Workhouse, Low Leighton, a building of stone, built in 1840, to hold 96 inmates, & enlarged at a cost of £6,460; Richard Reynolds, master; J. E. Anderton L.R.C.P. Edin. New Mills, medical officer; Mrs. B. E. Reynolds, matron

HAYFIELD REGISTRATION DISTRICT.
Superintendent Registrar, Arthur Walker, 8 Market street, New Mills; deputy, Thomas Slater, New Mills Registrar of Births, Deaths & Marriages, William Wild, New Mills; deputy, A. Grundey, New Mills

Schools.
Public Elementary (mixed & infants), built in 1888 & enlarged in 1900, for 250 children; average attendance, 230; Arnold Walker, master
Public Elementary (mixed & infants), erected in 1830 & enlarged in 1879, for 220 children; average attendance, 190; Arthur Hallworth, master
Railway Station, William Procter, station master

BIRCH VALE is a village, 2 miles east from New Mills, 1 mile west from Hayfield, with a station on the Great Central and Midland railways: calico printing is carried on here very extensively, and there are also quarries producing paving sets and wall stones, besides coal pits. Here is a United Methodist chapel.
Post, M. O. & T. Office. - Arthur Hirst, sub-postmaster.
Letters through Stockport arrive at 6.40 a.m. & 3.15 p.m. & are dispatched thereto at 9 a.m. & 3.15 &
7.15 p.m.; Sunday, 7.30 p.m
Wall Letter Box, Oven hill, cleared at 8.30 a.m. & 7 p.m.; Sunday, 8.30 a.m
Railway Station, George Berkley Ginn, station master

LITTLE HAYFIELD is a hamlet three-quarters of a mile north of Hayfield, with a cotton mill, color and pigment works, and a Primitive Methodist chapel, built in 1851; there are sittings for 200 persons, 70 being free.
Post Office. - Samuel Hurst, sub-postmaster. Letters delivered through Stockport at 6.55 a.m. & 7 p.m.; box cleared 9 a.m. & 7 p.m.; Sundays, 8.15 a.m.
Hayfield, 1 mile distant, is the nearest money order & telegraph office
Wall Letter Box, cleared at 9 a.m. & 7 p.m.; Sundays 7.45 p.m
Wall Letter Box, at Kinder Bridge, cleared at 9.45 a.m. & 4.45 p.m.

HAYFIELD.
Private Residents.
Arblaster Charles A., L.R.C.P.Edin
Barber Arthur, Manchester & County Bank
Bennett Bertram Marriott M.B
Bennett John, Holly house
Bowden Walter, Swallow houses
Dowson Edgar Enfield, Woodhouse
Goddard Miss, The Mount
Hadfield James, Swallow house
Hearsum Charles
Leech Robert, Spring villas
Marshall Miss, Ridge view
Mellor John, Mount villas (letters via Birch vale, Stockport)
Peel William, Netherend villas
Rickaby Rev William, Parsonage
Shand Thomas, Hazel house
Slack Norman, Oaklands
Walsh John, Fishers lodge
Walker Arnold, Fair view
Wilks Mrs. Shudehill house
Commercial.
Allcroft Thomas, George hotel
Arblaster Charles A., L.R.C.P. & L.R.C.S.Edin. surgeon
Barber Arthur, manager of the Manchester & County Bank
Barber Henry, monumental mason
Barber Robert, grocer, Station road
Bennett Bertram Marriott M.B.,Ch.B.Vict. physician & surgeon
Bennett James, farmer, Meadow farm
Bennett Robert, blacksmith
Bowden Maria (Miss), draper
Bowden Samuel, clerk to the Parish Council & assistant overseer
Bowden Walter, land steward to F. J. Sumner esq. Swallow houses
Box Robert, Royal hotel
Bradbury Mary (Mrs.), greengrocer, Church street
Brennand Herbert, confectioner
Brennand William, baker & confectnr
Brocklehurst John, drug store
Brown Joseph, farmer
Butler George, butcher, Church st
Charnock Thomas, beer retailer
Chatterton John Thos. drpr. High st
Close John Thomas, Pack Horse inn
Conservative Club (Wm. Eyre, sec)
Cooper Charles, farmer, Cote lane
Cooper Peter, butcher
Co-operative Stores (Charles Elliott, manager)
Digby Betsy (Mrs.), Toll Bar inn
Farrow Alfd. chip potato dlr. Church st
Farrow Arthur, fruiterer
France Joseph, shopkeeper
Fidler Fred, grocer
Garside Luke, stationer & tobacconst
Garside Mary Jane (Mrs.), confectionr
Gee Joseph, joiner
Goddard Alfred, tax collector & surveyor to Hayfield Rural District Council .
Green Thomas, confectioner
Greenwood Thomas, butcher
Hadfield Benj. slater & plasterer
Hadfield Joel, builder & contractor, see Mason & Hadfield
Hadfield Joel, ironmonger
Hayfield Coal Co. (John Brocklehurst, sec)
Hayfield Cricket Club (Norman Handford, sec)
Hayfield Gas Works (William Whitehead, sec)
Hayfield Printing Co. (branch of the Calico Printers' Association Ltd.) (Edgar Enfield Dowson, manager)
Hill Walter, apartments
Hobson Percy, coal mer. Station yard
Holland Lorenzo, Bull's Head P.H
Hudson Elizh. Hannah (Mrs.), confr
Hudson John Charles, draper
Knight Thomas, beer retailer
Large William H. refreshment rooms
Lathams Limited, grocers. Church st
Lee Prudence, shopkeeper
Leeming William Alfred, butcher
Liberal Club (Wilfred Leech, sec)
Livesley Alfred & Sons, pharmaceutical chemists
Lodge John, stone merchant, Birches quarry (letters via Birch vale, Stockport)
Lomax Mary (Mrs.), beer retailer, Railway inn
Lowe Arth. Howard, stationer, Post off
Lowe Kate (Mrs.), stationer, Bridge end
Manchester & County Bank Limited (branch) (Arthur Barber, manager) (open daily from 10 a.m. Till 3 p.m.; sat. 10 a.m. to 12 noon); draw on Union of London & Smiths Bank Limited, London E C
Marriott Elizabeth (Mrs.), grocer
Marshall Hannah & Martha Ann (Misses), dress makers
Mason & Hadfield, builders & cntrctrs
Mellor Danl. insur. agent, Church st
Moseley John Edward, boot maker
Pack William, shopkeeper
Parsgtone John, farmer
Porritt Albert, farmer
Poritt James C. butcher
Porritt Ralph, carpenter
Porritt William, draper
Porter David, farmer, Shudehill
Priceman Harry, outfitter
Rangeley Ernest, boot maker
Redfern Jane (Miss), midwife
Roberts Walter, Wood inn
Rose John, farmer, Shudehill
Seddon Herbert & Co. outfitters
Schofield Joseph, tinplate worker
Shepley James, coal & coke merchant, Station yard
Shepley Jas. painter & apartments
Shepley James, cab proprietor
Slack John, paper manufacturer, Bank Vale mills
Smith Thomas, grocer & draper
Swindells Henry, boot maker
Torkington John, farmer
Torkington John, jun. pork butcher
Turner Elizabeth (Miss), fruiterer
Turner George, cooper
Waddington Fred & Son, hair dressers, High street
Warrington Arthur, grocer
Waterhouse Eliza (Miss), shopkeeper
Waterhouse Rebecca (Miss), aparts
Whitehead William, confectioner
Wilson William, wheelwright

LITTLE HAYFIELD.
Bowden Tom, Little Hayfield house
Hill-Wood Samuel M.P. Park hall; & Bachelors' club W & Carlton & Junior Carlton clubs S W London
Commercial.
Ashton Alice (Mrs.), beer retailer
Askham Walter, farmer, Cliffe bank
Bayley George Herbert, farmer, Carrmeadow
Bennett John & Co. pigment & color manufacturers, Primrose vale
Co-operative Stores Limited (Joseph Marshall, manager)
Etchells Israel Smith, frmr. Spray ho
Hadfield Randal, frmr. Brown Hill frm
Hallam Edgar Montague, farmer, Highbarn
Hearsum John, farmer, Bankvale
Hibbert Thomas, farmer, Brookhouse
Hobson James, farmer, Ivy farm
Hurst Samuel, grocer, & post office
Koeber Lewis, farmer Matley Moor
Lomas Luke, farmer, Blackshaw
Marriott Francis, farmer
Platt Edward Limited, cotton manufacturers (E. Osbaldeston, manager)
Rose Jonathan, farmer, Bullsham frm
Scholes Albert, New inn
Simpson Joseph, farmer, Lanehead

KINDER.
Downs John, Rock hall
Shipley Wilfred, Jubilee house
Sutcliffe Samuel, Stones house
Watts James, Upper house
Commercial.
Barnes Samuel, gamekeeper to James Watts esq
Bennett Thomas Edward, farmer. Tunsted clough
Bradbury Edmd. frmr. Coldwll. clough
Bradbury Thomas E. frmr. South head
Downs Win. stone dealer, Rock hall
Gee John Thomas, farmer, Ashes
Hall Joseph, stone dealer
Hancock John & Sons, grocers
Marriott John Thos. farmer, Upper ho
Ripley Jas. farmer, Hill House farm'
Stockport Corporation Water Supply Co. (Basil Mackenzie, manager)
Wild AIfd. Sportsman's Arms hotel
Winter Tom, stone mer. Ellerbank.

PHOSIDE.
Gould Norman, Phoside view
Balsford Joseph, farmer, New house
Barnes Arthur, farmer, Far Phoside
Bennett James, farmer, Ridge Top la
Brocklehurst Martha (Mrs.), farmer
Brocklehurst Squire, frmr. Lit. Ridge
Cooper James, farmer, Chinley Head
Cooper John, farmer, Highgate Head
Hadfield Elizabeth (Hrs.), farmer
Hudson Joseph, frmr. Clough head
Jepson Charles, farmer, Ridge top
Morton John, farmer, Heys
Pickford Thomas, farmer, Hills farm
Porritt Albert, carpenter & farmer
Porritt Ralph, farmer, Highgate

BIRCH VALE.
Private Residents.
Bennett Joseph, Westwood
Bennett Mrs. Birch Vale house
Bindloss Frank, Meadow nook
Eastwood George Henry, Netherhey
Gray John Ernest, Netherhey
Hall Misses, Moorland house
Oldham Robert, Spring villas
Sturgeon Samuel, Sunnyside
Winter Tom, Spring villas
Commercial.
Ashton Isaac, farmer, Ravensleach
Barker Thomas B. Birch Hail inn
Brown John, boot repairer
Calico (The) Printers' Association Limited, calico printers
Chapman Wm. L.R.C.P. & S.Edin., L.F.P. & S.Glas. surgeon
Clayton James, Grouse inn
Dodd Joseph, butcher
Hall Charles, greengrocer
Hibbert Geo. Hy. farmr. Lower cliffe
Hirst Arthur, grocer, Post office
Hudson Lavinia (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Hudson Norman, builders' merchant
Johnson Levi, farmer, Highwalls
Lowe John & Son, coal merchants
Mellor Thomas, joiner
New Mills Co-operative Society Ltd. (George Arthur Ratcliffe, manager).
Newton John, greengrocer
Richardson Joseph, shopkeeper
Sidebottom Jsph. frmr. Coldharbour
Skilbeck John, farmer, Hext farm
Walton James, Sycamore inn
Wardle James, farmer, Birch hall


MELLOR

MELLOR is a township, chapelry and parish, 2 miles east from Marple station on the Ambergate and Manchester section of the Midland railway, 8 miles south-south-west from Glossop, 7 north-east from Stockport, 9 west from Chapel-en-le-Frith and 173 from London by road and 177 by Midland railway, in the High Peak division of the county and hundred, Chapel-en-le-Frith petty sessional division, Hayfield union, rural deanery of Glossop, Chesterfield archdeaconry and Southwell diocese, divided from Cheshire by the river Goyt. The-church of St. Thomas is a building of stone in the Perpendicular style, consisting of chancel, nave, south porch and a western embattled tower with pinnacles containing a clock and 3 bells, the first and third of which are dated respectively 1639 and 1615 : the altar is of oak, richly decorated : the pulpit, carved out of an oak trunk, is inscribed " A.X. 1,320:" there is a stone font of Late Saxon or Early Norman date : there are several stained windows, including memorials to Mr. Pearson, of Stockport, Edith Jane Bagnall and Jonas Craven esq. J.P. : the church was restored during the period 1873-91, at a cost of about £800, and affords 350 sittings : in the churchyard is a gravestone recording the deaths of a man and his five wives, and the old stocks are preserved in the churchyard. The register of baptisms dates from the year 1629. The living is a vicarage, net yearly value £300, including 41 acres of glebe and residence, in the gift of the Bishop of Southwell, and held since 1906 by the Rev. Richard Eubank M.A. of Trinity College, Dublin. The Mission church, dedicated to St. Sebastian, built in 1908 near Marple Bridge, is a structure of brick with stone dressings, and has sittings for 400 persons. A charity of £6 12s. yearly, left in 1818 by the Rev. Francis Gisborne, formerly rector of Staveley, and Stafford's charity of £1 6s. yearly, are for clothing. There is a Primitive Methodist chapel, built in 1827, and a United Methodist chapel, built in 1850. The manufacture of wadding and surgical dressings is carried on in the neighbourhood, but the collieries are not now worked. Charles Dauntesey L. Greenhalgh esq. of Mellor Hall, who is lord of the manor, Frederic Charles Arkwright esq. of Willersley, Matlock, and William Jowett esq. are the principal landowners. The soil is various; subsoil, gritstone. The chief crop is hay, and the land is in pasture. The township contains 2,349 acres of land and 13 of water; rateable value, £10,201; the population in 1901 was 1,218 in the township and 2,993 in the ecclesiastical district.
Greenhill and The Banks are places in the parish.

LUDWORTH & MELLOR JOINT SEWERAGE BOARD, consisting of 7 members, was formed in August, 1899.
The Board meets at the Congregational Hall, Marple Bridge, on the first Tuesday in March, June, September
& December, at 6.30.
Chairman, Joseph Pover, Marple Bridge
Clerk, Arthur Walker, 8 Spring bank, New Mills
Treasurer, Isaac J. Gibbs, Manchester & County Bank, New Mills
Caretaker & Manager, J. Froggatt

Post & M. O. Office. - John Bradbury, sub-postmaster.
Letters arrive at 7.30 a.m. & 5 p.m. from Stockport; dispatched at 9 a.m. & 7 p.m. Marple Bridge, 2 miles distant, is the nearest telegraph office.
Wall Letter Boxes. - Vicarage, cleared at 7.5 p.m.; sun-day, 10.5 a.m.; Manor house, cleared 9.5 a.m. & 6.55 p.m.; Royal Oak P.H. 9.15 a.m. & 6.45 p.m.; Sunday, 10 a.m
Council Public Elementary School (mixed), founded in 1639, by Thomas Walklate & others, with an endowment of £20 for scholarships, & rebuilt 1881, for 250-children; average attendance, 115; William Henry Smith, master

LUDWORTH is a parish in the Glossop union and forms part of the ecclesiastical parish of Mellor, 6 miles south-west from Glossop, adjoining the Marple junction on the Sheffield and Midland railway. Here is a Primitive Methodist chapel, built in 1875. There are quarries producing wall stones and paving setts. The area is 1,622 acres of land and 24 of water; rateable value, £6,877; the population in 1901 was 1,775.
Wall Letter Boxes. - Mill Brow, cleared at 9.15 a.m. & 7.15 p.m.; Sunday, 10.15 a.m.; Lane Ends, 7 p.m.;
Sunday, 10.30 a.m.
Ludworth Council School (mixed), erected 1908, for 246 children; J. Harold Butterworth, master

COMPSTALL ROAD is a place in this township, consisting of one long street, on rising ground, 1 mile east from Marple station. Here is a Primitive Methodist chapel, built 1867, and also a mission room and library. Names of residents at Compstall Bridge are given in the Cheshire Directory.
Wall Letter Box cleared at 8.45 a.m. & 7.40 p.m.; Sunday, 11.10 a.m

MARPLE BRIDGE is a place in this township, built on the east bank of the river Goyt, and has a junction station on the Sheffield and Midland railway. The surrounding scenery is very picturesque, and many villa residences, chiefly of merchants and manufacturers from the neighbouring towns, have been built on the adjacent hill sides. The Catholic church of St. Mary here was erected in 1859 at the expense of the late Lord Howard of Glossop : there is also a Congregational chapel, founded in 1662, and rebuilt in 1887, in the Gothic style, and has 500 sittings. Sunday schools and Institute were erected in 1906 at a cost of £3,200.
Post, M. O. & T. Office. - Mrs. Margaret Staveley Smith, sub-postmistress. Letters arrive via Stockport at 4.45 & 11.30 a.m. & 3.45 p.m. ; dispatched at 9.30 a.m. & 3.45 & 8.15 p.m.
Catholic School (mixed), for 100 children; average attendance, 65 ; Miss Nora Mahony, mistress Constabulary, Arthur Vardy, sergeant, & 2 constables
Names of residents at Marple & Lower Marple are given in the Cheshire Directory

MELLOR
(Marked thus * receive their letters through Marple Bridge.)
Private Residents.
*Anderson Daniel, Redcot, Mellor rd
Ashworth Gilbert, Sheiling
*Atkinson Jas. Glenburn, Mellor rd
Baker Charles, Pevensey
Ball Frank Norman, Highmead
Barlow Robert, Lower hall
Bennett William
Bird Harold, Heathfield
Bowler John, Eyam cottage
Boyd Fred, Moor end
Bradbury William, Tarden
Cameron John, Hopedene
Chadborne John Ashwell, Arnside
Chadwick William, Woodville
Charleton Mrs. West holme
Chatterton William, Hollyvale
Chell George, The Old vicarage
Clark James
Coster Arthur, Sunnycroft
Crass William, Braemar
Dean John Henry, Firwood
Dean Joseph, Lily bank
Dell Mrs. Spring mount
Dewhurst Arthur J. Greygates
Drinkwater George Wm. Hillsdale
Eubank Rev. Richard M.A. (vicar)
Fairbank William, Guys cliff
*Farow Mrs. Newlands, Mellor road
Finch Mrs. Longhurst lane
Furniss Edwin, Strawberry hill
Greenhalgh Charles Dauntesey Langley, Mellor hall
Grainger Joseph, Tramore
Grible Walter, Greeba
Groves Robert, Keristal
Harris Hamilton, Irene
Harrison Arthur, Cataract villa
Hawarth George Gilbert, Hazeldene
Haylock John, Highlands
Hibbert Isaac, Creston
Hoggetts Herbert William, Lindisfarne
Howarth George, Rose Lea
Hughes Munro John, Dunkeld
Jones Tom, Sunnybrae
Jowett William, Manor house
Kennerley Harry Smith
Kerr Miss, Barone
*Lalande Mrs. Brook dale, Mellor rd
Law James Key, Allangate
Lees John Percy, The Knowle
Lowe George, The Glen
Lynd William
Miller Mrs. Ashdene
*Monkhouse Robt. Briarfield, Mellor rd
Mostin Charles Edwin, Aberglaslyn
Moult John, Lower Cliff (letters through Strines, Stockport)
*Newton Mrs. The Mount, Mellor rd
*Oxley William, Mellor road
*Parkes Harry Clement, Lyndale, Mellor road
*Redford Percy, Townscliffe, Mellor rd
Rodway Edwin, St. Leonards
Rumsey John, Cobden Edge house
Schofield Fredk. Jas. Walt. Buzzard
Scott Miss, Florence villas
Scott William, Haddon house
Smith Frank, Westlea
*Spencer Edmund, Holly bank, Mellor road
Sutcliffe William, Aberdour
Taylor Frank Hugh, Burnside
*Thompson David, Moncrieff, Mellor road
Thompson Lewis, Thornbury
Vessey William Alvery, Oaklands
Wainwright John, Brandon
Wainwright William Hy. Brook ho
Walch Jsph. Crompton, Chatterton ho
Watts Horace, Woodland view
Wightman William, Hollingmount
Wild Mrs. Lark hill
Williams George William, Coneston
Wilson William Nicholas, Tolcarne
Wood Ralph Rupert, Hollywood
*Wood Reginald, Mizpah cottage
Wright Frederick Charles
Commercial.
Ardern James Samuel, confectioner
Barber John, farmer
Bickerton Charles, Royal Oak P.H
Birch Joshua F. Moorfield Arms P.H
Boden Geo. farmer, Chatterton lane
Bowden Charles, farmer, Drakecarr
Bowden John, farmer, Hambledon fold
Bradbury John, butcher, & sub-post office
Bradbury John Wm. frmr. Cross gates
Bradbury Saml. farmer, Linnett clough
Bradley John, farmer, Lane head
Brough John, jun. farmer, Appletree farm
Brough John, sen. farmer, Knowl frm
Chadwick William, builder
Clark James, farmer, Spring bank
Clark William Adam, farmer, Worthington farm
Clayton Francis, farmer, Snape hey
Conservative Club (Jas. Heaton, sec)
Dawson Jacob, farmer, Shirdfields
Dicker Wm. farmer, Windy bottom
Farrar Sidney, quarry owner, see Woodhead & Farrar
Girls' Home (Mrs. Florence Haslam, matron), Ivy cottage
Goddard John William, Sportsman's Arms P.H
Gorman Sarah (Miss), dress maker
Hambleton Peter, farmer, Lower hall
Harrop Fred, boot & shoe maker
Harrop Simeon, greengrocer
Heathcote Wm. farmr. Birchenough
Howarth George, insurance agent
Humphreys Mary (Mrs.), farmer, Yeomans
Hunt George Edward, butcher
Jowett W. Ltd. manufacturers of surgical dressings, Cataract mills
Lomas John, farmer, Shiloh
Manchester & County Bank Limited (branch) (Isaac J. Gibbs, manager) (open Monday, Wednesday & Friday 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.); draw on Union of London & Smiths Bank Limited, London EC
Manchester Cathedral Country Home (Rt. Rev Bishop Welldon, pres. ; C. C. Heywood, hon. treasurer)
Marsland Joseph, assistant overseer, rate collector & sanitary inspector to Hayfield Rural District Council
Mellor Cricket Club (Thomas Sigley, hon. sec)
Mellor Lawn Tennis Club
Moorcroft Geo, Hy. farmer, Bradshaw
Moult John, surveyor, Lower Cliff (letters received through Strines, Stockport)
Nadin Jonas, farmer, Higher bangs
Neild Jn. (Mrs.), frmr. Hollywood end
Nield Robert, shopkeeper
Petty & Co. explosive mfrs. Norton lee
Pickford Joseph, farmer, Meadows
Potts Harold & Wilfred, grocers
Potts Hy. Lawrence, frmr. Cheetham Hl
Potts Lewis, butcher
Ramie Co. Limited (The), incandescent mantle mfrs. Primrose mills
Richardson Chas. farmer,Greenclough
Richardson John, farmer, Greenhill
Rowbotham John & Son, blacksmiths
Rowbottom James (exors. of), farmers, Gun farm
Rowbottom Jsph. frmr. Hollywood end
Shaw & Ridgway, confectioners
Shaw John Hy. Oddfellows' Arms P.H
Sidebotham John, joiner & shopkeeper
Sidebotham Jsph. Jas. tchr. of music
Sigley Thomas, Devonshire Arms P.H
Simpson George Arthur, farmer, Higher Cliffe
Sloane Edwin B. farmer, Cannon hill
Stafford Herbert, farmer, Longshaw Clough
Storer Samuel, farmer, Higher banks
Sutton James Wm. farmer, Old hall
Sutton Richard, farmer, Podnor
Taylor William, farmer, Tarden frm. & Wetmoorhurst
Tynm Joseph George Wm. farmer, Heathy Bank
Walch J. C. & Co. Limited, calico bleachers & finishers, HollyHead wks
Walker Phineas, farmer,Birchenough
Wallace Mabel (Miss), school for boys & girls
Webb William, greengrocer
Wittle John, shopkeeper
Woodhead & Farrar, quarry owners
Working Men's Club (Robert Horsfield, sec)
Yeates Geo. & Son, poultry breeders

LUDWORTH.
Ardern Miss, Newport villas
Bailey Walter, Newport villa
Hilton Samuel J.P. Heath bank
Hoole Herbert
Jackson George E. Hempfield cottage, Mill brow
Kay James Henry
Massey James, Stirrup Benches
Mastin James
Padmore Mrs. Redcote
Swindells Joseph, Coteville
Wainwright Joel J.P., F.C.A. Finchwd
Woodhouse Percy J.P. Longmead
Commercial.
Ashton Frank, farmer, Whitebottom farm
Beard James, farmer, Brook bottom
Bennett William, farmer, Hollins frm
Bowden Samuel, farmer, Heys
Brough Harry, farmer, Clough end
Chesters John, grocer
Clowes Arthur, farmer, Smithy lane
Dawson Peter R. farmer, Mill Brow
Froggatt Joe, farmer, Cowhey
Harrison John, farmer, Sun hill
Higginbottom Jesse, farmer, Lane ends
Higginbottom Squire, farmer, Cowhey
Jackson Joseph, farmer, Stirrup
Jones Robert W. Hare & Hounds P.H Mill Brow
Lennon Robert, beer retailer
Oldfield Charles, farmer
Pass Arthur, Rock tavern
Petty Mary (Mrs.), farmer, Cote grn
Pickford Chas. farmer, Earnicroft fm
Salt John, farmer, Stirrup (letters via Charlesworth)
Shrigley Thomas, farmer, Woodheys
Stringfield George S. (Mrs.), farmer, Greengate
Thorpe John, farmer, Hillside
Wood George, farmer, Erncroft
Wood Saml. (Mrs.), farmer, Broadstne
Wood Sarah (Miss), farmer, Mill Brow

MARPLE BRIDGE.
Private Residents.
Bond Charles, Harrowfields
Field Michael, Hill crest
Glossop Joseph, Wood eaves
Greenway Thomas, The Oaks
Holmes Daniel G. Ludworth house
Humphreys Jas. Maxwell, Hollygirt
Hyde Mrs. Ashdene
Lloyd Arthur William, Eversley
McSweeney Rev. Cornelius (Catholic), St. Mary's
Munro George, Riversdale
Peate Robert T. Lee cottage
Platt James, Lower fold
Polak Henry, South lea
Royle Roger, Cranford
Shanks Andrew, Ingleside
Toothill Rev. Alfred (Congregational)
Williams Samuel, Avonmore
Wood James, Lower fold
Commercial.
Adshead Harry, plumber
Ardern Jas. Saml. frmr. & confectnr
Ardern Samuel, jun. plumber
Ardern William, butcher
Arnfield Eric Spencer, draper
Bannister Albert, Norfolk Arms P.H
Booth Sylvester, painter & decorator
Bowden Samuel, furniture remover
Bowden Samuel, Railway inn
Bradbury Joseph, butcher
Brookes Augusta (Mrs.), milliner
Brookes Warwick, photographer
Buck William & Sons, iron & tinplate workers
Burton Harry M.D.Durh., M.R.C.S. Eng. physician & surgeon; surgery
Cadman Robert, grocer
Compstall Co-operative & Industrial Society Limited
Conduit Ada (Miss), midwife
Convent of the Faithful Companions of Jesus (Madame Mary Daly, lady superior), Mount St. Joseph
Dance Herbert, fishmonger
Derbyshire Alice (Miss), tchr. of music
Falconer Lena (Mrs.), refreshmt. rms
Giles Charles E. drug store
Greenwood Elizabeth (Mrs.), shopkpr
Hall Martha (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Hart Henry, poulterer
Heginbotham Ann (Miss), hair dresser
Hibbert Matilda Octavia (Miss), shopkeeper
Kirby Florence (Miss), fancy draper
Longley George, painter &c
Lydiate John, boot, shoe & clog ma
Manchester & Liverpool District Banking Co. Limited (sub-branch), open 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Tuesday & Friday; draw on London office, 75 Cornhill EC
Marple Gas Co. Limited (James Kay Law, manager)
Mills William, boot & shoe maker
Oldham George, hatter
Openshaw Charles Burrow, builder
Pembroke Elizabeth (Mrs.), midwife
Pover Joseph, Horse Shoe P.H
Riley Annie & Mary (Misses), refreshment rooms
Robinson John, refreshment rooms
Saxon Ellen (Mrs.), fried fish dealer
Shaw & Ridgway, provision dealers
Shaw Alfred, tailor
Shaw Harold, butcher
Smellie Ellen (Mrs.), refreshment rms
Smith Margaret Staveley (Mrs.), shopkeeper & sub-postmistress
Sutcliffe William, shopkeeper
Sutcliffe William, tobacconist
Taylor Wm. & Sons, wheelwrights
Taylor William, blacksmith
Tierney Thos. M.D., Ch.B., M.R.C.S., L.R.C.P.Lond
Tomlinson William, milliner
Vardy Arthur, sergeant of police
Vinden Mary Alice (Mrs.), greengro
Wardle Wm. painter & decorator
Waterhouse Jessie (Miss), prov. Dlr
Wild Isabella (Mrs.), draper
Wood Ann (Miss), refreshment rms
Wood Herbert, carpenter
Wood Joseph, blacksmith
Yarwood John, ironmonger

COMPSTALL ROAD.
Bradshaw Samuel
Dickson Robert, Bute house
Hill George Henry C.E. Ernocroft
Turner William Alfred, Poplar grove
Commercial.
Alfred Mary Ann (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Beswick Edwin, Windsor Castle P.H
Burgess Charles, shopkeeper
Compstall Co-operative & Industrial Society Ltd. (John Bowden, mangr)
Dickinson Chas. S. Spring Gardens P.H
Hambleton James, assistant overseer & rate collector
Hibbert Elizabeth (Miss), shopkeeper
Higginbottom Mary (Mrs.), draper
Knowles Joseph, insurance agent
Lomas Joe, butcher
Pembroke Michael, insurance agent
Petty Mary (Mrs.), butcher
Pollitt James, fishmonger
Sellars Ada (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Shaw Edwin, confectioner
Sidebottom Hannah (Mrs.), beer ret
Sidebottom William, cabinet maker
Swindills George, shopkeeper
Thornley John Wm. grocer & draper
Vinden Mary Alice (Mrs.), greengro
Walker John, George hotel
Walker William, house decorator
Young Tom, boot & shoe maker


NEW MILLS

NEW MILLS, originally called "Bowden Middle Cale," derived its present name from a corn mill built upon the Kinder, in the district of Ollersett; it is a parish, comprising the districts of Beard, Ollersett, Thornsett and Whitle, in the High Peak division of the county, hundred of High Peak, Hayfield union, Chapel-en-le-Frith petty sessional division and county court district, Glossop rural deanery, Chesterfield archdeaconry and Southwell diocese ; it formerly comprised seven hamlets, but has been divided, three of the hamlets being attached to Hayfield, and the remaining four now forming the township and parish. New Mills is a town on the river Goyt, 7½ miles south-west from Glossop, 8 south-east from Stockport, 170 from London by road, and by railway, St. Pancras 173, Euston 192 miles. The London and North Western and Midland railways have stations here, and there is a branch line from the latter to Hayfield.
The parish from 1875 was controlled by a Local Board, but under the provisions of the "Local Government Act, 1894" (56 and 57 Vict. c. 73), it is now governed by an Urban District Council, the district comprising the new parish of Newtown, formed from Disley in Cheshire under the provisions of the "Local Government Act, 1894," and being divided into six wards.
The parish is lighted with gas from works the property of the Urban District Council.
The ecclesiastical parish was formed in 1844 from Glossop.
The church of St. George, locally in the township of Beard, was erected in 1831, and is a building of stone, in the Pointed style, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles, south and west porches, and an embattled western tower with pinnacles and spire, containing 8 bells, presented in 1898 by the late James Hibbert esq. J.P. who also in 1901 gave two additional bells: the stained east window was presented by Mrs. John Mackie; and there are several other memorial windows, also a monument to James Ingham esq. J.P. (1868), and a brass to his widow (September, 1875) : the font is a memorial to John Taylor esq. J.P. and the lectern was given by the parishioners, as a memorial to the wife of the present vicar: the church was renovated in 1897, and affords 850 sittings, 350 being free. The register dates from the year 1831 and is in good condition. The living is a vicarage, net yearly value £300, with residence, in the gift of the vicar of Glossop, and held since 1900 by the Rev. John Lionel Knowles M.A. of Pembroke College, Cambridge, rural dean of Glossop, and surrogate. The church of St. James the Less, a chapel of ease to St. George's, a building in the Lancet style of the 13th century, was erected in 1880-1, at a cost of £2,750. by John Mackie esq. of Crigglestone, Yorks, and New Mills, and Mary, his wife, together with the almshouses adjoining, as a memorial to James Ingham esq. and Martha, his wife, the parents of Mrs. Mackie, formerly resident at New Mills, and consists of apsidal chancel and nave, north porch, organ chamber and vestry, and western turret containing one bell: in the apse are three stained windows, and at the west end is another, presented by Mr. and Mrs. Mackie: the pulpit and font are of carved stone: the communion plate and linen were given by the parishioners and the brass lectern by the late R. B. Mackie esq. M.P. and his daughter Edith: there are 150 sittings. The Catholic church, dedicated to St. Mary, and erected in 1843, is a building of stone, in the Early English style, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles and a western tower with spire, containing one bell: an altar has been erected by Dennis Lane esq. of London. The Wesleyan chapel, St. George's road, was erected about 1810, and has an attached cemetery; the Primitive Methodist chapel. Spring Bank, was built in 1876; and the United Methodist chapel, Spring Bank, built in 1838, was rebuilt in 1892. The Salvation Army Hall is in Meal street. The Public Hall, erected in 1871, at a cost of £2,500, was opened in the same year by William, 7th Duke of Devonshire K.G., P.C.: a tower was added in 1875, and a clock with chimes presented by the late Mrs. Ingham, of Watford Villa: the lower rooms are divided into offices and council room: the general management of the building is in the hands of the local authority. The hall was extended in 1898-9, at a total cost of £1,750, and in 1900 a new wing was added at a cost of £1,800. The Saving Bank occupies a room at 32 Union road, which is open on the following days: Mondays from 4.30 to 6 p.m.; Wednesdays from 4 to 6 p.m.; Fridays from 5.30 to 8.30 p.m. The Public Free Library, in Hall street, built in 1909 by Andrew Carnegie esq. at a cost of £2,000, is a structure of stone; it consists of two reading rooms and a reference room and contains now (1912) 7,456 volumes. A county court is held here alternately with Buxton and Chapel-en-le-Frith. Here are iron and brass foundries, calico printing and bleach works, cotton spinning, cotton band manufactories and emery and glass cloth works. The drinking fountain in front of the Public Hall was erected in 1892 as a memorial to John Mackie esq. The almshouses, six in number, erected from the designs of Mr. W. Swinden Barber F.R.I.B.A. are built on three sides of a plot of land near Spring Bank, in New Mills; the dwellings occupying the north and a portion of the east side of a quadrangle, the west and south sides of which are appropriated to the church; they are occupied by 11 poor and aged persons, who receive a weekly allowance from Mrs. Mackie. The late James Ingham esq. of Watford Villa, left £500 in 1868, the interest of which is applied to the education and clothing of poor children in the township; Trickett's charity consists of the rent of a farm at Sparrowpit, near Chapel-en-le-Frith, now (1912) let for £24 per year, which sum is in part distributed in clothing to poor persons and also applied to education of the children of the parish. The principal landowners are Earl Egerton of Tatton and the trustees of the late Francis John Sumner esq. of Park Hall, Hayfield (d. 1908). The soil is clay; subsoil, clay. The area of the civil parish is 5,040 acres of land and 38 of water; rateable value, £29,838 ; the population in 1891 was 5,498, and in 1911, 7,260, including 5 officials and 44 inmates of Hayfield Workhouse.
The area of the Urban District is 5,204 acres; viz. : New Mills. 5,078 acres; Newtown, 126 acres; rateable value, £36,865 ; the population in 1891 was 6,661, and in 1911, 8,998. The population of wards in 1911 was: - Beard and Ollersett, 2,260; Central, 1,405; Newtown 1,739; St. James, 1,291; St. Mary, 1,444; Thornsett. 859.
High Lea, Lady Shaw Bottom and Watford are places in the parish.

BEARD, half a mile south of New Mills, and 3 miles west of Hayfield, forms part of Beard and Ollersett Ward in New Mills Urban District, which also includes Low Leighton. Here are chemical works, an iron and brass foundry and quarries producing paving setts ; the Midland Railway Company has also a goods yard. The trustees of the late F. J. Sumner esq. are the principal landowners.

HAGUE BAR is included in St. Mary's Ward of the Urban District, and is 1 mile west from New Mills, 1 east from Strines station and 3 east from Marple. Brookbottom is a place half a mile north-east from Hague Bar. The Primitive Methodist chapel, built in 1874, will seat 200 persons. Lower Cliffe is a place 1 mile north-west from Hague Bar.

LOW LEIGHTON is 1 mile south from New Mills and 3 west from Hayfield. Here is the workhouse of the Hayfield union. There is also a meeting house for the Society of Friends, built in 1717, with a small cemetery attached.
Town Sub-Post Office. Letters are dispatched at 9.30 a.m. & 6.30 p.m. week days

NEWTOWN is a populous village, formed in 1894 into a parish, and transferred to the county of Derby from Disley, Cheshire, under the "Local Government Act, 1894," but still ecclesiastically attached to Disley; it has a station called "New Mills," on the Manchester, Stockport and Derby section of the London and North Western railway, and is 8 miles from Stockport and 10 south from Glossop. A bridge, erected in 1884 by the New Mills Local Board, connects Newtown with that place, and this village is within that Urban District. It is in the Knutsford Parliamentary division of the county of Chester. There is a Wesleyan chapel here, erected in 1868, and seating about 800 persons. The manufacture of cotton and paper is carried on here. The area is 121 acres of land and 5 of water; rateable value, £7,032; the population in 1911 was 1739.
Town Sub-Post & M. O. Office. - James Wharmby, sub-postmaster. (Letters for this place should be addressed New Mills, Stockport.) Letters dispatched at 8.30 & 10.45 a.m. & 3.15 & 8.15 p.m. New Mills, quarter of a mile distant, is the nearest telegraph office
Wall Letter Box. - Swan hotel, cleared at 8.15 a.m. & 8 p.m. week days only
Public Elementary School (mixed & infants), erected in 1877, for 280 children; average attendance, 252; John Philip Hinde, master; Mrs. Turner, infants' mistress
Railway Station (New Mills), William Taylor, station master

OLLERSETT, 1 mile south-west from New Mills and 2 west from Hayfield, consists principally of scattered farms and some villa residences. Birch Yale station adjoins this place; and the trustees of the late F. J. Summer esq. J.P. of Park Hall, are the principal landowners.

ROWARTH, 2 miles east from Mellor and 3 north east from New Mills, consists principally of scattered farms. There is a United Methodist chapel here.

STRINES is 1 mile by rail and 2 by road westward from New Mills and 2 east from Marple, with a station on the Sheffield and Midland railway. It is included, in the St. Mary's Ward of the Urban District. Calico printing is carried on here very extensively, and the place is much frequented by picnic and pleasure parties from the adjacent large towns.
Wall Letter Box, Railway station, cleared at 7 p.m. week days only
Railway Station, John Bernard Hand, station master

THORNSETT with Rowarth forms the Thornsett Ward of the Urban District of New Mills. Thornsett is 1½ miles north-east from New Mills and half a mile west from Birch Vale station. St. Luke's Mission room, dedicated by the Bishop of Derby in 1903, will seat 175; there is also a Primitive Methodist chapel, built in 1903, and a Congregational chapel, built in 1832 and enlarged in 1862, with 300 sittings. Letters through Stockport, via Birch Vale.

WHITLE, 1 mile north-east from New Mills, consists of scattered farms and villa residences, and commands a fine view of the adjacent scenery. It is included in St. James' Ward of the Urban District. In the valley are bleach works. Watford Lodge is the residence of W. E. Rumney esq. J.P. Here is a Congregational chapel,
built in 1823, seating 450.
Letters through New Mills arrive at 9.15 a.m. & 3.30 p.m

OFFICIAL ESTABLISHMENTS, LOCAL INSTITUTIONS &c.
Post, M. O., T. & Telephonic Express Delivery Office. - George H. Bailey, sub-postmaster. Letters are received via Stockport; delivered at 7 a.m. 12 noon & 3.30 p.m. ; dispatched at 9.30 & 10.45 a.m. & 12.15, 3.30 & 8.15 p.m.; on Sundays at 7.30 p.m. Money orders are granted & paid from 8 a.m. till 8 p.m
Post Office, Low Leighton. - John Howard, sub-postmaster. Letters are dispatched at 9.30 a.m. & 6.30 p.m. New Mills, 1 mile distant, is the nearest money order & telegraph office
Post Office, Rowarth. - Thomas Waterhouse, sub-postmaster. Letters are received via Stockport & delivered by foot messenger from Marple Bridge; dispatched 7 a.m. & 6 p.m.; Sunday, 8.15 a.m. Birch Vale, 3 miles distant, is the nearest money order & telegraph office
Wall Letter Boxes. - Bridge street, cleared at 8.30 & 10.15 a.m. & 8.10 p.m. ; Cavendish square, cleared at 8.30 & 10.20 a.m. & 8.15 p.m. ; High Lea, 8.45 & 10.15 a.m. & 8 p.m. ; Rowarth, cleared at 7 a.m. & 6.30 p.m. week days only
Post Office Telephone Public Call Office, 45 Market st

URBAN DISTRICT COUNCIL.
Offices, Public Hall.
Council meetings first Wednesday in month at 7 p.m.
Chairman, Harry Crossley.
Vice-Chairman, John Armstrong.
Central Ward.
Retire April.
Herbert Wyatt ......... 1913
Harry Crossley ......... 1914
St. James' Ward.
Matthew Brocklehurst 1913
Harry Yates ............ 1914
St. Mary's Ward.
John T. Wharmby...... 1914
Seth Evans ............... 1915
Beard & Ollersett Ward.
John William Cochrane 1913
Richard Howard ...... 1915
Newtown Ward.
Hy. Horridge Bullough 1913
John Armstrong......... 1915
Thornsett Ward.
James Jn. Hadfield ... 1914
John Lowe ............... 1915
Officers.
Clerk, Joseph Pollitt, Public hall
Treasurer, Isaac John Gibbs, Manchester & County Bank Limited, High street
Medical Officer of Health, James Edwin Anderton L.B.C.P.Edin., M.B.C.S.Eng. Thornfield
Surveyor & Inspector of Nuisances, William Curwen Sheard, Public hall
Gas & Water Works Manager, Philip Lancashire
Collector, George Platt, 24 Union road

JUSTICES OF THE PEACE FOR THE NEW MILLS PORTION OF THE CHAPEL-EN-LE-FRITH PETTY
SESSIONAL DIVISION.
Arnfield Thomas Owen esq. Red gate, New Mills, Stockpt
Barber Henry esq. Spring Bank, New Mills, Stockport
Hadfield James John esq. Hayfield rd. Ollersett, Stockport
Hall Levi Joseph esq. Morland house, Birch vale, New Mills, Stockport
Hilton Samuel esq. Heathbank, Ludworth, Stockport
Mackenzie Basil esq. Hayfield, Stockport
Reekie John Albert esq. Buckton grange, Stalybridge
Rumney William Edward esq. Watford lodge, New Mills, Stockport
Turner Joseph esq. West view, Hayfield, Stockport
Wainwright Lieut.-Col. Charles Richard, Brabyns house, Marple, Stockport
Wainwright Joel esq. Finchwood, Ludworth, Marple Bridge, Stockport
Woodhouse Percy esq. Marple Bridge, Stockport
Clerk to the Justices, John Burton Boycott, Town Hall, New Mills & Chapel-en-le-Frith.
Petty sessions are held in the Town Hall monthly, on Wednesdays at 10.30 a.m. with an occasional court when required

NEW MILLS LOCAL PENSION SUB-COMMITTEE OF DEBBYSHIBE.
The following places are included in the Sub-District: - Charlesworth, Hayfield, Ludworth, Marple Bridge, Mellor, New Mills & Newtown.
The Sub-Committee meets at the Town hall the first wed. after the last fri. in each month at 6.30 p.m.
Chairman, Levi Joseph Hall J.P. Morland house, Birch vale, New Mills
Clerk, George Bailey, 62 Market street

PUBLIC ESTABLISHMENTS.
County Court, Public hall, held alternately with Buxton & Chapel-en-le-Frith; for places in the district, see
Chapel-en-le-Frith
County Police Station, Hall street, Hy. Burgess, inspectr
Free Library, Hall street, Charles Neale, librarian
Public Hall, Joseph Pollitt, sec
Victoria Market Hall, 32 Market street

PUBLIC OFFICERS.
Assistant Overseer, Edward Parsons, Market street
Certifying Factory Surgeon, James Edwin Anderton M.R.C.S.Eng., L.R.C.P.Edin. Thornfield, Spring Bank
Clerk to the Guardians & Assessment Committee of Hayfield Union & Superintendent Registrar of Hayfield District, Arthur Walker, 8 Spring Bank
Medical Officer & Public Vaccinator, Hayfield Union, James Edwin Anderton L.R.C.P.Edin., M.R.C.S.Eng. Thornfield, Spring Bank
Registrar of Births, Deaths & Marriages for Hayfield Sub-District, William Wild, Public hall; deputy, Abel Grundy, Church road, Beard
Relieving Officer for Hayfield Union, James Taylor, Albion road
Public Charities Trustees, S. Evans, James John Hadfield J.P., John T. Wharmby, Levi Joseph Hall & J. A. Ingham

SCHOOLS.
Secondary School & Pupil Teachers' Centre, Spring Bank, organised in enlarged elementary school premises in 1891 as a day science school, & now (1912) a fully recognised county secondary school & pupil teachers' centre, with 170 students in attendance, 40 of whom hold County Council & other scholarships. Has valuable technical library of 200 volumes, provided by Mrs. Mackie, Watford villa. Chemical & physical laboratories, manual workshops & cookery room have been added at various times. John A. Nichols, principal. This school is controlled by 16 governors
Clerk, Albert James Edwards, Spring Bank

The New Mills & District Higher Education Committee consists of 26 members.
Meetings are held at the Education offices, Spring Bank
Secretary, Albert James Edwards, Spring Bank

Elementary.
The New Mills Group of Council School Managers consists of 9 members.
Meetings are held at the Education offices, Spring Bank, monthly.
Chairman, John Hall J.P. Manor house, Overseal, near Ashby-de-la-Zouch
Secretary, Albert James Edwards, Spring Bank
School Medical Officer, George Benjamin Pemberton M.B., Ch.B.Edin., F.R.C.S.Edin. Spring Bank Attendance Officer, John T. Hambleton
Central Council School, Spring Bank (mixed), erected in 1878 at a cost, inclusive of site, of £2,620, for 350
children; average attendance, 340; S. H. Crawford, head master.
Infants' school, erected in 1895, for 346 children; average attendance, 150; Miss L. E. Peck, head mistress
Infants' school, erected in 1901 at a cost of £2,700, for 250 children; average attendance, 147; Miss L. E.
Peck, mistress
Hague Bar, erected in 1878, for 130 children, & enlarged in 1893, for 66 more; average attendance, 190; James Whitmore Redfern, master
National, School lane (mixed), built in 1863, & enlarged in 1894 & again in 1908, for 380 children; average attendance, 350; Arthur Wallwork, master
Thornsett (mixed), erected in 1878, for 300 children; average attendance, 199; John Wm. Skelton, master
Catholic, erected in 1860, for 35 boys, 35 girls & 39 infants; average attendance, 40 boys, 28 girls & 33
infants; Miss M. Brennan, mistress

Railway Station, Harold Reginald Wilcox, station master
Carrier to Stockport, James Beard, Torr top, wed. & fri



NEW MILLS.
(N.B. - Letters for Rowarth & Strines are received direct from Stockport.)
Private Residents.
Anderton James Edwin, Thornfield, Spring Bank
Arnfield Mrs. Edwin, Springfield, Spring Bank
Arnfield Joseph B. Beech ho. School la
Arnfield Mrs. High Lea hall, St. Mary's road
Arnfield Thos. Owen J.P. Red Gate, St. Mary's road
Barber Henry J.P. Spring Bank
Beeston Rev Arthur Thos. (curate), 42 Church road, Beard
Bowden Joseph Rose, Westfield, Spring Bank
Bray John William W. Stanley mount, Longlands road
Brace David, Hurst bank, Church road, Beard
Burrell Rev Alfred George (Wesleyan Methodist), Wesley ho. Spring Bank
Campbell Peter, Glengoyt, Strines
Campbell Walter, St. George's road
Chadwick George, Lever castle
Chapman William, Rock villa
Cochrane Franklin, Ollersett
Cochrane Jn. Peak house, Spring Bk
Cochrane Jn. Wm. Lily bank, Spring Bnk
Crawford Samuel Hugh, The Bungalow, Marsh lane
Crossley Harry, 56 High street
Cuff John, The Cottage, Strines
Davies William, High Lea
Dutton Rev Francis Blades (United Methodist), The Manse, Hall street
Edmondson Rev W. Duncan (Congregational), The Manse, Whitle
Frost Edward, The Rocks
Gibbs Isaac John, Fernbank
Gray John Campbell, The Cottage, Strines
Hadfield James John J.P. Ollersett
Hadfield Mrs. Ollersett
Hadfield William, Craigmore, Whitle
Hallowell Geo. Noble, Ladyshaw ho
Higginbottom Edwin, Quarry bank, Marsh lane
Higginbottom John, High Lea
Hudson Chas. Highfield, Low Leightn
Hughes Thomas, 2 Holly bank, Whitle
Hughes Trevor, 1 Holly bank, Whitle
Knowles Rev John Lionel M.A. (vicar, rural dean & surrogate), New Mills vicarage, Marsh lane
Lees Miss, Holly bank, Hall street
Lisle Rev John William (Primitive Methodist), Spring mount, Spring Bank
McKenna Rev William C. (Catholic), High Lea
Mackie Mrs. Watford villa, Whitle
Nicholls John A. Stanley mount
Pemberton Geo. Benjamin F.B.C.S., M.B. Spring Bank
Pollard Hargreaves, Claremont villa, Hall street
Pollard James, Lea Bank,St. Mary’s rd
Pollitt Joseph, Rose villa, Hall street
Pollitt Mrs. Margaret, Holkerlea
Rigby Wilfrid, Longlands road
Rumney Wm. Edw. J.P. Watford ldg
Shepley Eli, Rock villa, St. Mary's rd
Shoreman Fred, Ollersett cottage
Stafford Mrs. Cotefield, Marsh lane
Wain Peter, Hall street
Walker Arthur, High Lea
Walker Hy. The Grange, Spring Bank
Warren Thomas, Longlands road
Wharmby James, Carlton villa
Wharmby John Thos. Stanley mount
Wild William, Springfield house
Wyatt John S. Lea bank, St. Mary’s rd
Yates Edward, Hall street
Commercial.
Early closing day, Wednesday 1 p.m.
Marked thus * receive letters from Stockport, via Birch Vale.
Alexander James, Bull's Head P.H. 93 High street
Alsop & Clayton, painters, 80 Market street
Anderton & Pemberton, physicians & surgeons, Spring bank
Anderton Jas. Edwin L.R.C.P.Edin., M.R.C.S.Eng. surgeon & medical officer of health to New Mills Urban District Council, & medical officer & public vaccinator for Hayfield union & the workhouse, & certifying factory surgeon for the whole of the district (firm, Anderton & Pemberton), Thornfield, Spring bank
Andrew Elizabeth (Mrs.), Masons' Arms P.H. High street
Arnfield Jsph. & Edwin, millwghts. & engnrs. Globe iron wks
Arnfield Isaac, grocer, Bridge street
Arnfield Richard Owen, farmer, High Lea farm
Ashworth A. & A. (Misses), drapers, 38 Market street
Ashworth Squire, farmer, Whitlefold, Whitle
Bailey George Henry, stationer, & clerk to New Mills Local Pension Sub-Committee of Derbyshire, Post office, 62 Market street
Barber John, farmer, Rowarth
Barber Thomas, painter, 42 High street
Bates Arthur, music warehouse, 6 Union road
Beard James, carrier, Torr Top
Beard John, beer retailer, 39 Market street
Beardwood Israel, baker, Brown Brow, Beard
Beaumont Thomas, assistant supt. Wesleyan & General Assurance Society, High Street house
Beaven Thomas, shopkeeper, 107 High street
Beisley & Smith, farmers, Lower fold, Rowarth
Belfield Samuel, farmer, Hollinghurst Head, Ollersett
Bellhouse George, farmer, Napkin piece, Whitle
Bennett & Co. solicitors, Public hall
Bennett Bertram Marriott M.B., Ch.B.Vict. Physician & surgeon, 10 Market street
Bennett Ethel (Miss), shopkeeper, 38 Chapel street
Bennett Mary (Mrs.), shopkeeper, Eaves Knoll road
Bennett Squire, grocer, Hague Bar
Beresford Henry, farmer, Piece farm, Ollersett
Beresford Samuel Edward, greengrocer, 15 High street
Berry Mary (Miss), shopkeeper, 13 Spring bank
Bevan Thomas Morgan, architect & surveyor, Market st
Beverley James, farmer, Knarsnook, Rowarth
Beverley John Peter, boot & shoe dealer, 15 Union road
Birtles Samuel, picture frame maker, Hague Bar
Birtwhistle James, fried fish dealer, 72 Market street
Boardman A. & Co. drapers, 23 Union road
Boddington, Jordan & Bowden, solicitors, 16 High street
Booth Walter, tailor, 55 Market street
Bottomley Percy, watch & clock maker, 48 Market street
Boughey Edith E. (Miss), girls' & boys' school (private), 11 Longlands road
Bowden Hannah (Mrs.), certified midwife, 66 St. Mary’s rd
Bowden Joseph Rose, solicitor, see Boddington, Jordan & Bowden
Bowker Frederick, farmer, Grove farm, Rowarth
Bowker Sarah J. (Miss), shopkeeper, 44 Church rd. Beard
Boycott John Burton (firm, Bennett & Co.), solicitor & comsnr. for oaths, &, clerk to the justices, Town hall
Boyle Elizabeth (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 13 Church rd. Beard
Boyle Samuel & Daniel, builders, High Lea
Braddock John, tailor, 33 Union road
Braddock Joseph, draper, 28 Meal street
Bramhall Alice (Mrs.), tripe dresser, 47 Market street
Brassington William Joseph, St. Alban’s P.H. Torr Top st
Broadhead James, farmer, Lady Shaw farm, Whitle
Broadhead William, farmer, Willhey farm, Whitle
Broadhurst Thomas & Samuel, wheelwrights, Hague Bar
Broadhurst & Youd, wheelwrights, Low Leighton
Broadhurst William, contractor, Brown Brow, Beard
Brocklehurst Matthew, farmer, Broadhurst Edge, Whitle & Golden Springs, Rowarth
Broom Richard, boot & shoe maker, 70 Market street
Broome George Albert & Frank, butchers, Meal street
Bromilow Alice (Mrs.), George hotel, 72 High street
Brown Abraham, solicitor & registrar of county court, Public hall
Brown James E. farmer, Ringstones, Rowarth
Brown William, assist, insur. supt. 32 Church rd. Beard
Brownhill George Henry, White Hart inn, High street
Bunting William Braylesford, solicitor, see Bennett & Co
Burgess J. & Sons, monumental masons, Hyde bank
Burgess Henry, inspector of police, Police station, Hall st
Burrows Harold, stationer, 58 Market street
Carrington Anthony, farmer, Brown Hill farm, Beard
Carrington Ralph, farmer, Beard wood, Beard
Campbell Walter & Co. engravers to calico printers, St. George's road
Cash & Co. boot & shoe dealers, 40 Market street
Caukill Elizh. (Mrs.), feather dresser, 7 Eaves Knoll rd
Chapman William L.R.C.P. & L.R.C.S.Edin., L.F.P. & S.Glas. surgeon, Rock villa
Chatterton Albert, confectioner, 22 High street
Chatterton James, slater & plasterer, Torr Top street
Clayton George, beer retailer, Hague Bar
Clayton George, grocer, Torr Top street
*Clayton Mark Storer, Printers' Arms P.H. Thornsett
Clayton Ralph, painter, see Alsop & Clayton
Cole William, Crown hotel, 34 Market street
Collier James Edwin, auctioneer &; valuer, Lea house, St. Mary's road
Cooper Eliza (Mrs.), shopkeeper, Torr Top street
Crabtree Joshua, insur. agent, 25 Church road, Beard
Critchlow Harry, news agent, 30 High street
Critchlow John, farmer, Briargrove farm, Thornsett
Croft Alfred, boot & shoe maker, 21 Market street
Crossland Thomas, Commercial inn, Hague Bar
Crossley Harry, painter, 56 High street
Davenport Ernest Newton, solicitor (firm, Johnsons), 38 High street
Dawson Richard H. agent to Midland & L. & N.W. Railway Companies, L. & N.W. Goods yard
Day John Alfred, insurance superintendent, Hall street
Dolan Mary (Mrs.), confectioner, Station road
Downes Mary & Elizabeth (Misses), tobacconists, 21 Union road
Drinkwater George, farmer, Goytside farm
Drinkwater Joseph, farmer, Beard
Dyer Thomas A. hair dresser, 74 Market street
Eaton Annie (Mrs.), boot & shoe repairer, 81 High street
Eaves Florence (Mrs.), milliner, 14 Union road
Edwards Albert James, sec. to the New Mills & District Higher Education Committee & clerk to Secondary School Governors & New Mills Group of Council School Managers, Spring Bank
*Elce James Thomas, hair dresser, Thornsett
Empire Trading Stamp Co. general dealers, 45 Union rd
Etchells John James, Queen's Arms P.H. Union road
Evans Seth, journalist, 34 Union road
*Fallowers Josiah, farmer, Carr nook, Thornsett
Fidler William, farmer, Lower Cliffe farm, Strines
Fielding Sarah (Mrs.), shopkeeper. Low Leighton
Fisk Frederick Henry, Hare & Hounds P.H. Ringstones, Rowarth
Flint Millicent (Mrs.), draper, 19 Union road
Ford Thomas, insurance agent, Low Leighton
Ford William, coal merchant. Beard
France Richard, hair dresser, 44 High street
Free Library (Charles Neale, librarian), Hall street
Freemasons' Lodge (Peveril of the Peak) (John Charles Higginbottom, tyler), 18 Union road
Froggatt Abner, farmer, Ringstones, Rowarth
Frost Edward, dentist, The Rocks
Gadd Frank Adames, furniture dealer, 3 Union road
Garlick George Edwin, architect & surveyor, Market at
Garlick Joseph, shopkeeper, 69 Hall street
Garside James Newton, draper, 33 Market street
Gibbons Thomas L.D.S.Irel. dentist (attends fri. 3 to 8 p.m.), 16 Union road
Gibbons Thomas, jun. L.D.S.Irel. dentist (attends fri. 3 to 8 p.m.), 16 Union road
Gibbs Isaac John, manager of the Manchester & County Bank Limited & treasurer to the Urban District Council, High street
Gibson Samuel, farmer, Further Slack, Rowarth
Goble Ellen (Mrs.), Hare & Hounds P.H. Low Leighton
*Goddard Miles, farmer, Lydiate gate, Thornsett
Goodman Godfrey Davenport, solicitor, see Bennett & Co
Gould Nathaniel & Co. Ltd. grocers, 57 Market street
*Hadfield James John, yarn bleacher & sizer, Garrison bleach works, Thornsett
*Hadfield Samuel, farmer, High walls, Thornsett
Hall Levi, farmer, High hill, Ollersett
Hall Samuel, tinplate worker, Meal street
Hall William, farmer, Low Leighton
Hallam Joseph, farmer, near Slack, Rowarth
Hallworth Ada (Mrs.), Vine tavern, Ollersett
Hammond Maria (Mrs.), shopkpr. 69 Church rd. Beard
Hancock Samuel, farmer, Shaw farm, Hague Bar
Hand John Bernard, station master, Strines
Handford John (Mrs.), farmer, Butcher's piece, Rowarth
Handford Joseph, farmer, Ball Beard
Harpies William S. chemist, 36 Market street
Harrop Arthur, coal merchant. Beard
Harrop Joseph, draper, 39 Union road
Hartle Arthur, farmer, Eaves Knoll
Hawley Jesse, grocer, 82 High street
*Hewett William, farmer, Thornsett Hey farm
Higginbotham Annie Eliza (Mrs.), fancy draper, 2 High st
Higginbotham Mary (Miss), grocer, 26 High street
Higginbottom George & Edwin, manufacturing chemists, Salem chemical works
Higginbottom Alice (Miss), apartments, 52 Hall street
Higginbottom Charles, insur. agt. Hayfield rd. Ollersett
Higginbottom James, palisade & ornamental iron gate maker, Victoria foundry, Hyde bank
Higginbottom John, ironmonger, 20 & 22 Market street
Higginbottom Roland, china dealer, 4 High street
Hill I. & Son. greengrocers, 7 Union road
*Hill Isaac, shopkeeper, Thornsett
Hinchliffe Joseph, boot repairer, 57 High street
Howard David, medical botanist, 17 & 105 High street
Howard George & James, painters & plumbers, Rock st.
Howard John William, grocer, Post office, Low Leighton
Howard Richard, farmer, Beard
Howard William, farmer, Beard
Howarth William, tobacconist, 64 Market street
Hudson John & Sons, contractors, Low Leighton
Hudson David, farmer, Ollersett
Hudson Joseph, farmer, Gibhey, Ollersett
Hulton Ellen (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 103 High street
Hunters (The Teamen) Limited, grocers, 49 Market street
Hyde George, hair dresser, 62 High street
Ingham James Anthony, hatter & clothier, 1 Union road
Jackson Isaac J. G. watch & clock ma. 41 & 43 Union rd
Johnson Arthur, confectioner, 29 Market street
Johnson Charles Frederick, solicitor, see Johnsons
*Johnson Levi, farmer, Bankhead farm, Thornsett
Johnsons, solicitors, 38 High street
*Jones Lavinia Barbara (Mrs.), beer retailer, Thornsett
Jones Porter, boot repairer, 21 Spring bank
Jones Thos. Davies, monumental mason, 47 Spring bank
Jordan Percy Holker, solicitor, see Boddington, Jordan & Bowden
Keeling Harry, farmer, Castle Edge & Stoney Piece farms, Whitle
Kirk Alice (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 95 High street
Kirkham Robert, butcher, 31 Market street
Lancashire & Yorkshire Bank Limited (branch) (Wilfrid Rigby, manager), 23 Market street; draw on London County & Westminster Bank Limited, London E C
Lancashire Philip, engineer & manager of Urban District Gas Works
Lee James & Robert, coppersmiths, Union road
Lee Craven, farmer, Matley moor, Rowarth
Leigh Robert Wm. stationer & bookseller, 52 Market st
Livesey Alfred, Railway hotel, 59 Market street
Livesley Alfred & Sons, pharmaceutical chemists, 69 High street & 13 Union road
Livesley Timothy & Sons, butchers, 92 High street
Livesley Tom & Ethel (Miss), confectioners, 25 Market st
Livesley Charles H. draper, 86 & 88 High street
Livesley John T. ironmonger, 12 Union road
Lockwood Alice (Mrs.), confectioner, 17 Union road
Lockwood Thomas, coal merchant, Beard
Lofthouse Mitchell, watch & clock maker, 68 Market st
Lofthouse Robert, Pack Horse P.H. Boar lane, Whitle
Lomas Caroline (Mrs.), certified midwife, 59 Hayfield road, Ollersett
Lomas Joel, watch & clock maker, 30 Market street
Lomas John, farmer, Hague Fold
Lomas Richard, Fox inn, Hague Bar
Lomax Joseph Dale, insurance agent, 92 Church rd. Beard
*Longdon Thomas, farmer, Weathercoates, Thornsett
Longson & Son, ironfounders, Midland iron wks. Hyde bank
Lowe John, coal merchant, Midland station
*Lowe Robert, farmer, Francis farm, Thornsett
Lucas Edward, farmer, Redditchshaw farm, Whitle
McKelvey Richard, hair dresser, Torr Top street
Manchester & County Bank Limited (branch) (Isaac John Gibbs, manager), High street; draw on Union of London & Smiths Bank Limited, London E C
Marchington Sarah (Mrs.), farmer, Hodghey, Whitle
Marriott John William, saddler, Market street
Marsden George William, coal mer. Midland station
Marsh Louisa (Mrs.), shopkeeper, Torr Top street
Marshall Herbert, farmer, Overlee, Ollersett (letters via Birch Vale)
Marshall Jacob, baker, 6 High street
Maryland Jane (Mrs.), certified midwife, 19 Church rd. Beard
Mellor Elizabeth (Miss), draper, 26 Market street
Meyhew Norman, farmer, Matley Moor
Middleton James, farmer, Brookbottom, Strines
Morton James, hosier, 31 Union road
Mosley Joseph Tom, pork butcher, 2 Union road
Mottershead John Henry, pork butcher, 13 High street
Murray James, baker & confectioner, 42 Market street
Nadin Samuel, Little Mill inn, & farmer, Rowarth
Nadin Thomas, shopkeeper, 32 High street
Needham James, farmer, Gibhey, Ollersett
New Mills Co-operative Society Limited (Robert H. Rothwell, manager), 7, 9 & 11 High street; 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 11 & 27 Market street; (No. 1 branch) *Thornsett, Low Leighton
New Mills Liberal Club (Thomas Stafford, sec.), Hurst Lea, Union road
New Mills Trades Hall (Herbert James Larkum, sec.), St. Mary's road
New Mills Urban District Council Gas Works (Philip Lancashire, engineer & manager)
New Mills Urban District Council Water Works (Philip Lancashire, manager)
New Mills & District Camera Club (Alfred Whitehead, sec.), 26 Union road
New Mills & District Liberal Association (Thomas Stafford, sec)
New Mills & District Permanent Money Society (Edwin Higginbottom, sec.), High street
New Mills & Newtown Conservative Club Co. Limited (John Pollard, sec.), 20 Union road
New Mills & Newtown Cricket & Athletic Club Co. Lim (Arthur Grundy, sec.), 16 High street
Norbury Joe, butcher, 86 Market street
Oakley Ada (Mrs.), shopkeeper, Eaves Knoll road
Ollersett Coal Co. Limited (J. Ramsbottom, manager) Ollersett
Parrott John & Sons, fruiterers, Market street
Parsons Edwd. boot repr. & assist, overseer. Market st
*Patrick John, farmer, Thornsett Fields
Pearl Life Assurance Co. Limited (district office) (Chas. Gee, superintendent), 90 Market street
Pemberton George Benjamin M.B., Ch.B.Edin., F.R.C.S.Edin. physician & surgeon (firm, Anderton & Pemberton), & school medical officer to New Mills Group of Council Schools, Spring Bank
*Phethean John & Co. Limited, bleachers, Bate mill, Thornsett & Beard
Phillips James, farmer, Hague Fold
Platt George, collector to the Urban District Council, 24 Union road
Platt Joseph, fried fish dealer, 31 High street
Pogson Fred & Sarah Jane (Miss), drapers, 5 Union road
Pollitt James Sumner, solicitor, 32 Union road
Pollitt Joseph, clerk to the Urban District Council & accountant & estate agent, Public hall
*Potts Lewis, butcher, Thornsett
Potts Wilfrid, grocer, 66 Market street
Potts William, grocer, 65 Hall street
Public Hall (Joseph Pollitt, sec)
Ramsden John, grocer, 44 Market street
Ratcliffe Bonus, butcher, Low Leighton
Ravenscroft George, plumber, Chapel street
Redfern Alfred Isaac, builder & contractor, Spring Bank
Rice Arthur, boot & shoe repairer, 3 High street
Richardson Charles, farmer, Strines
Richardson Thomas, clog & patten maker, 77 High st
*Ridgway John, shopkeeper, Thornsett
Rigby Wilfrid, manager of the Lancashire & Yorkshire Bank Limited, 23 Market street
Righton Charles S. architect & surveyor, 58 Market st
Roberts Alfred James, pork butcher, 24 Market street
Robinson Charles, farmer, New Barn farm, Rowarth
Rowcroft James, farmer, Whitle
*Rowcroft James, farmer, Feading Hey, Thornsett
Royle Joseph, beer retailer, 76 Market street
Rumney E. B. Limited (branch of the Calico Printers' Association Limited), calico printers, Watford Bridge
Ruthven William Poole M.R.C.V.S. veterinary surgeon, & veterinary inspector under the " Diseases of Animals Acts'' for Chapel-en-le-Frith district, Lea house, St. Mary's road
Savings Bank (open on mon. from 4.30 to 6 p.m.; wed. from 4 to 6 p.m.; fri. from 5.30 to 8.30 p.m.) (Jas.
Sumner Pollitt, actuary), 32 Union road
Saver John, cabinet maker, 41 & 43 Market street
Scattergood J. T. & Sons, joiners & builders, Beard
Scott George Harry & Co. Limited, drysalters; india rubber reclaimed & substitutes, Hague Bar
Sedon Samuel, farmer, Lark's hill
Sellars J. & Son, tailors, 46 Market street
Sellers Frederick, builder, Union road
Shaw Alfred, fruiterer, 53 High street
Shaw William, butcher, 19 Market street
Shawcross Mary Ellen (Miss), stationer, 53 Market st
Sheard William Curwen, surveyor & inspector of nuisances to the Urban District Council, Public hall
Shepley Eli, hatter & draper, 9 & 11 Union road
Shepley Thomas, shopkeeper, Hall street
Shepley Wilfrid, tripe dresser, 35 Market street
Sherry Walter Ingram, butter merchant, 51 Market st
Shingler Annie E. (Miss), shopkpr. 37 Church rd. Beard
Shirt Ernest, farmer, Beardhough, Whitle
Sidebottom Lucy (Miss), dress maker, 30 Union road
Singer Sewing Machine Co. Limited, sewing machine manufacturers, 56 Market street
*Slater Edwin H. Rose & Crown P.H. Thornsett
Smith Ernest, Dog & Partridge P.H. 24 High street
Smith Thomas, farmer, Hartle farm, Rowarth
Smith William, farmer, see Beisley & Smith
Stafford & Wyatt, milliners, 82 Market street
Stafford Daniel, farmer, Briar grove, Slack
Stafford Elizabeth (Mrs.), draper, 6 Chapel street
Stafford John, farmer, Beardhall farm, Beard
Stafford John D. farmer, Beard hall (letters via Furness Vale)
Stafford Thomas, farmer, Knightwake farm
Stafford Thomas Arthur (Mrs.), dress maker, High Lea
Storer Wright, farmer, Broadhurst Edge & Tanpits farms, Whitle & Rowarth
Street John Edward, boot & shoe dealer, 78 Market street
Strines Printing Co. Limited (a branch of the Calico Printers' Association Limited) (John Campbell Gray, manager), calico printers, Strines
Swift Thomas, shopkeeper, Low Leighton
Swindells John William, builder, Arden street
Sykes Henrietta (Miss), district nurse, 48 Hall street
Taylor John James, farmer, Ringstones
Taylor Thomas, shopkeeper, 91 High street
Thompson James, fried fish dealer, 83 High street
Thornley Frederick, printer, 47 Union road
*Toft Joseph William, farmer, Aspenshaw frm. Thornsett
Victoria Chemical Co. (Hargreaves Pollard, proprietor), chemical manufacturers, St. George's road
Victoria Market Hall, 32 Market street
Walker Arthur, solicitor & perpetual commissioner, clerk to the guardians & assessment committee of Hayfield union & to Ludworth & Mellor Joint Sewerage Board, superintendent registrar of Hayfield district & solicitor to New Mills Urban District Council, 3 Spring bank
Walton Albert, greengrocer, 40 High street
Ward Clifford & Co. tailors, 50 Market street
Warhurst Fred, insurance agent, 9 Arden street
Warrington William, farmer, Lane Side farm
Waterhouse Thomas, shopkeeper, Post office, Rowarth
Watson Walter, shopkeeper, 36 Bridge street
Wharmby John Thomas & Sons, confectioners, 88 Market street & 29 Union road
Whittaker Joseph, photographer, 20 High street
Whitlock James, farmer, High Rowarth
Wilcox Harold Reginald, station master
Wild H. & James, plumbers, Torr Top street
Wild Martha Hannah (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 42 Meal street
Wild William, commission agent & registrar of births, deaths & marriages for Hayfield sub-district, Public hall & Springfield house
Williamson James, beer retailer, 101 High street
Williamson Reuben, quarry owner, Ollersett
Wilson Francis, farmer, Brookbottom, Hague Bar
Winterbottom Edward, greengrocer, High Lea
Wood George, estate agent, 2 Spring bank
Wood John, herbalist, 8 High street
Wood James Adam, shoe maker, 28 High street
Woodward George, farmer, Abbey Tree farm, Whitle
Woodward Joseph, farmer, Long Lee, Rowarth
Woolley John, farmer, Howcroft, Ollersett
Woolley Jonathan, farmer, Ollersett
Woolley Joseph, farmer, Whitle
Wyatt Ada (Miss), milliner, see Stafford & Wyatt
Wyatt Sarah Ann (Mrs.), general dealer, 61 High street
Wyatt Herbert, pawnbroker, 78 High street
Wyatt Jane (Mrs.), milliner, 28 Market street
Wyatt John Henry, shopkeeper, Ollersett
Wyatt John William, shopkeeper, 6 Spring bank
Yates E. & Sons, brass founders & finishers, Torr Top st
Yates Sarah Jane, (Mrs.), shopkeeper, Low Leighton
Yates Tom, butcher, Eaves Knoll road
Youd William, wheelwright, see Broadhurst & Youd

NEWTOWN.
Private Residents.
Barkley William Henry, Westwood
Bullough Henry H. Torr vale
Dalton John, Peveril house
Drinkwater Thomas M.R.C.V.S
Godward Mrs. Cliff house
Hagger Robert Herbert, Brookfield
Hawking Horatio, Albert house
Liddell John Pemberton, Campsie
Műller Richard, Greystones
Porritt Walter, Glenside
Rowbottom Francis
Sheard Curwen, Stonelea
Tonge Roland, Moorside
Whitehead Alfred, Albion house
Wyatt Frank
Commercial.
Barnes George, farmer
Bennett John, blacksmith
Boardman Harry, fried fish dealer
Booth Hannah (Mrs.), draper
Booth Tempest, watch maker
Bramwell John, saddler
Brunswick Mill Co. Limited (The), cotton spinners
Brunt Harry, butcher
Crabtree Ernest, greengrocer
Crossland Joseph Henry, beer retailer
Croft Alfred, boot & shoe maker
Cundill Evan, tinplate worker
Curtis John, beer retailer
Dalton J. & E. & Co. Limited, emery cloth manufacturers
Davies William, insurance agent
Derbyshire Bill Posting Co. Ltd. Bill posters
Dodd Charles, butcher
Domakin Samuel, shopkeeper
Drinkwater William Hy. miller (water)
Dyer Thomas, hair dresser
Eaton A. & Sons, boot & shoe reprs
Elce James Thomas, hair dresser
Fletcher Matthew, boot & shoe maker
Florry Samuel, wood turner
Froggatt Jane. (Mrs.), beer retailer
Gladwin Elizabeth (Mrs.), shopkeepr
Goddard Ethel (Miss), tchr. of music
Great Central Railway Co.'s Canal (Joseph Swindells, agent)
Griffin Thomas, fried fish dealer
Grove Mill Paper Co. Limited, paper manufacturers (Walter Porritt, managing director), Grove mill
Guest Arthur Ernest, hair dresser
Haggar Robt. Herbt. artificial teeth ma
Hallam Samuel, coal mer. & grocer
Hallam Wm. H. music warehouse
Harrop John, rope & twine manufactr
Hawthorn John & Co, iron founders
Hawthorn Fred, beer retailer
Higginbottom E. & Co. ironmongers
Higginbottom Mary Ann (Mrs.), grocer
Hinchcliffe Benjamin, shopkeeper
Hobson Frederick, confectioner
Howarth Wright & Co. bleachers & finishers, Albert works
Hunters (The Teamen) Lim. grocers
Hyde John, news agent
Keen Priscilla (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Leach George William, draper
Lomas Robert Henry, Swan hotel
Lomas William, baker & confectioner
Lowe Wm. Scowcroft & Sons, cotton spinners & manufacturers
Manchester & County Bank Limited (branch) (Isaac John Gibbs, manager) (open daily from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.; sat. 9.30 to 12 noon); draw on Union of London & Smiths Bank Limited, London E C
Mather John, laundry
New Mills Co-operative Society Ltd. (branch) (Rt. H. Rothwell. genl mgr)
Palmer John, cycle repairer
Pickard William, teacher of music
Poole George, oil merchant
Potts Albert, medical herbalist
Potts James, butcher
Prince William, cycle maker
Richardson James, grocer
Shannon Katherine (Miss), midwife
Smith Joe, coal merchant
Spurr Joseph, beer retailer & grocer
Stanway John, greengrocer
Stow Harold, artificial teeth maker
Swindells Samuel, wheelwright
Swindells Wilfred (Miss), teacher of music
Taylor James, relieving officer to Hayfield union
Warksmoor Mill Co. cotton spinners & manufrs. (Richard Garside, propr)
Waveing Maud (Miss), confectioner
Wharmby Jas. news agent, & post off
Wheeler John, bill poster
Whitehead Alfred L.R.C.P. & L.R.C.S.Edin., L.F.P. & S.Glasg. Surgeon, Albion house
Wild John & Sons, joiners
Wild Elizh. (Miss), beer & wine retlr
Wild Ernest, fried fish dealer
Wild Samuel, shopkeeper
Williamson Samuel Lowe & Son, wheelwrights
Wood Daniel, candle wick manufacturer, Victoria mill
Wood Edward, boot & clog maker
Wood George, boot & shoe maker
Wood James Adam, scrap iron mer
Woodward William, shopkeeper
Wyatt Joseph A. pork butcher


Button image Return to Trade Directory List Button image Return to Local History Articles Button image Return to the home page




Page last updated: 8 May 2017.